We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely place to stay on a lovely island.”
Review of Grianamul

Grianamul
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grianamul
Ranked #8 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We have stayed with Annag and Ronnie many times and it is always a great pleasure for us. The bedrooms are lovely and beds are super comfortable, and all I can say about the breakfast is "SUPERB" All in all a great B&B with a lovely couple.
Thank you both, Bob & Vicki.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyOxfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (23)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 23 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2012

Grianamul wasn't on the websites I visited when looking for accommodation on Barra for 6 adults. As I'd left it quite late and was specific about dates, non could take us. We were recommended to try the MacNeils, in a typical Highland hospitality way, by another B&B owner, Mrs McKinnon.
The MacNeils were terrific in every possible way, from organising a taxi & Ronnie coming himself to the airport to collect us as there are no buses on a Sunday, to showing me how to cook and prepare crab claws which had been given to us by the chap who took us to Mingulay on the boat trip. Ronnie also came at no notice to rescue my husband whose bike suddenly broke climbing the hill back from Vatersay. Ronnie also drove some along to the bike shop when we went to hire, and made various phone calls on our behalf booking restaurants & trips, including the sea kayaking, coasteering and trip to Mingulay. They also phoned the bus to make sure it would stop at their road to take us back to the airport to save us walking to the official bus stop.
We had 4 grown up children aged 19-23 and they stayed in the adjoining cottage, which had a double and twin bedrooms, both ensuite, a very large well appointed kitchen and a good sized living room with wifi and large tv, which was perfect for the 6 of us to slump in front of during the olymics in the evenings after days filled with exercise & activities! There was tea, coffee, milk and condiments all waiting for us, which was welcome.
Our room was ideal - a double with a spare single, with an ensuite shower room and tv on the wall.
On the last day, we threw out most of the left over food, but left a few non perishable items as seemed a shame to discard them. I mentioned this to Anne. We went off for a final cycle and to lie in the sun reading. When we came back to collect our luggage and await the bus, we were offered fresh pancakes as we'd left 5 eggs and Anne thought we'd like to see them put to good use.
Everything about our trip was a success - helped by the lovely weather all week.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller58Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

annag and ronnie cannot do enough for you! on arrival a warm welcome and tea and toast.
when we said we were off to climb heavel they insisted on giving us a lift to the gate to make sure we were on the right path. as they left us they said for us to ask the pub where we were having dinner to phone them and they would come and pick us up! their b+B is in the middle of castlebay(behind the heritage centre,school and swimming pool) and we are walkers but they LOVE to take care of you. we were able to print off our boarding passes from their computer for our return flight. other guests used their phone as their mobile didnt receive a signal. Grianamul is spotless, friendly, with good food and soo welcoming.
ps room keys are offered but we didnt bother as the whole of barra is so safe.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mbankmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

Just back from our first trip to Barra (a long weekend). Annie and Ronnie made us most welcome at Grianamul, it was the cleanest B&B we've ever stayed in, the breakfast was just great to start the da with. The breakfast room had superb views over Castlebay. The room we had was super and the beds excellent. I am sorry I've taken so long to 'find' Barra and Grianamul, but promise to be back soon.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jim_the_Scot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2010

I fully share Micky’s reaction, and like him, I can’t help wondering whether we are talking about the same place. My husband and I have been at Grianamul twice, and always found the place extremely clean and pleasant and the owners helpful and friendly. At no time did we have any cause for dissatisfaction.

Other negative comments I would put down to cultural misunderstandings (and by the way, travelling is supposed to broaden the mind: people abroad don’t always speak and act the way they would at home, and that’s part of the experience). For instance, as regards not having a key to one’s room: it wasn’t lack of consideration on the owners’ part, but simply the fact that parts of rural Scotland are so safe that door keys (both to the front and back door and to guests’ bedrooms) are, indeed, not considered necessary. It was the same in rural Ireland in the past, when I lost count of the number of times I was not given a key to lock my room. I never dreamt of complaining – my reaction was always one of boundless envy for people lucky enough to live in such honest communities, and I think visitors should feel privileged to be spending some time in a place like Barra where one can afford to trust others in this way.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ccona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Micky003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EmilyHessen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Grianamul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grianamul

Address: Castlebay, HS9 5XD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Grianamul Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing