We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent choise for hikers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Apartamentos Estrella del Norte
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We spent here one week in the end of January 2011. We are hikers and we had a rented car.
It was little difficult to find the hotel in the first evening. We followed signs to village Amparo and it is not so many roads going there. The hotels sign is big on the roof and it is easy to see when you are close.
There are several parking places both sides the hotel and even by the road. Parking will not be a problem.

We had a apartment with a balcony with a sea view. It was very clean and beautiful. The kitchen was good enough for us because we only had breakfast there. I think lack of bowls, scissors, peeling knife etc might make cooking difficult. Personnel was very helpful and polite. They seemed to be happy to help us when ever we needed them. The room was cleaned, beds were made and dishes washed daily.

Due to winter time the rooms were chilly and the floor was cold. Not even woolen socks could prevent feeling the coldness of the floor. I recommend you to take flip-flops with so that you can use them inside. It was also impossible to dry hiking clothes inside. We had to leave them on our balcony and usually they were dry next day.

There is a heated Jacuzzi on the common balcony on third floor. It is very nice! There is also a sauna but it was not yet ready to use. I think the electrification is missing.

In our room WiFi was not working. Either satellite channels on TV.

There is a restaurant downstairs the hotel. Food was good and local.
There is also a very nice local bar pretty close: take left road downhill . Soon there is T-crossing, turn right downhill. After two block there is a Bar cafeteria Amazon on the left side of the street. They speak English and are very polite. Prices (Jan 2012) beer 1,20 euro; hamburger (added fried egg , tomato and slice of ham) 1,80 euro; double sandwich with french fries 3 euros.

Town itself is local and quiet. We could not find any restaurant open 10 pm. Not even on Saturday evening.

A tiny local shop is located one block uphill road from the hotel. You can buy coffee, bread, cheese, salami and juice but the selection is very small. It is open 9 to 9 every day, I think.

There are several hiking paths close to Icod. You can easily get there by bus but rented car is easier. We took a bus to Puerto de la Cruz and one-way ticket was 2,75 euros/person.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raikuli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (289)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 289 reviews

Reviewed January 18, 2012

We stayed in the Penthouse over Xmas. The apartment very comfortable with views of the sea to the front, and Tiede to the rear. The kitchen could have done with a bit more space to wash pots, but it was fine for the week. The sun streaming through the windows in the morning was lovely. Our balcony was a little shaded, but maybe the time of year. Icod itself was a nice little town - it's not touristy like many places on the Island, so feels quite 'real'. The hills are something else! It is only a short walk into the centre (20mins) but walking back up those hills... wow! I was out of puff by the time we got back to the apartment (and I'm a regular runner!) The staff were very friendly. We arrived at about midnight, but it wasn't any trouble to prepare us some tasty food. I would definitely recommend a car for getting about - parking at the apartment was absolutely problem-free. We hired a car at the airport - it was about a 90minute drive to Estrella - but that meant we could easily get around the island (though the roads are not just a little winding - be warned!). Would go back.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a balcony for lovely views over the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larafro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2012

It was the first time that we came to Tenerife and also to these apartments (ofcourse). We liked the apartment very much, simple but nice decorated, only disadvantage was that there were a few basic things missing in the kitchen (like a potato peeler, scissors and a waterheater for tea). Another minor disadvantage was the bad connection with the television channels, but that could also be just because we had an apartment that was lying on the wrong place. However, a very big advantage was that the receptionist (Noemi) was very very nice, speaks English and German very well/fluent and knew some good supermarkets and stuff in the neighbourhood.
One tip for the people that want to book here: Please look very well if you have a balcony or not, because sometimes you choose a cheaper option and you'll see that there won't be a balcony.

Wifi is also available for 1 euro per day @ your room. But when you're situated at the 5th floor, you can't reach the router, so you don't have wi-fi, nevertheless you can sit at the public balcony/terrace and there you have free wifi and also a very good signal.

All by all it was a great experience and we will certainly come back here because Icod de los Vinos is also very well situated between all the tourist areas.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeroen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2011

I stayed here with my family (no kids) and we liked the service the cleanliness the room and the views. This place is really clean, apart from a bit of dust on our bathroom exhaust our room was spotless. The kitchen and fridge in the room comes in very handy. The besds are comfy and firm. This place is pretty far from everything so if your looking for a quiet relaxing vacation then this is a good spot. The only close spot to this hotel is Famous 1000 year old Dragos Tree and its a steep hike. There are plenty of bars near by and bakeries are near by as well. If you learn the bus system than you can get anywhere in the island. The bus system there its pretty simple and easy. All in all it was a great trip, loved the island.

Room Tip: get a kitchen instead of a hotel room. learn the bus system (its very simple).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in a one bedroom self-catering apartment with balcony and sea views. it was clean and well decorated with a good comfortable bed and a lovely view. There is a nice friendly restaurant and bar situated under the apartments where english is spoken fluently and the food is great - try some of the local wine, it's delicious.

The hotel itself is on the lush and infinately more interesting north side of the island. It takes a two hour drive from the airport over pretty hair-raising mountain roads with fantastic views. It's all worth it though for the lovely old town of Icod de Vinos, friendly people and tropical north coast. The fantastic manager Naomi and her family were there for us throughout our stay, helpful informative and attentive.

We're very glad we hired a car to explore the island a bit although Icod is only a walk down the hill (and steeply back up- works off your tea!). Just along the coast Garachico's lava pools, lovely bars and relaxed square became our favorite place.

As our flight arrived late at night we rang the hotel directly to tell them when we were coming and get some advice. This was a good move as I'm not sure if Expedia, who we booked through, would have informed them. We paid a 20 euro supliment for someone to stay up and wait for us ( we arrived at 1am) which we paid gladly as the room was such good value and being stuck in a foreign town at 1 in the morning after a long journey would have been a nightmare.

Great value, friendly clean hotel with helpful staff in a lovely place,we were lucky to find it.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the balcony with a sea view - great view! But if we'd gone one better and paid mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Pros: Definitely out of tourist routes but in a quite place with great sea view from up the hill. The mosta famous playas in the south area and the mount Teide can be reached in approx 1hr of a careful driving up and down twisted roads but through amazing and unusual landscapes. We have been given a beautiful and comfortable apartment with a large sea-view balcony with bbq and a fully furnished kitchen. Cons: cleanliness should be more accurate (ie. upon arrival we found garbage in the bathroom dustbean, dust on the floors )

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank garf970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Family built and run this hotel and they take great care of their guests.Noemi speaks excellent English,is always available to attend to any detail or to offer information and always cheerful and helpful. We found our apartment clean,spacious,comfortable and remarkably quiet at night. We really liked Icod. Full of character and lots of good places to eat and interesting things to see. Two glasses of local wine at a beach bar one euro! Really appreciated location as we could visit Los Gigantes,Puerto Cruzz and Teide very easily by car . Buenavista golf 15 nintes away is stunning.Really pleased to discover this place and will return.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
2  Thank peterstanding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Icod de los Vinos
10.7 mi away
4Dreams Hotel
4Dreams Hotel
#17 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
398 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Holidays
Hotel Sun Holidays
#22 of 82 in Puerto de la Cruz
218 reviews
21.6 mi away
TRYP Tenerife
TRYP Tenerife
#5 of 13 in Los Cristianos
3,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Allegro Isora
Allegro Isora
#1 of 1 in Playa de la Arena
2,113 reviews
14.1 mi away
La Quinta Park Suites
La Quinta Park Suites
#1 of 1 in Santa Ursula
936 reviews
29.1 mi away
Occidental Santa Cruz Contemporaneo
Occidental Santa Cruz Contempora...
#5 of 17 in Santa Cruz de Tenerife
1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartamentos Estrella del Norte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartamentos Estrella del Norte

Address: Carretera Amparo 75, 38430 Icod de los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Tenerife > Icod de los Vinos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Icod de los Vinos
Price Range: $37 - $115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartamentos Estrella del Norte 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Estrella del Norte Apartments is a nice family-run aparthotel located in the north side of Tenerife, in the town of Icod de los Vinos. Estrella del Norte offers different types of accommodation, from double rooms to 1 or 2 bedroom apartments. Some of the apartment have a lovely private terrace to enjoy the panoramic views and the sun of Tenerife. Equipped with separate bedroom, bathroom with hairdryer, amenities, large lounge with sofas, a kitchenette with toaster, kitchenware, microwave. Its privileged situation in Icod offers tranquility, nature and wellness. Relax on the terrace , and enjoy a delicious meal at the restaurant of the house, "Los Faroles". Free daily maid service, wi-fi internet, elevator, minimarket, laundry service, tour desk and free parking . Family atmosphere. Pets are allowed on request. Cots and high chairs for your baby. In the same building there is a pharmacy, a bakery , minimarket, restaurant. Some of the nearby attractions to Estrella del Norte Apartments are: * Cueva del Viento:Wind Cave: the experience of visiting one of the biggest volcanic tubes in the world at your fingertips * Drago Park: know this mythical tree, symbol of the city of Icod, and star of many legends. * Historical and artistic center of Icod: Stroll through typical cobbled streets, full of interesting places, stores, warehouses, museums and restaurants. We await you in North Star Apartments, the ideal place to enjoy your holiday and discover the real Tenerife ... See you soon ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Apartamentos Estrella del Norte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartamentos Estrella Del Norte Hotel Icod De Los Vinos
Apartamentos Estrella Del Norte Icod De Los Vinos, Tenerife, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing