We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”

Restaurant at the Heathbank Hotel
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great food in a relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

6 of us popped in for lunch and had a great plate of scampi, chips and salad. Service was good and the chef even came out to talk to us and asked us if everything was OK. Spotlessly clean and well furnished. Book though for evening meals, we got caught out and had to find somewhere else to eat. Probably the best food on the Island at the moment.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ManicDepressive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    24
    11
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
alloa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

the friendly staff and the good value for money not to mention the tasty food were worth the short drive to get there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank linda r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Willow Beach, ON
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

We had a variety of items including the lamb. Great! Leave room for dessert... As we were travelling and studying Gaelic, it was lovely to hear the local people speaking and then being invited in on their conversation. It is always a good sign when the locals frequent a place!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank MMTWillowBeach_ON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stowmarket
Level Contributor
97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We had two good meals here during our stay on Barra. The scallops are to die for! It was close enough to walk to from where we were staying. The staff were extremely friendly.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank HeatherStowmarket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent tasty home cooked food. Friendly staff. Fab value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

After trying several places to eat on Barra we found the Heathbank and were very disappointed we hadn't found it sooner.
The food is home cooked and tasty excellent value for money and served by very friendly staff. The cheesecake is magnificent and by far the best we've ever tasted. The staff were truly lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Liz-Al01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant at the Heathbank Hotel also viewed

Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to Restaurant at the Heathbank Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing