We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place in nature”
Review of Domaine de Barive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Domaine de Barive
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Beautiful hotel in the middle of nature, quiet and peaceful. Perfect for a relaxing weekend away and walks. We stayed in the Suite Royal which was nicely decorated, spacious and elegant. It offers all amenities you'd expect from such standing. The restaurant was refined, elegant and offered very good food with homemade bread. It even catered for gluten intolerance. The Spa is nice too with good treatment options and super friendly staff. In general, the staff is very professional, friendly and competent. They make you feel at ease immediately.
Big let down: the pool area is in dire need of renovation and let the hotel and spa down. Not a place you want to gang around...
Tip: book your treatments well in advance as it gets quite busy. Also if you wish to use the bikes from the hotel, don't as they are all run down and mostly unusable. On Saturdays, it is also wise to book a table at the restaurant.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Laetiha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Directeur général at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you of your advice. We are going to analyze these problems. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (673)
There are newer reviews for Domaine de Barive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 673 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2014

Stayed over on the way down to the South of France recently. This hotel is well off the beaten track in a lovely location. We were pleasantly surprised and will visit again. The food was excellent. Our only criticism was that the serving of wine was very slow.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Twsteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Directeur général at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2014

Thank you for your comment. We shall take into account your remarks.
With pleasure to welcome you next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Completely recommend this establishment. Perfect for day tripping to Reims and epernay for champagne but come back for dinner! The food was delicious and service spot on. Traveled with our 3 year old and two dogs, we had an attic suite and he thought we were in a castle. The pool is nice and warm. Our only regret was not splurging at the spa!

Stayed: March 2014
Thank jtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Thanks a lot for your comment. I hope to see you a next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a promotion with a website and were treated the same way as others. We enjoyed our 1 night stay with an amazing diner. The welcome was very nice, we got overclassed and the suite is huge and very comfy. The "somelier" had very good advice on the wine selection, the service was perfect but not "too much". Waiters were nice. It was luxurious. Food was delicious. The bed was gigantic and very confortable. Breakfast was really good too, with a lot of choice and the waiters recognized us and were very nice and smiling. We are looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marie-Gabrielle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you very much for your appreciation. We indeed consider all our customers in the same way.
The quality of service is our priority.
See you soon in the Domain of Barive !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Expensive, but well worth the trek to its secluded location. Luxurious room, nice swimming pool and very friendly and helpful staff. The food is excellent, although the choice for evening dinner rather limited. An ideal base from which to visit Laon, a gem of a city often missed by Brits speeding to the South.

Room Tip: Ask if an upgrade is possible.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank qhammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your comment on Tripadvisor. Return fast but without exceeding the speed limit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay. Comfortable and spotless accomodation good staff and fine dining. It would be possible to eat and drink too much in the restaurant (both volume and cost) but the set meal options and different wine by the glass for each course were delicious and good value. We did not make huge use of the Spa but access via a upstairs corridor meant that we could pop down for a swim and sauna in dressing gowns and slippers (provided obviously!)
Our booking for two nights through lastminute was confirmed when the hotel was full for the first night. We chose the offer of the first night in the linked "guest house" Le Prieure and an upgrade to a mini suite for the second night rather than look for somewhere else. A happy accident since the Prieure is at least as good as the hotel. Less people (only five rooms) and an informal atmosphere meant that it was even more relaxing than the hotel. Either would be good for us another time

Room Tip: I doubt there is a bad one
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicko56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We are delighted that your stay in every establishment of the Domain (Le Château and Le Prieuré) satisfied you!
Thank you and with pleasure to welcome you again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were a bit late in booking our second visit and were a little concerned we could only have a "package" including dinner and breakfast. We needn't have worried. Our room surpassed expectations with separate entrance hall, sitting area and bedroom and access (along with some other ground level rooms) to an area I took to be a former walled kitchen garden or exercise yard for horses, as I think this was once a stable block.

Our meal deal included champagne before we dined and four wines matched to the courses we were eating. Food was all of an exceptionally high standard.

We were on our way home from the Jura and quickly regretted we were only spending one night. This isn't a particularly easy place to find and it's not for anyone who wants to head out in search of the bright lights. Nor is it inexpensive. But for us it's close to perfection and as others have said, within two or three hours of Calais. I'm certain we will be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your loyalty.
With pleasure to see you again !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Preuve
14.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
23.8 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
443 reviews
12.6 mi away
Ibis Laon
Ibis Laon
#4 of 8 in Laon
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
11.2 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
1.5 mi away
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
Le Prieure Chambres d'hotes
#1 of 1 in Sainte-Preuve
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Barive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Barive

Address: Domaine de Barive, 02350 Sainte-Preuve, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Sainte-Preuve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Price Range: $216 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Barive 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Domaine de Barive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Chateau De Barive Hotel Sainte-Preuve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing