We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like A Fairy Tale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chateau de Rochegude
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This was a magical experience. You can hardly believe you are actually staying in this elegant chateau. Regal furnishings, great salle de bain, fabulous food which did not break the bank (as do some other Relais & Chateaux restaurants.) The private park with tennis court and pool are added inducements. My only criticism is the overwhelming array of products for sale in the lobby. This presents a commercial element at odds with the ambience of the property. Employees could not have been more well trained and courteous.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoanieBBeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 363 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2012

Situated in a quaint village on a hill overlooking the green countryside.

Very historic with good information on its history.

Excellent service.

Saw a family of deer in the connecting park six in total including two babies.

Nice food and service.

Enjoyed our stay very large room and very big terrace over looking the surrounding countryside.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed nice but the better rooms are very large and very airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chateau-de-Rochegude, Owner at Chateau de Rochegude, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Dear Martin,

Thank you for your message and comments abour your recent stay in our property.

Your comments encourage us to keep on improving the quality of our service and we will be happy to share them with our staff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you very soon at the Château de Rochegude.

KInd regards,

Xavier DOCHEZ
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights for a friend's wedding recently. We had travelled over from Ireland so were really hoping for something special, especially as it is not the cheapest place to stay. I have to say that the hotel more than met these expectations.

Our room was fantastic with a beautiful view over the vineyards of Provence below us. We saw a number of other rooms as we had friends saying there also and these were all unique with their own character. There was no standalone shower in our room and this was the only complaint I could have (I love a nice shower in the morning). The bed was very comfortable and I had 3 very goodnights sleep.

The hotel itself is amazing and it has been done up superbly. It really felt like we were in a different world wandering around the place.

The grounds are fantastic also with a swimming pool set in a wooded area away from the buildings (the staff even delivered some wine to us out on the terrace while we were swimming with friends).

Staff were very helpful and friendly. They had made a hair appointment for my wife in advance and walked her down to the hairdressers rather than giving her directions and letting her go by herself (it wasn't that hard to find as Rochegude is a very small village). They helped us immensely with directions on where to go and local facilities.

The wedding was superbly organised with great food and extremely attentive service, especially for a large party being fed at the same time.

All in all it is a great place and one that I would love to be able to stay in again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roryandmichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

The Chateau de Rochegude was my first castle experience and it did not disappoint. The rooms were spacious and comfortable as well as the beds, beautiful views of the countryside and mountains in the distance. One of our rooms had a large sunken tub in a marble bathroom that everyone wanted to use. Every room of the Chateau had it's own personality and was comfortable. We used each to rest and regroup after a long day of touring (Avignon). It was nice to sit outside on the grounds or in the courtyard and enjoy a drink or coffee and dessert.
The dining experience was first class, a 5 star restaurant, everything was delicious gave us a real French feel to our experience, right down to the cheese course after dinner and the lesson on placement of our cheeses and the order in which to taste them.
We were there in September when the weather is unpredictable. It was beautiful when we arrived, perfect for shorts but cooled down considerably after a thunderstorm, which was fine for us, we just broke out the sweaters and windbreakers. Always be prepared and you'll never be dissappointed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DodiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

My husband wanted to visit some of the world renowned vineyards in the Rhone Valley that are situated between Lyon and Avignon. While staying in Lyon, we searched the internet for a hotel that could serve as a base to explore the region and found Chateau de Rochegude. We were hoping for adequate comfortable lodgings in this somewhat isolated area, but were instead rewarded with a magnificent 12th Century castle with matching five star dining and service situated on twenty-five acres of forest, gardens and swimming pool that overlooked the Cote du Rhone.

Though they do have special internet rates, if at all possible, spring for a superior room or Jr. Suite like we did. As in all of France and Italy, the cost of upgrading to a superior room or suite is always more than worth the difference. We had a huge beautifully furnished room worthy of visiting royalty with a terrace and a magnificent view. The room had wifi, sitting area, a fabulous bathroom, king sized bed, huge closets, and the ability to make your own cup of tea or coffee.

But the best was yet to come. My husband and I spent six weeks traveling, and food and wine were as important to us as the beautiful cities and villages, the art, and the people. One of our most memorable meals, in an endless list of memorable meals, was at Chateau de Rochegude.

The chef, Thierry Frebout, is absolutely extraordinary, as is the restaurant’s extensive wine list. He represents the best of modern French cuisine by combining traditional highly trained haute technique, with lighter cutting edge daring, and fresh local ingredients. Every dish was wonderful. Lyon and the Rhone Valley have been in a gastronomic war with Paris for centuries. This young chef is a highly talented and worthy representative of his region.

Do not miss his black olive jam with the cheese course!

Most importantly, was the warmth and great personal service. No matter how good a hotel is, in the end, hospitality is paramount. We highly recommend exploring the Rhone Valley and this unique hotel and restaurant.

Room Tip: If possible, upgrade to a superior room or Jr. suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Swanny5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Every hotel stay is unique.... Some good and some bad. (As the reviews of this hotel show)Our stay at Chateau Rochgude was excellent overall and we had excellent value in my opinion. This was the least expensive place we stayed in during a tour of Provence, and we stayed for two nights.

My first impression was nice, with a beautiful old yellow labrador "Grandpa" greeting us as we arrived to check in. The staff were pleasant the entire time, and offered many assistances. Our room was nice enough and was on par for a four star base room. There were many pieces of art for sale, but we did not have issue with it other than the art did not fit the decor of the hotel in places.

The restaurant was very good but not exceptional by French standards. However, we were traveling with a small child and they were more than accomodating to us. At times we do not feel warm welcomes to children in more upscale restaurants. We enjoyed a very good meal and felt welcome with our son. This may not be high on the priority list for many. The next night we did enjoy room service and felt it was a good value. The breakfast was not as good as other morning meals we had on our trip, but it was included with the room so no reason to fault them there. It was fresh, but tailor your expectations accordingly...

Parking out front of the hotel was safe and we left from our stay very pleased. Overall, a gem of a place to stay for hospitality, historical charm and ambiance.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank turtlefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for just one night. We had selected this hotel because of its charm and comfort. Unfortunately the weather conditions impacted our stay. here was a strong mistral with temperatures under 10 degrees. Our room was located on the second flloor (Victoria) and we where really siting in a corner of the hotel which was directly hit by the incoming winds from the east. We experienced the limitations of an old building (lot of wind coming in with lot of noise). Very cold breakfast room and other disadvantages. In summer the hotel might be OK although we found it expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rodriek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochegude
1.9 mi away
Chateau de Massillan
Chateau de Massillan
#1 of 1 in Uchaux
304 reviews
7.4 mi away
Villa Augusta
Villa Augusta
#1 of 2 in Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux
306 reviews
12.5 mi away
Le Clair de la Plume
Le Clair de la Plume
#1 of 7 in Grignan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Le Moulin De Valaurie
Le Moulin De Valaurie
#1 of 3 in Valaurie
275 reviews
24.5 mi away
Chateau Les Oliviers De Salettes
12.5 mi away
Manoir de la Roseraie
Manoir de la Roseraie
#2 of 7 in Grignan
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de Rochegude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de Rochegude

Address: Place du Chateau Rochegude, 26790 Rochegude, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Drome > Rochegude
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Rochegude
Price Range: $125 - $265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de Rochegude 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Chateau de Rochegude, located in the heart of the Provencal Drome region, majestically overlooks the Cotes du Rhone vineyards. The cellars of the chateau boast some of the best Cotes du Rhone and are a starting point for wine tastings in the surrounding vineyards. Other activities include a visit to the Ardeche Caves or to the Roman remains such as those in Vaison-la-Romaine, the Pont du Gard, the antique theater in Orange… There is so much to discover in this region! On your return to the chateau enjoy a plate of warm, crunchy truffles, steamed in butter, accompanied by eggs and slices of toast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Chateau de Rochegude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De Rochegude Hotel Rochegude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing