We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airds Guest House

Airds Guest House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Airds Guest House
Ranked #9 of 16 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were warmly welcomed by Sandra the owner and shown to a spacious spotlessly clean room with immaculate en suite having arrived at 9pm on the ferry from Oban
After a good nights sleep we had an excellent cooked breakfast taken in a bright room with spectacular views This guest house located in the owners home comes highly recommended to those seeking the above at a very reasonable price and we wouldn't hesitate to return

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 186Leicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
28
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

We stayed at Airds Guest House for our last 3 nights in the Outer Hebrides. The room was very large, with lots of counter space and a big bathroom. The location was beautiful, especially the views from the breakfast room. It was nice to have a host who was actually native--other places we had stayed were run by English people (some of whom had however lived on the islands for years), but Sandra is actually a local. She was very friendly and helpful! Breakfast was great too.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We stayed 2 nights at Airds B & B in July 2011. We had the twin room (as doubles had been booked), beds were comfortable and the room was a good size with room to store baggage, only down was there was not a couple of comfortable chairs to sit on after a day out exploring, had to sit and or lie on bed. The bathroom was a good size and nicely fitted out. Breakfast was good, with fruit juice, cereals, yogurt, fruit, and your choice of cooked breakfasts, toast, jams etc. and lots of tea and coffee. Sandra was very friendly, also advised us of places of interest to visit and see.
We would recommend Airds B & B
Rosanna and Peter
Melbourne
Australia

Room Tip: Look for a larger room with comfortable small couch or chairs to relax in after long day exploring
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RoseRRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Girvan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2012

Stayed here on 28/7/12. What a lovely friendly welcome. Room was spacious and clean. Breakfast was good and Sandra was very helpful with directions etc. The house is in a lovely location and not to far from main ferry terminal.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lamalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

Our first impressions of Barra were not good, we had booked a holiday cottage which was so bad we could not stay there, and we were then stranded with nowhere to stay. Luckily Sandra at Airds came to our rescue. We were warmly welcomed into her lovely home, and given a very comfortable room, we soon began to relax.
Airds is a bright, modern house with a large guest lounge and dining room, the guest rooms are also large, warm and well-furnished and the whole place is spotless.
As an added bonus, it is within 10 minutes walk of the Heathbank Hotel.
We had an early ferry the next morning and were delighted to find that breakfast was served from 730 on. The breakfast was delicious.
We were sad to be leaving Barra as we had not had long to look around, we will definitely return and would not hesitate to stay at Airds again

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goasoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Level Contributor
83 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

Barra is stunning with enough infrastructure for great holiday or short stay.
Airds is wonderful - couldnt fault it

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beeble1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2012

Nice big room and good view fromw bedroom. Welcoming and helpful host. 10mins walk to Heathbank Hotel where we had a lovely meal. Breakfast was good. Would definitely recommend/ visit again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thistle100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Barra
7.7 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Airds Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airds Guest House

Property: Airds Guest House
Address: Airds, 244 Bruernish | Northbay, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Airds Guest House Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing