We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The ultimate romantic escape for gourmets”
Review of Domaine de Barive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Domaine de Barive
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 16, 2013

After driving through some ghostly villages we finally arrived at the Chateau de Barive. What a find!!! From the moment we arrived we felt warmly welcomed. Our suite was beautifully decorated and spacious. We had chosen the 'Sejour Saveur' so we were entitled to a glass of their home champagne and the Menu Gourmand with 4 glasses of pairing wine. What a treat! The food was exceptional, the cheese trolley to die for, the wines perfectly matching our meal and the service was very courteous. After dinner we sat in the salon where we were served our tea and some more sweet treats! After rolling back to our suite, we had a wonderful sleep in the comfortable bed...you couldn't hear a sound!

We were so happy with our stay at the Chateau de Barive, that we will definitely come back. It is not only a great place for a romantic stay with excellent food but is also the perfect place to find some peace and calm and to escape our bustling lives.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrancoiseLaPrune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you very much for the small message.
We are going to continue our work of every day which consists in offering you the best. See you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (706)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 706 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

On my way south for vacation I stopped off at Barive and as usual had one of the rooms with its own garden. Due to the very hot weather the management had placed a mobile air conditioning unit in the bedroom and it made a crusical difference to my well being. As usual the room was immaculate with the usual large bathroom and in fact I had been upgraded to a suite. I repaired to the terrace to have a pre dinner glass of champagne which was the Barive own brand and is available to buy to take away. I in fact bought a dozen bottles to take south for the three weeks with the family. The champagne is 22 euros a bottle and is as good if not better than most non vintages such as Louis Rederer, Bollinger but so much cheaper. The drinks are always accompanied by an interesting mixture of tasty items such as a glass with a light salmon mousse, a cheese based pastry etc. I then had dinner in Les Epicuriens, the restaurant of Chateau Barive. This time the chef had excelled himself. He has always been great but this time he blew me away. I started with gambas cooked in various ways with a flan of lettuce and white onion foam. To say that the tastes were mouth watering and sensational are not strong enough words. This was followed by Prawns a la Plancha accompanied by roundels of grilled aubergine,mozzerella and Colonnata Bacon in a light sauce. Quelle gout ! what a sensational combination of flavours. What with the amuse bouche and usual home baked breadrolls of three varieties such as heavenly olive filled rolls I was full and could not eat either the cheese or dessert and was soon fast asleep as I had to drive down to Puligny Montrachet in the morning. The food is not cheap but as for value for money it is spot on delivering great wondrous food with wonderful friendly service in an exquisite setting. Excellent place to stay. Treat yourself !

Room Tip: book a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

We thank you for your loyalty and your message.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was a trip to celebrate our ruby wedding - we knew what we were looking for, a little bit of luxury, not too far into France and good food. We booked a 3 night special deal and were given a fabulour upgrade in the re-furbished stables (sounds like CandyD), overlooking the courtyard. The chateau was situated in the heart of the countryside, no traffic noise, grounds went on for ever with optional walks and cycle rides, a huge terrace at the back overlooking the garden where you could enjoy a kir or other aperitif whilst checking out the menu (in French or English). The food was second to none, service was well paced, all staff were very knowledgeable - subtly professional. Breakfast too was an experience not to be missed. An extremely well-run business with even the owners taking an active part in proceedings.

Room Tip: No tip needed - this is quality !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2013

Thank you for your comment and to estimate our professionalism.
We hope to receive you in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

For the price we paid for this four star hotel, we were very disappointed in the room, old pipes left open on the wall in the bathroom, glue on the tiles , and not being able to stand up in the shower because the bath has been placed in the corner of the bathroom, a small table in the room with lots of paint missing and the fitting round the window above the bed coming off, a shabby room, just as well the staff were so nice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kazzetta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Thanks for your opinion. You have reserved a room with bath only. It isn't possible to take a shower because i'ts a bath. We note your remarks for the window and the small table. The next time, you can request a room with shower. I hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We (3 adults, family) visited the spa here for the day as part of a break organised by Ofice de tourisme de pays de laon. The pool was lovely (not that warm), with whirlpool and sauna. Beautiful trace/outside space too. Lunch was included which was a fantastic 'Gastronomie' affair consisting if ~5 courses with no shorts allowed in the restaurant (!). The rooms and facilities looked top class, as was the service. It is in the middle of nowhere, but isn't that the point! A few minutes drive to Ste Preuve but there is not much there, maybe 10 mins drive to larger villages with a few shops, and 20 mins to Laon. Would love to return!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaireK87150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2013

Many thanks for your message. I hope so to see you again....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Just found the place on our Satnav, as we thought we would like to stay somewhere in the area, and it was a pretty good choice. I think we got a very good deal as we booked a normal room, and they upgraded us to a Suite - The room did have an AC - Sitting Room had a working desk and and a Large Sofa, and the Bedroom had a seating area as well. Bathroom had a nice shower, and a 2 Person Whirlpool Corner tub . Quality of the Food from the set menu, was exceptional , although they got our order wrong, and fudged there way through - didn't apologise.
Overall - a delightful stay.

Room Tip: We got Room 1, which was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CANDY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your comment. I hope to see you a next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed at the Chateau at the beginning of a tour and the end of the tour. Since price was included in the tour, I can't comment on price, but it seemed expensive.It is located out in the country, so you definitely need GPS or directions to find it.
Upon arrival the first visit, we were greeted with a welcome beverage. The staff was efficient in assisting with our baggage as it needed to be carried up the stairs and down a very long hall to the second floor. Our room 8 was large, clean and pleasant, but with no air-conditioning left it being a hot room. We had some laundry to do, which dried very quickly in the hot room. We had a swim in the lovely pool, which was a bit warm. Drinks were available on the patio, and were quite expensive. We had a group dinner, chef's choice, which although tasty, lacked vegetables.
On the second visit, we were not greeted with a beverage, and the efficiency we had with luggage was missing. We had to request assistance which was given. Also I had requested a room with a shower, and they gave us a room on the third floor with no shower. Kindly the tour leader swapped with us, giving up her room 7 with air conditioning. Three floors up is difficult to manage for me. Room 7 and 8 have a back stairway from the spa which made it easier to access. Having the air conditioner made all the difference in the world for comfort, although the laundry didn't dry very fast. The dinner was good, and had a bit more interest. Overall, depending upon price, it is a very adequate place to stay. For breakfast, there were flies all over the meat and cheese, which made it very unappetizing, so we did not partake of these items. They should be covered to keep the flies off, or the flies kept out of the breakfast room.

Room Tip: Ask about air conditioning. There are long halls, so let them know if you need a room close in .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan_Travelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Domaine de Barive, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

Thank you for your message and opinion. In fact, there are only 10 days of heat in the year also the air conditioning is not essential for our hotel. You will can order a mobile air-conditioning machine the next time if you want absolutely. The nights are fresh....
I hope to see you again next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sainte-Preuve
14.1 mi away
Hotel du Golf de l’Ailette
23.8 mi away
Chateau de Courcelles
Chateau de Courcelles
#1 of 1 in Courcelles-sur-Vesle
465 reviews
10.8 mi away
Hostellerie St-Vincent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Hotel de la Banniere de France
12.2 mi away
Hotel Les Chevaliers
4.3 mi away
Chateau de Clermont
Chateau de Clermont
#1 of 1 in Clermont-les-Fermes
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domaine de Barive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domaine de Barive

Address: Domaine de Barive, 02350 Sainte-Preuve, France
Location: France > Hauts-de-France > Aisne > Sainte-Preuve
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sainte-Preuve
Price Range: $196 - $312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Domaine de Barive 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Domaine de Barive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domaine Du Chateau De Barive Hotel Sainte-Preuve

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing