We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay”
Review of Hotel San Agustin

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel San Agustin
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed there in February 2014 after leaving our original hotel that was terrible.
Big rooms, very clean and beautiful inner patio.
Very pleasant staff and very centered location.
Extremely recommended .

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gil C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Gil C,

Hola! Warm greetings from Hotel San Agustín!

We would like to thank you for having shared your comments about the Hotel San Agustín with the TripAdvisor community. We delighted to read you had a nice stay, and that you liked the patio and our staff. I will make sure to let them know about this.

Best regards and looking forward to welcoming you back,

The Management + Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (58)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 58 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

Highly recommended Canadian hotel in centre of icod for those looking for somewhere away from the main resorts. Friendly smiley staff. The hotel is recently refurbished maintaining its dark wood structure. Courtyard breakfast room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SuperYogibear2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear SuperYogibear2014,

It has been a pleasure to host you in our property during your stay in Icod, and I thank you for having shared your comments with the TripAdvisor community and our future travellers.

I trust you had a nice stay. We hope to have the chance to welcome you back in the future shall your travel plans drive you again to this lovely town of Icod!

Kind regards,

The Management + Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We decided to escape from Madrid's cold weather and went to the Hotel San Agustín to spend two nights over a weekend in November 2013, as we had been at this hotel in 2012, right after it had opened.

It was again perfect: friendly and helpful staff, huge and comfy beds, great breakfasts served in the Canarian patio, and there is the charm of an 18th century building which has been lovely restored with lots of love and care.

Some guests have mentioned that the rooms have small windows...I just think the opposite! Windows are big (at least of the rooms we stayed in...and we have seen the others from the outside, and all have big windows!), and the feeling of being in an old Canarian home just makes up any lack of brightness (that brightness you can easily find it in a hotel located in a skyscraper in Hong Kong. But that is something we were not looking for...we have had plenty enough of those on our business trips!).

I have been in many, many hotels, and this one is definitely one that I have liked the most, apart from being great value. You get a lot for your money, from the welcome drink, up to the free secured parking, to the free wifi and the awesome breakfast.

We have set the Hotel San Agustín and the city of Icod (truly Canarian) as our home in Tenerife for any future visits, and we will be back soon again (hopefully!).

Thank you to all the staff at the hotel. You make this place a really special one!

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the Canarian patio, two the commercial street where the hotel is located (we sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CanarioViajero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you for your lovely comment, and I am glad to read that you have liked your stay at our hotel.

As mentioned in your review, this family run hotel is in a building dating from 1736, which helps any guests to experience real Canarian architecture in a city (Icod de los Vinos) which is a real example of how life is in Tenerife away from the tourist centres of the island.

We are all looking forwards to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards from all the staff!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We had 4 nights here in October 2013 and were very disappointed. Icod itself had little to offer and it was difficult to find a restaurant open on 2 nights. The hotel was very difficult to find since only the San Agustin name is used on signs, and we eventually needed a motorcycle police escort to get there! Parking in the public car park down a steep street is just too far away and difficult even though the hotel arranges it free for guests. The main street makes loading and unloading the luggage a very rushed operation. The staff in reception and cafe were very friendly and helpful, though it took 2 days to replace a light bulb in an already dark bathroom. We were given a choice of room overlooking the courtyard or street and chose the latter because the other was very small and dark with only a very small window. The room 2 was also a bit dark but a decent size with a large comfortable bed and although it overlooked the street the noise was actually not a great problem, just the odd bit from about 7.00am. The WiFi was good and we appreciated the daily bottle of water and chocolate bars. But the room had no safe, fridge, wardrobe or cupboard. The shower was too low for either of us (both under 6 feet) to stand under, the head would not hold its angle and fell off when touched; there were no hooks or shelves in the bathroom. Towels were changed every day with no choice of using twice. Breakfast was adequate but there was no choice in cereal, yoghurt, bread, ham, cheese, jam, fruit and fruit juice. This was easily the most expensive hotel of the 4 we used in tenerife and was the least enjoyable by a long way.

Room Tip: Get a larger room over the street and risk noise or a small, very dark but quieter room overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hh13rh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2013

Dear Valued Guest:

Thank you very much for your helpful review. Please find below the answers to the matters that have made your stay not as enjoyable as it should have been:

- the city: Icod de los Vinos is a truly Canarian town, being the main commercial centre of the northwest of Tenerife. Although there are not many restaurants downtown, there are plenty in the upper parts of Icod, where typical Canarian food can be enjoyed in a local setting. In addition, at Icod's beach (5 min by car) there are plenty of restaurants. We are sorry you did not find any open restaurants during your stay. On the other side, Icod is a mid sized town (ca. 25,000 inhabitants), and has a beautiful historical centre, one of the longest volcano caves in the world, plenty of hiking trails, and is a good base to explore the island due to its ideal location;

- signs to the hotel: in the main streets of Icod there are signs which help our guests find the hotel, which is located in the main commercial street of the city. In addition, there is a loading/unloading parking place located in front of the main entrance of the hotel, for exclusive use of our guests. Again, I apologise if you could not make use of it;

- parking: the parking offered by the hotel is secured and free of charge for our guests. There is a pedestrian walkway to reach it, which just takes around 2 minutes from the hotel and is not very steep. Of course, guests are free to park on the street if any parking spaces are available and are not obligued to use the free parking;

- light in the rooms: the building where the hotel is located was built in 1736 and is protected as part of the historical heritage of the island. Therefore, at the time of its restoration, the size and number of the windows had to be respected, which justifies that the rooms may not have the same level of daylight which could be found in a new building;

- room installations: there is a safe free of charge to be used by our guests at the front desk, and an open wardrobe to hang the clothes in every room. In relation with the height of the shower head, I am sorry that it was not high enough for you. We will have a look at it in order to improve this point; and

- breakfast: guests can choose from a wide variety of high quality products, and, of course, with no restrictions on the amount of the products served at breakfast. For example, guests can enjoy fresh bread and croissants, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly made milk shakes, fruit, a wide assortment of yoghourts and cereals, tomatoes with olive oil and bread, etc. I am sorry to hear that you considered that there was not a wide choice.

Once again, thank you for your comments, and it was an honour to have you as our guest.

Kind regards from all the staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We read a lot of positive comments about this property, therefore we decided to stay here for 1 night. Well, there was nothing that we really liked here, and in our opinion former guests just overrated this little hotel.
The hotel itself looks lovely with its small, quiet garden and café in the middle of Icod's very noisy main street. Reception staff was friendly. There is no elevator to bring your luggage to the first floor. There is no nearby parking and you can not even park your car in front of the hotel for 5 minutes. They offer you a free garage, but it is far from very close by...
The room (number 1) was ok, comfy bed, but tiny window and therefore the room was dark. No minibar as far as I saw... The bathroom was okay. The weakest point is the location. Yes, it is in the heart of Icod. But nobody can imagine how loud this main street is! It was impossible for us to fall asleep. People are walking around downstairs until 4 in the night and makea lot of noise, many of them are in groups of 4, 6 or 8 people, they are shouting, laughing or just walking home drunk.
We were very upset to have chosen to stay here. The rate was 15€ higher than what we paid at Grand Hotel Mencey in Santa Cruz de Tenerife. That one is a REAL Grand Hotel at a fair price. Hotel San Agustin is much too expensive for what it is and offers, and the noise all night long was a nightmare to both of us. We slept in 15 different hotels during this trip (visiting all 7 Canary Islands). This one was the one we liked least. The website promises a romantic, sweet and quiet rural accomodation. In reality it is romantic, it is sweet, but it is noisy like hell. And Icod as a place is much less beautiful than all the books and booklets let you expect. You can visit the sights within 2 hours and then turn back to a place which is quiet and lets you sleep...

Room Tip: For sure not number 1 if you like quiet accomodation!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelmaniaccc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, General Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We always appreciate any feedback from our customers to improve their and future guests' experience.

We are extremely sorry you did not have a good night's sleep at our hotel. As you mention, the hotel is located right downtown Icod, on the main commercial street of the town. During the week when you stayed at the hotel there were the main annual celebrations of Icod taking place, which explains the voices or groups of people walking on the street at night. These last for a week, in which concerts and fairs are organised. The rest of the year, the street is very quiet from the moment the shops close. Obviously, we would have been pleased to offer you a room facing the inner Canarian courtyard upon your request. These rooms are very tranquil and peaceful.

In relation with the parking, we offer it free of charge to our guests at a nearby secured parking facility. The building where the hotel is located was built in 1736, and, therefore, lacks of a parking. However, there are often parking spaces available on the streets surrounding the hotel, which are closer than the free parking offered to our guests.

Finally, Icod is a truly Canarian town, being the commercial centre of the Northwest part of the island. As such, if offers our customers the possibility to experience real Canarian life away from the main tourist resorts. Apart from the old historical centre, the Dragon Tree, and the San Marcos beach, there are many other sights nearby, such as one of the World's longest volcano tubes ("Cueva del Viento"), the forests beneath the mount Teide, or the villages of Garachico, Los Silos and Buenavista.

Once again, thank you for your helpful review, which will allow us to improve the experience of future guests.

Kind regards,

The Management + Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Cathy & i stayed for 3 nights from the 17th to the 20th of march 2013, our stay was just wonderefull. The whole place has been restored with love & tradition, the rooms are beautifully furnished and very comfortable, the bathroom also, the breakfast was fantastic ( wow for the orange juice ) and served in the interior courtyard amongst the trees, flowers, fountain & koi carp, even the sunshine reaches this lovely area. The wifi works very well everywhere. The rooms over looking the courtyard are quieter than the two on the street side. There is one room on the 2nd floor with a roof top terrace, perfect for getting a tan ! The staff were always smiling & helpfull. There is no lift but stairs only. The hotel is right in town, on a vibrant little shopping street ( one way & no parking ) If you drive there you can park for free at a nearby car park, the staff will advise you when booking. Make sure you tell the car park guy that you are staying at the hotel otherwise you get charged !
On the 1st floor above the small reception & in between the two front bedrooms is a lovely lounge area for a drink, or a wifi session and free little chocolate bars !
We loved the place and hope to go back there on our next visit
Peter & Cathy Frost, Amiens, France

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ileofwight1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Gerente at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2013

Dear Mrs. and Mr. Frost,

Thank you so much for your positive review. All of us at the Hotel are thrilled to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is our biggest and major reward!!

We are looking forwards to seeing you again at our Hotel, and please let us know any wishes you may have for your next visit!

With kindest regards from all of us at the Hotel San Agustín.

The Management + Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed at the Hotel San Agustin for the first week of February 2013. The rooms are full of character, with old wooden floors and ceilings, and a nice bathroom, with powerful, hot shower. The beds are comfortable, and there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms. The courtyard where you have breakfast is a lovely, peaceful space, with ferns, large earthenware pots and a small fountain, surrounded by a beatiful wooden balcony. Our room faced onto the road, and it can get a little noisy at night (with cars running over the cobbles); so if you are not a deep sleeper I would recommend that you ask for one of the rooms overlooking the courthard, which are much quieter (if a little smaller). There is a communal 'reading room' where guests can meet to chat; a steady supply of chocolates and coffee flavoured sweets are left out for you; which is a nice touch. The staff were polite and pleasant. Icod itself is an authentic Canarian town, with cobbled streets, and houses with huge wooden doors; apart from daytrippers who mainly come to see the Dragon tree the place is not really geared up for tourists, particularly in terms of evening entertainment, although there is still a reasonable selection of cafes and restaurants, and it is nice to see 'normal' Canarian people going about their everyday business. Surprisingly few people speak English in Icod. The town is very quiet on the weekend, particularly Sunday. We hired a car for the week, and free, secure parking is provided at the Car Park el Drago, which is an underground car park a 3 minute walk from the hotel - when arriving at the car park you need to collect a ticket for the barrier to lift and let you in, you then take this ticket to the hotel, and they stamp it; you take the stamped ticket back to the car park and they ask you to fill in a form, then they give you another ticket which you can use free of charge for the remainder of your stay, which saved us a lot of money and was really convenient. We struggled to find the hotel and car park at first, so my advice would be to be better prepared than we were, and get clear directions (and perhaps a map) from the owners before you arrive, if you are driving there. The local beach, at Playa San Marcos, is a pleasant enough little cove (even though some of the buildings look a little ugly); you can walk there from the hotel in maybe 20 minutes via a road which is supposed to be closed off to traffic and pedestrians due to a danger of falling rocks, but along which people still walk (climbing a couple of easily-negotiated barriers); or you can drive there in around 5 minutes; there is also a regular bus service from Icod. There is a nice selection of restaurants here, and it's nice to sit by the beach and listen to the waves lap against the shore. In summary, Icod is a nice, relaxing place to stay and the hotel is lovely; but it's advisable to hire a car (which you can easily don from the airport) if you are staying there for more than a couple of days, as there is so much more to see and do within an hour's drive of Icod (Los Gigantes; Tiede; Puerto de la Cruz, Punta del Teno (on the NW tip of the island) to name a few).

Room Tip: The beds are comfortable, but if you are a light sleeper, ask for a room overlooking the quiet court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank GDOEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_San_Agustin, Manager at Hotel San Agustin, responded to this reviewResponded February 13, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thanks so much for your detailed review of our Hotel and the city of Icod. It is always a pleasure to hear that guests have had a good time at our Hotel and have enjoyed their stay, which is always our main goal.

Icod is in fact a very Canarian town (really different from the tourist resorts in the southern part of the island), and we, as "icodenses" (locals of Icod) have always seen the town like a small "gem". We are all happy to see that you have liked it.

All of the Staff at the Hotel (Zulay, Judith and all the others) hope to be able to greet you someday again.

With our warmest regards,

The Management + Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icod de los Vinos
2.8 mi away
Hotel La Quinta Roja THe Senses Collection
29.2 mi away
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
Iberostar Grand Hotel Mencey
#1 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,919 reviews
20 mi away
Hotel Emblematico Casa Casilda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Finca Vista Bonita
Finca Vista Bonita
#1 of 6 in San Miguel de Abona
72 reviews
19 mi away
Hotel Rural Casona Santo Domingo
18.1 mi away
Hotel Rural Finca la Raya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Agustin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Agustin

Address: Calle San Agustin 18, 38430 Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Icod de los Vinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Icod de los Vinos
Price Range: $72 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Agustin 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Emblemático San Agustín has only eight rooms, all of them individually decorated, but with a clear common factor: prioritize the guests’ rest for them to relax. For this purpose, highest quality elements have been used, with fine cotton linens and a varied pillow menu for the guests to be able to personalize their experience at the Hotel. The Hotel has been restored respecting the traditional island architecture, being six of the rooms configured around a patio with clear Canarian style elements. The remaining two rooms have windows facing the main building’s façade, overlooking one of the main commercial streets of the town. In the Hotel’s patio is a pleasant cafeteria in which the breakfasts are served and, during the rest of the day, it is possible to have a light snack or enjoy a natural shake or a fruit juice. All the guests are welcomed with a drink. Everything is focused for the guests to feel just like at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Agustin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Agustin Icod De Los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing