We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food”
Review of Le Haut Allier

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Le Haut Allier
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alleyras
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Our second visit - perhaps one should never go back. We arrived an hour early, and Mme Brun the owner pointed out rather curtly that the boking said after 3 and just looked at us as if to say "Off you go then". She wasn't like that last time and she could have said "sorry, we're serving lunch, but do sit on the terrace, and have a drink while you wait". Ah, well, we wiled away lunchtime in a local bar,
Her rather tired attitude permeated the otherwise excellent hotel and restaurant. The room was lovely, view superb. Her husband's cooking in the restaurant was excellent - always different. The atmosphere in the restaurant was stiff and a bit sepulchral because of her control. The staff were great, and began to relax a little with us. Fantastic cheeseboard - both content and consruction .

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lucysaddleworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 71 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2009

We are taking a week hike organized by La Pelerine, a French walking tour company. La Pelerine is a remarkable deal for those who can speak a little French and want to travel by foot on their own through the French countryside – half the price of British or US companies with better accommodations - imo. We planned this walk - "Entre Auvergne et Languedoc" - in the early spring and lucked out with the weather - 60 - 70F – without rain. We took the train from Montpellier to Langeac and will walk to Langogne. We added an extra day so that we could take advantage of Le Haut Allier. The atmosphere at this hotel is the best. It’s a great place to hike from or to sit and read on your balcony. The staff could not be friendlier. The rooms are large and spotless with huge bathtubs. The food is remarkable. I just finished my desert and it had at least twenty different items - hard to explain but remarkable. Every course was equally as superb. Le Haut Allier is a wonderful experience. I could write more but I truly am writing this after dinner and tomorrow we have 22 km to cover and so must go to bed.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrKE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2008

Le Pont d'Alleyras must have been an important rail stop at some time. Now, the Paris-Nimes express passes through about 4 times a day and no trains disturb the night. The hotel is simple and only manned when it needs to be (not, for example, between noon and 4pm out of season).
Our room was quite large and comfortable, with seperate bathroom and toilet. It was well equipped, without being luxurious. The evening meal was a revelation, cooking with culinary and artistic flair almost on a par - but with much less bravado, with the 3-star restaurant where we dined the previous evening.
This is a gem of a hotel in the middle of nowhere, good value, friendly and charming. Don't miss walking up to the village of Alleyras, about 2Km away. The route and the village are decorated by exquisite artworks that will make you chuckle every few yards.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Witshub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2008

Stayed here for 5 nights. The location is superb, deep in the Allier valley and the hotel is very efficiently run by Michelle and Phillipe Brun. He's the chef in the one-star Michelin restaurant and prepares wonderful meals. She manages just about everything else with very quiet efficiency. The room was quite a good size (one of the "Junior" rooms so less expensive than some others). Very clean and with a small balcony overlooking the valley.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank DavidinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2006

This hotel has just upgraded its rooms they are now ultra wonderful the food is divine and the service the best all this from a hotel in the depths of the beautiful french countryside
you cannot do much better than perfect

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank confit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank lancelotd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank Michel-Martine62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alleyras
3.7 mi away
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
Hotel Le Pain de Sucre
#1 of 1 in Monistrol-d'Allier
62 reviews
20.8 mi away
Le Chateau d'Orfeuillette
13.5 mi away
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Centre
Ibis Styles Le Puy-en-Velay Cent...
#1 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Relais du Val Vert
Relais du Val Vert
#6 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
67 reviews
12.5 mi away
B&B Hotel Le Puy En Velay
B&B Hotel Le Puy En Velay
#5 of 15 in Le Puy-en-Velay
104 reviews
17.1 mi away
Relais Saint-Roch
Relais Saint-Roch
#1 of 1 in Saint-Alban-sur-Limagnole
64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Haut Allier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Haut Allier

Address: le Pont d'Alleyras, 43580 Alleyras, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Haute-Loire > Alleyras
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Alleyras
Price Range: $112 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Haut Allier 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Le Haut Allier reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Haut Allier Alleyras

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing