We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxurious spa hotel near Laon”
Review of Les Epicuriens

Les Epicuriens
Reserve with
Les Epicuriens is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $97
Cuisines: French
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reviewed October 1, 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel for a stop over on the way back from the South of France. It is very close to the Champagne vineyards but deep in the countryside. Part of the hotel chateaux group it lives up to the high reputation for luxury of the other hotels in the group we have visited previously.
Hospitable with superb service pandering to us. The sauna and pool were very relaxing and the restaurant amazing with once again superb service and an excellent menu beautifully presented. The wine list was very extensive with plenty of choice. The room we had reserved was upgraded at no cost. The room was very comfortable with its own terrace. Breakfast was again beautifully presented fresh and wholesome with very swift and attentive staff. Cannot speak more highly.
Would love to come again to take advantage of all the facilities again.

1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 303 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2016 via mobile

This is a very nice restaurant and relaxing. We sat on the terrace for pre dinner champagne and some amuse bouche. Service is excellent. We had the set menu gourmand with 5 accompanying wines which all matched well with foie gras, fish, pigeon, cheese and raspberry dessert. Loved playing with the table lamp to select the colour! Very efficient and friendly staff. We did suffer however from flies both at dinner and at breakfast which was annoying. This is a country location but I have never had a problem in similar locations. The restaurant needs to invest in some proper fly deterrent.

Thank Jmahg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2016

We ate twice the dinner and it was always amazing good ! From the Chateau menu to the degustation menu (9 courses): everything was 1 star food ! The staff was very friendly. If you are in the neighbors, this restaurant is really worth to visit !

Thank GuyCau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leromain, Propriétaire at Les Epicuriens, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2016

Thank you very much for you pleasant comment.
We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2015

Dinner in the restaurant was part of the Gourmand Zen packet in the hotel. The dinner itself had 4 courses. We started with the champagne of the house and some amuses outside on the terrace. After finishing our drinks we followed the waitress inside the restaurant for our table at the window over viewing the garden.
Inside we were offered an amuse again, a kind of creme brulee of fois gras before served our first course which was a cold fois gras with apricots. Delicious. After the fois gras came the course with prawn and risotto. The third course were lamb racks with polenta and for my husband pork. The meat was perfectly cooked and very tender. Especially the pork was the best ever eaten.
And the course of the cheese was amazing. The cheese was presented at your table with a trolley and the amount of different kinds were incredible. The cheese was accompanied with fresh salad, dried prunes, apricots or raisins and different kinds of marmalade if you wish. A fantastic experience.
After this came the last course, the dessert. It was a sorbet with macarons and some fresh blue and red fruit. Nice but not too special. The tea and coffee completed this fantastic dinner.
Also the wines accompanying the courses were well chosen.
Everyone visiting this hotel should have dinner here too. Although it's a long drive from the town you definitely have to stop here.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Enjoy1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leromain, Propriétaire at Les Epicuriens, responded to this reviewResponded December 29, 2015

Thank you very much for your comment. The quality can also exist far from any agitation of the city. We hope to see again you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2015

We were greeted by a line of welcoming staff and taken to the terrace of the delightful, charming garden where we had an interesting aperitif (Champagne with violet liqueur). Our table in the smartly decorated restaurant had a lamp with a remote control so the diners could select and control its colour and hue: A gimmick, but a bit of fun for a minute or two!

The service in the restaurant was impeccable, and the food was of excellent quality and very well prepared. The wine choices (selected by the waiter to accompany our dishes) was also excellent. The meal was not inexpensive – but nor did we expect it to be in this lovely place with such excellent service.

The only real problem was the abundance of flies in the restaurant. Flies are no surprise at certain times of the year in the middle of the country – but these were a real distraction, and unfortunately spoilt the experience. I have no doubt that the management is well aware of the problem and has taken measures to resolve it – there was fly spray in our bedroom in the next building – but on the evening we ate at this lovely restaurant the flies won the battle!

Thank UKTripAdviser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leromain, Propriétaire at Les Epicuriens, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2015

Thank you for your comment. We are sorry for all these flies during your stay but we can make nothing during the the spreading of manure. The nature won the war ! We hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Les Epicuriens also viewed

 
Bruyeres-et-Montberault, Aisne
 

Been to Les Epicuriens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing