We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful!”
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Isle of Barra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Stunning views of Castlebay and the world famous Kisimul Castle from The Deck. Hebridean Toffee, Scottish tablet made daily and also fresh baking and much more in the summer season. A tasteful gift shop inside with many unique gift ideas and crafts from Barra
Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

I visited in October when the restaurant was closed - alas, because I'd read so many good things about it here on trip advisor. Only the gift shop was open. I almost passed on making any purchases, but decided to buy a small package of toffee. Driving away I tasted one. It was melt-in-your mouth deliciously wonderful. I did a U-turn and went back to purchase more for family back home. By the way, the shop will ship to the US. Hurrah!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EFFor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location”
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Unbeatable views, efficient service and excellent value for money food. Nothing fancy but the soup and salmon sandwiches were to die for. If you are in Barra and are after a light lunch this is the place to visit. Only down side is seating is all outside so pray it doesn't rain. When we visited the sun was shining - it was great

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Honda51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King's Lynn
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Wonderful view”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Deck is a small platform alongside the owner's shop and facing into the sea. The cream teas are wonderful. You need good weather, though, as there is nowhere to eat inside. Also, the nearest toilets are a short walk away. The view, though, is lovely, and the staff are very friendly, as were all the people we met on Barra.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clackmannan, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Best of Barra”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

One of the reasons we keep going back to Barra is so that we can dine at the Deck again. Perfect location and the food is so fresh and tasty. The scones with jam and clotted cream are to die for.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheenaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Weather Dependant Treat”
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Friendly staff, BIG beautifully tasty sandwiches, the hot smoked salmon ones are delicious. Tablet topped muffins! Great view from The Deck over the bay and Kismul Castle. You need to wait for a good enough day to sit out on the Deck as there are no indoor seats but it is worth waiting for a weather window.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

Castlebay, Isle of Barra
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing