We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Perfect”
Review of Heathbank

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Heathbank
Ranked #1 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Isle of Barra is well worth visiting and I could do no better thabn to recommend a base at this small 'simple' hotel with all the necessary amenities and an excellent restaurant. The fish and shellfish were just out of the sea! Excellent views from the bedroom.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charles36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 283 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2013

I changed to this hotel because of poor reviews by tripadvisor.co.uk on the single accommodation at a neighbouring island hotel. My stay was on the evening of 23rd September 2013. I really think that all hotel owners offering accommodation for single occupants should visit this hotel. The room had a front facing view (not located at the back overlooking the bin store or fire escape like most Scottish hotels poor efforts at dealing with the single traveller who more often than not has paid a premium for what is quite often a rather pathetic effort). The room was furnished to a high standard with modern high quality furnishing and spotlessly clean. In the morning I was welcomed in the dining room for breakfast by an owner who went out of his way to be friendly and welcoming to Barra. He was up to date on what was available for the tourist visiting Barra. I would recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of visiting Barra single or couples.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean comfortable modern hotel.Fabulous setting.Nicely appointed rooms with a double and single bed.Super views and peaceful.The beds did seem a bit narrow.Beware there is no food after 8.30 pm and as the ferry comes in at 9pm it is recommended you eat on the ferry.We did manage to get a plate of sandwiches after a struggle which we were very grateful for.The owner, Joe appeared the next morning and was friendly and accommodating.Good breakfast.The smoked fish was delicious and succulent.Would recommend.It was one of the cosiest places we stayed in on a trip around Scotland.

Room Tip: Sea view recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lexy_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped for a light lunch and had a very nice lentil and tomato soup. We were lucky enough to eat outside and the view was good. The service was friendly and efficient. We were glad we had happened upon this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ferrri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We arrived off the ferry and were greeted by Katriana , (I think i've spelt it right?!!!) So friendly and welcoming....We got to our room to be greeted by a birthday cake for my fella (the trip was for his 40th!)made by the very talented Kathleen!
the room was lovely and no noise from the pub below. We ate here too and the food was great.
Once again, Katriana saved our bacon! We needed to reschedule our ferry crossing to allow us time to get fuel! She helped us a lot to get that sorted.
Breakfast on both days was delicious and Joe was on hand to give more info and to chat with.
Would definitely stay here again, we hope with nicer weather!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leahen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first time to Barra and we couldn't have chosen a better positioned, nicer hotel. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the breakfasts superb, the staff really friendly and the evening meals delicious. After a lovely evening meal, a stroll along the road north was wonderful with beautiful scenery.
All in all a beautiful place to stay and we hope to return someday.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank georgeStAndrews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2013

More of a (nice) pub with 4 rooms attached. I have trouble sleeping so was a little concerned on arrival. But the room was quiet and peaceful even when the bar was full. A good standard of pub food served for lunch and dinner; excellent breakfasts. All the staff were local including the owners and all very friendly. Place was always spotlessly clean. Couldn't have asked for more. It is where I shall stay when I go back.

Room Tip: Room one was very quiet with lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Heathbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heathbank

Address: | Northbay, HS9 5YQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range: $82 - $128 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small and friendly, family run hotel that offers a very good standard of comfortable accommodation with good, homemade food (produce is sourced as local as we can!). A lovely, bright bar with a good selection of drinks, including fresh Italian coffee. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Heathbank Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing