We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ivor & Chris's Hebridean Holiday”
Review of Bayview guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview guesthouse
Ranked #12 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our two night stay Roddy and Christine. The guest House is in a beautiful location, with easy access to all parts of the island. The rooms are clean and pleasantly furnished and the breakfasts are good Scottish fare.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ivor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

26 - 32 of 66 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

I travelled with my husband to Barra for his 30th Birthday recently. Prior to our holiday I was in touch frequently with Christine, (the owner of Bayview B/B along side her husband Roddy), about booking accommodation and arranging a special welcome for Fraser's birthday. Both Christine and Roddy did not disappoint, they could not have been more helpful, they went above and beyond and really helped give us an unforgetable holiday. We stayed in the private Log Cabin to the side of the main accommodation and I doubt that I could have picked anywhere better to stay on the island. The views across the bay first thing in the morning were out of this world, we were really fortunate with the weather while we were in Barra and it felt like we were abroad in a paradise island! The Bayview provide you with a hearty breakfast to set you up for the day and Christine and Roddy were always on hand to offer advice and tips on what to visit/where to go on the island. It was a lovely place to stay, with a lot of laughs at Bayview, a much warmer welcome and stay than if we had booked a room in a hotel. I highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: For something different than the norm, I would recommend staying in the Log Cabin, stunning views an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Spent a very comfortable night here with all mod-cons in the en-suite bedroom overlooking the bay. Christine obviously arty and lots of nice touches throughout the whole house. Wide choice for breakfast and served in room again looking out to sea. All very clean and tidy and Roddy very helpful with a couple of requests I made. Would gladly return.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank PeterG605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a trip through the Outer Hebrides. We had a warm and friendly welcome from the owners. The house was comfortable clean and modern. The room we were given was excellent with views over the bay. The owners have obviously put a lot of thought effort and money into the furnishings and décor. It had a large en suite equipped with bathrobes etc. The breakfast was very tasty. We had to leave on the very early ferry on the last morning but the owner offered to leave milk cereal etc. out for our use. This was the most inexpensive of the B&B we visited on our holiday it was worth every penny. We would book here again if we are ever lucky enough to visit Barra again.

Room Tip: There is a room at the back of the house so request a sea view. There are sea views from the lounge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iona12Bedlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

This is a very pleasant guest house. Only 20 minute walk from the port. It is on the bus route to Vatersay which leaves from just outside the Post Office and you can be dropped off at the B&B on request. The Post Office is also the stop for the Airport and Eoligarry. Dont expect a regular service. The buses run to airline and school timetables and dont run on Sundays. The taxis are very good and would recommend Campbells Taxis. The guest house is very comfortable and breakfast is cereal and a cooked breakfast ordered the previous night. It has a large lounge and flat screen TV for guests if the weather is bad.Roddy and Caroline are very welcoming. Recommend a visit to the beaches around Eoligarry and the airport for great views and peace and quiet although you will need a picnic as there is only one cafe at the airport terminal. Also recommend the Kisimul Cafe for dinner. Quirky with very tasty italian and indian dishes. If you like traditional Scottish music you will find the Vatersay Boys in the Castlebay bar on a Saturday night. Dont expect an early night.

Room Tip: Room 3 for great views of the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlie-Jos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

This B&B is in a perfect location with views over Castlebay and convenient for the ferry and touring Bhatersaigh and Barra. Roddy & Christine are welcoming, helpful and great craic, providing a real home from home with facilities which are more than adequate and would more likely be found in multi starred hotels. The room was spotless and well appointed as was the en-suite. The large lounge is comfortable with a vista over the bay .I was here on business , but it would be equally appropriate for a holiday.
Grand breakfast, which sets you up for the day and very reasonably priced indeed.
Despite being off season the attention to detail was of a very high standard. I'll be back folks !

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SwordaleIV16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

A great B & B in Castlebay. Spotlessly clean, Christine and Roddy are welcoming, and open to all requests. Great views over the Bay and a short walk into Castlebay for dinner. They make you feel as if its your home for your stay. Its warm,cosy with all amenities you would expect in a hotel. The log cabin is very cute and a winner on a sunny day overlooking the bay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iris m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview guesthouse

Address: Nask | Castlebay, HS9 5XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range: $42 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm family welcome awaits you at Bayview Guesthouse, Isle of Barra. Tranquil, scenic views over the bay to Castlebay, approximately 1.5 miles from main village, close to all local amenities, and 1.5 miles to beautiful golden beaches. All rooms are en-suite, with tea/coffee, water, t., radio, hair dryer, a separate guest lounge, with tv, dvd player, sky tv, c.d player, conservatory, pergola,garden seating and private parking. Late arrivals/early departures catered for. Packed lunches available on request. Cyclists welcome, garage to store bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayview Guesthouse Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing