We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class”
Review of Bayview guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bayview guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 15 Isle of Barra B&B and Inns
Harris
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have got to say the Bayview in Barra oozes class.The owners Roddy and Christine work tirelessly and nothing is ever too much trouble to them.They both go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible(their young son Dooie who is a real character also helps out round the house as well!) Rooms are spotlessly clean and comfy and the cooked breakfast is to die for.The only fault I could find with Roddy was that he supports Celtic but hey ho we can't all be perfect! Seriously though if you are planning a trip to Barra book into the Bayview.You won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank daveg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    16
    8
    4
    0
See reviews for
6
32
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Esher, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Nothing on Barra and Catlebay is far from the ferry terminal and although we had few instructions the one man we did see directed us safely to Bayview. Roddy welcomed us modestly and set us up in the well appointed rooms with good views over the bay. Our breakfast ordered the night before, was delivered well cooked and gave us a fine start to the day touring Barra. There is a large guest lounge and all together Bayview is a good place to start a trip to the Hebrides.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnSnel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in September 2012, Lovely welcoming hosts, that could not be any more accommodating, the rooms are clean tidy and finished to a high standard. Breakfast was ordered via a menu in the room, and available from 0730 - 0930 hours, the breakfast area was large clean and tidy and I could not find a fault. My room had Digital Tv with Dvd player as do they all, and there was Wifi available throughout with no charge. Only 10 minutes from the airport and ferry terminal, and a short drive to the lovely Vatersay this guest house is perfect for any type of stay, business or pleasure. Thanks again for a great stay and will be back to stay soon.

Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Craigyboy2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

I didnt believe that the reviews below were about the same establishment until I recognised the bit about the origami towels. Sure the house and surrounds were lovely, warm and comfortable but there was no warmth in the welcome of the owner. He knew that we, 5 of a total party of 9, were arriving on the late boat, and departing on the morning sailing. Unfortunately due to poor weather our arrival was delayed until after 10pm but our greeting was perfunctory at best, rude at worst. We then discovered that there was no cooked breakfast till 0830, by which time we had to be long gone. This was despite agreeing to provide a full breakfast when our leader made the arrangements. In the morning there was only cereal and milk which had been left out all night - butter and jam etc were there but no bread and no toaster. Indeed, no tea/coffee and no kettle! When our host finally appeared, I asked if it was possible to have a cup of tea, and was coldly informed that I should have made it myself in my room upstairs. This was a Sunday morning but if religeous demands were that exacting, I feel they should not open on a Saturday night! Our friends staying elsewhere had a warm welcome, sandwiches and tea made for them the previous evening and a full cooked breakfast at 0715. We all payed £35, but those of us at Bayview had to buy a proper breakfast on the boat. I don't mind a DIY breakfast if I am leaving early, but this was really beyond the pale. We later heard that this place might recently have changed hands - either way I would advise avoidance if you have a late arrival/early departure planned!

Room Tip: Avoid if you plan an early departure or like a friendly host!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank 862Kathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level 6 Contributor
288 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

This is a really nice B&B. It is about a 20 minute walk into the village centre, on the road to a lovely part of the island.The owner was very pleasant and helpful. I don't expect performing monkeys to be running B&Bs. Invariably islanders supplement their incomes by providing B&B. It may be busy ish in the summer with tourists but trying to earn a living on the islands won't be easy all year round.
This place is spotless and the breakfast was really good and the cooked selection was really extensive.

The Bayview is shown as something else in the Lonely Planet book. It changed its name 4 years ago.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I write this as I pack to leave Bayview after my two-night stay. The beds are comfortable and the en-suite is excellent. Dressing gowns provided are a nice touch, the towels are not the biggest but were presented on arrival in such an intricate lesson in origami that it was a pity to unruffle them! (Same, in fact, for the napkins at breakfast.)
Roddy is a man of relatively few words but is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was ordered the evening before and tasty, served in a large room which is also a guest lounge with large television and good views across the bay.
It is over a mile from the centre of Castlebay and the ferry terminal but if that's not an issue, I would recommend Bayview.

Room Tip: Room 2 (twin) and Room 3 (don't know what type that is) look out over the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xopher147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Stayed for two nights - clean , good facilities, friendly host, great breakfasts (which made lunch absolutely unnecessary ) with lounge and sun room to use if you wanted. Within 20 minutes walk of the hotels in Castlebay.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jauntyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bayview guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bayview guesthouse

Property: Bayview guesthouse
Address: Nask | Castlebay, HS9 5XN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm family welcome awaits you at Bayview Guesthouse, Isle of Barra. Tranquil, scenic views over the bay to Castlebay, approximately 1.5 miles from main village, close to all local amenities, and 1.5 miles to beautiful golden beaches. All rooms are en-suite, with tea/coffee, water, t., radio, hair dryer, a separate guest lounge, with tv, dvd player, sky tv, c.d player, conservatory, pergola,garden seating and private parking. Late arrivals/early departures catered for. Packed lunches available on request. Cyclists welcome, garage to store bikes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bayview Guesthouse Isle Of Barra, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing