We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hebredean hospitality”
Review of The Deck

The Deck
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Isle of Barra
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
Cuisines: Scottish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Takeout
Description: Stunning views of Castlebay and the world famous Kisimul Castle from The Deck. Hebridean Toffee, Scottish tablet made daily and also fresh baking and much more in the summer season. A tasteful gift shop inside with many unique gift ideas and crafts from Barra
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Wonderful hebredean hospitality”
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We visited the Deck to buy toffee to take home and were looking forward to a coffee and cake there. However it is only pooible to eat outside and the weather did not allow that. However we returned to order a packed lunch for our ferry journey back to Oban. The staff were so helpful and the sandwiched and cakes beautifully packed together with a little tub of sald and crisps, serviette and cutlery. These were the best sandwiches we have ever had and the cakes mouth watering. Thank you to the staff- so friendly, helpful and wanting to please.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank HornchurchPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    34
    7
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic for lunch on a sunny day”
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Two years ago we visited Barra in September and The Deck was closed!! So dissapointed and we promised ourselves we would revisit the next time we were here. We are so pleased we did - but make sure you are hungry when you go - the sandwiches are mahoosive (huge) with lovely bread and fillings to die for. I had the salmon and my hubby had the beef and we were drooling as we ate them.

The best part of it all is that we had glorious sunshine and the views around Kisimul Castle and over to Vartersay were incredilble with the water like a mill pond. A 5 star experience to be had if you are ever there.

And the Hebridean Tablet is just mouth watering!!!

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank SJ53M00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect spot, sweet idea, and delicious food”
Reviewed May 2, 2011

A rustic but wonderful find, sitting on decking overlooking Castlebay.

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
10 Thank JazzerJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What a view....what a sandwich...”
Reviewed November 5, 2010

Hebridean Toffee is situated overlooking Castlebay and Kismul Castle, they have a great shop with many unusual gifts, (that is... you won't find them on the high street). If you visit try a sandwich on the decking, they are fantastic, i tried a different variety every day during my stay, my favourite was the.... vegetarian with ham....toasted!! ...friendly service, great food, can't wait until i go there again.
Ginge
Cornwall

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank ginge56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and a lovely view”
Reviewed August 21, 2010

Stopped here everytime we passed through Castlebay. Very attentive and friendly staff with good views over the bay and wonderful food. I would highly recommend this as it caters for everyone.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
12 Thank Rob_Couzens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Deck also viewed

Castlebay, Isle of Barra
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 
Isle of Barra, Outer Hebrides
 

Been to The Deck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing