We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“just the place for a long weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Chateau Tilques
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tilques
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“just the place for a long weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

just get across the channel and this is no distance at all. lovely atmosphere you could imagine you were in the French aristocracy in the revolution. rooms typically French and the food was divine. lovely service definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sheilunches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

First of all, let me thank you for your recent comments about our Vert Mesnil Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you found "the food divine and the service lovely" as we are sincerely attached, day after day, to offer the best of service and food to our guests.

We hope that we could thrill you once again during a future visit in Saint Omer -Tilques, "just get across the channel".

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

683 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    283
    105
    29
    9
See reviews for
90
414
4
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

from checking in at reception we were treated to efficient and friendly staff our room was in the new part it was large and well furnished lovely door on to our own patio with great view .
the restaurant was the high light brilliant head waiter so helpful and attentive, the meal was delicious.
I will go back asap hopefully for longer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you kindly for your most generous comments posted on TripAdvisor regarding your visit earlier this month.

We are genuinely touched that you found the staff to be efficient, friendly, helpful and attentive . That is the biggest compliment anyone could ever pay us.

Everyone at Le Château Tilques is honored that you would take the time to share your thoughts, and we look forward to a return visit soon.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Lovely building, just the other side of Calais, ideal for a stopover after a long drive.
Free chocolate brownies at check in, English-speaking receptionists. Room on the second floor was ok, with a newly-refurbished bathroom. There is no lift.

Food was disappointing for France, and the serving staff uniforms could have been cleaner.

Apart from that, it was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank killemall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on this portal after your recent in to Le Château Tilques.

We are thrilled to read that you appreciated our Chocolate Brownies at check in, the building Château and his location.

It is also with a particular attention that I read your remark for the serving staff uniforms and for the food. Your feedback is important to us and has already been reviewed with the team so as to take immediate action.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Le Château Tilques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

We visited in May 2103, and had a central room on the second floor in the apex, stunning room decorated in traditional style with a modern bathroom, large bed and large windows overlooking the gardens.

This beautiful chateaux with only 2 floors and under 40 bedrooms, offers a more personal and tailored experience. Very friendly staff most speak English and under pigeon-French!

The restaurant offers unique and typically French cuisine in a fine dining setting. Breakfast is large and varied.

The grounds are not extensive, but set in a lovely leafy area in Tilques which is ideal for cycling, walking and relaxing stress-free driving. There are some set walks around the grounds, a small lake and plenty of lawns. The front exterior certainly has the wow factor and you feel very welcomed driving up the driveway.

There is an annex building set aside from the main chateau with a few more apartments/rooms and the swimming pool area. The pool holds lovely views of the woody tree area and gardens.

I would thoroughly recommend this venue for a romantic getaway, or if you just want to relax with friends or family in beautiful setting in a quite location just 40 minutes from Calais.

We visited La Coupole whilst staying here- fully recommend to understand the Northern France experiences during German occupation in the War.

We will be back!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Paula A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

"We will be back!" We love to read that !

Thank you very much for taking the time to write this kind review on TripAdvisor.

I was delighted to read that you found our food unique and typically French cuisine, our staff very friendly and our stunning rooms. Our greatest motivation is the satisfaction of our guests during their stay and I am very happy that we were able to achieve that.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Le Château Tilques, your French Home.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were a little disappointed at being put in the Annex rather than the chateau itself but it was more convenient for the pool. So it sort of cancelled out the disappointment, but I would still rather have experienced the chateau. Apparently to be in the chateau you need to ask for it whereas when asked by Travel Republic to choose Annex or other I chose other believing that meant NOT Annex. Apparently not.
That aside, the room was great - spacious, clean & comfy. The only complaint being a stingy beverage tray - two coffee sachets, two milk tubs, no biscuits & paper cups!! The pool was a reasonable size & clean. We ate at the hotel and found the service and food faultless but I couldn't claim it as outstanding. We chose from the 37 euro Gourmand menu, which, with a small supplement opened up the whole a la carte menu. The downside was the drinks price - overpriced I might say but the quality was there. We have had better food & drink for a lot less. Looking forward to going back sometime but will probably eat out.

Room Tip: Ask for the Chateau if ou want to stay in the chateau rather than the annex. The annex is still a go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on TripAdvisor.

It is with a particular attention that I read your comment you were a little disappointed to be put in the Annex rather than the chateau itself, let me please invite you next time to reserved directly on our Website or by phone and ask expressly for it.
Please be assured that I have personally reviewed this folowing point "We have had better food & drink for a lot less" with the team concerned.

We are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back to Le Château Tilques.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawbridgeworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Just back from a lovely weekend at this beautiful chateau. Booked via a Travelzoo deal and it was first class. The beautiful building is in need of refurbishment but it does not detract from the overall ambiance of the place. Our room was small but spotlessly clean and the bathroom had obviously been replaced in recent years and worked perfectly. The staff were excellent, so friendly and helpful particularly in the restaurant and Vincent in the bar. Don't know about the other comment about only accepting cash as all our drinks were charged to our room with no trouble. The food in the restaurant was superb, typically French and there was no rush to get you out as in some restaurants.
The grounds of the chateau were lovely and our room overlooked the back of the house so the view was stunning. On the Saturday there was a wedding there in the grounds which was a bonus to look at and our room overlooked the proceedings.
The chateau is very close to Calais but in the countryside so very peaceful and quite. Some lovely walks nearby. All in all and quiet, restful and lovely weekend. Cannot recommend highly enough.

Room Tip: As fior room overlooking the back of the house, very peaceful and beautiful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Madam,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to post this wonderful review on tripadvisor about Le Château Tilques.

I am thrilled to read "Cannot recommend highly enough". I'd shared your nice comments with our team in particulary with Vincent who was very touched by your lovely words.

Once again, thank you for these very kind article.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Le Château Tilques.

Kindest Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

just returned fron a short stay at the chateau. would go again. sat nav is a good idea to find the chateau. beautiful setting, yes in need of a bit of refurb in saying that you have to remember how old it is . typical french. The staff were first class and always on hand their english is very good so no communication probs, they appreciate if you try to speak in their language, Restaurant first class and the food was of a high standard, you have to be able to find something. looking forward to another visit later in the year

Room Tip: rooms in the main building are traditional
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeff f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stéphane J, Directeur général at Hotel Chateau Tilques, responded to this review, June 15, 2013
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your comments on TripAdvisor regarding your recent stay to Le Château Tilques.

Your compliments are a very nice reward for all of our team. Please know that we will be certain to share your kind comments with the staff. We are truly pleased that our staff’s overall service was able to meet your expectations.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back again at Le Château Tilques.

Sincerely yours,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tilques
7.7 mi away
Le Chateau de Cocove
Le Chateau de Cocove
#1 of 1 in Recques-sur-Hem
4.0 of 5 bubbles 444 reviews
24.6 mi away
Hotel Chateau Clery
Hotel Chateau Clery
#1 of 1 in Hesdin-l'Abbe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 585 reviews
7.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf
Hotel du Golf
#1 of 2 in Lumbres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Hostellerie Saint Louis
Hostellerie Saint Louis
#1 of 1 in Bollezeele
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
24.8 mi away
La Chartreuse du Val Saint Esprit
3.7 mi away
La Sapiniere
La Sapiniere
#4 of 12 in Saint-Omer
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Chateau Tilques? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Chateau Tilques

Property: Hotel Chateau Tilques
Address: 12 Rue du Chateau, 62500 Tilques, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Pas-de-Calais > Tilques
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tilques
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Chateau Tilques 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Fastbooking, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Chateau Tilques reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tilques St Omer
Chateau Tilques Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing