We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wee gem of a place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Kisimul

Cafe Kisimul
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Indian, Asian, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A wee gem of a place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

My family & I travel to Barra twice a year, and a trip to Cafe Kisimul (or two!) is always part of our itinerary.

The menu has both Indian & Italian cuisine so has something to appeal to most tastes. It's not the biggest menu in the world, but I prefer to see a smaller variety of well executed dishes than a long list of let downs!

The scallop & chicken pakora are delicious. Over our various trips to the café, we have tasted & enjoyed all of the curries. The bolognese is our youngest daughter's favourite, the best she's ever had. Eldest daughter nearly always goes for their dopiaza.

The home made soups are lovely if you just want a light lunch. They also freshly bake the most delicious chocolate brownies & their Pavlova is a delicious treat.

The staff are friendly and the café has a cosy, casual feel to it. There are some amazing paintings of scenes around Barra & Vatersay, painted by the owner, adorning the walls.

While the prices aren't the cheapest, the portions are filling & made from quality local seafood & lamb.

Perfect place to dine if you fancy a change from the usual hotel or bar meals available elsewhere. Definitely advisable to book, especially during Easter or Summer, as this little gem is a very popular place to eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheDiscerningDiner66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    119
    25
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Couldn't love you more”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Great food (scallops pakora shouldn't work, but are to die for), quirky décor matched only by the quirky host, and John Martyn on the stereo. What more could you want at this remote outpost of gastronomy? A bit pricey for an evening curry, and could do with a better of choice of beers in the fridge. But hit the spot on a cold and rainy night.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ConcreteBudgie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“"Soup of the day is off"!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

On a grey early October morning we squeezed ourselves into the last two vacant seats in the corner or this little café, ordered some coffee and looked around at the other damp customers drinking cups of steamy tea, dipping bread into tomato soup ... the blackboard actually said, "Soup of the day is off" :-) ... or crunching their way through toasted cheese sandwiches (yep, that ubiquitous orange stuff that they all seem to love up here). Where once, a list of creative 'specials' might have been chalked up, was just a blank board and there was an empty space on the shelf where a bottle of malt once stood - we knew because we had finished it off on the previous evening!

BUT this was the same place where that previous evening we had enjoyed a delicious meal washed down with an excellent bottle of New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc ..... and the last of that Malt! Top notch, tasty, full on food and drink at a reasonable price. The Kisimul serves a mix of 'Italian', 'Indian' and 'Fish' food and offers an obviously popular 'take-a-way' service.

They are closing for the Winter season this evening but if you are going to Barra in 2014 try this place for 'Italian' or 'Indian' or fish.... we are sure the soup of the day will be 'on' then and you will not be disappointed. When we return to B&B in Barra, this place will definitely be on the top of our list for evening meals.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bonsack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Loved it!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

Our b&b host recommended this place and we are glad they did, food was amazing!
It's a small place right by the ferry port with very nice staff.
I had the crab soup.....yum!!
For. Main it was the seafood spaghetti which was so yumtastic.
Good food, good wine with great service.
Would definitely go back.
If your going at the weekend, make a reservation, busy wee place.
:-)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AngieB89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So nice we ate it twice!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

I love curries, while my mother hates them. Café Kismul was a great choice for each of us! The first day I had lamb Bhoona. I requested it be extra spicy but the chef and I have different ideas of heat level :-) It was still pretty mild but very tasty. My mom enjoyed carbonara one day and the marinara pasta on our second visit. The service was very friendly and pretty fast considering all the tables were full when we went there for lunch. I think this is a great restaurant for the group that wants a little of everything. Wish I could go back but Barra is a little out of the way. . .

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheFargoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Kisimul also viewed

Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
 

Been to Cafe Kisimul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing