We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Venue”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Isle of Barra
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Isle of Barra Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isle of Barra
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb Venue”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We spent two nights on a coach tour to The Outer Hebrides. This splendid hotel is the best beach hotel I and my wife have visited. The staff were superb and the meals excellent, only one downside, as we were next to last party of the year and the hotel was to close for the winter there was no draught beer. As compensation the beaches are as good, if not better than many of the worlds renowned beaches.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Allan B

So sorry about the missing draught beer but as you rightly say as a seasonal hotel we were about to close for the winter season and ran out of draught beer. Otherwise, thank you for your many kind comments and yes you are absolutely correct, Barra’s beaches are world beaters. Do have a very Happy and Prosperous New Year from us all on Barra; take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    121
    60
    35
    57
See reviews for
68
250
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. First class in location, food, service and lovely staff.
It was a dream just staying here. Would certainly want a return visit.
Thank you for making our stay so memorable. We will be back. Thank you all.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms are the best for the view, but anyone will do for sound sleep and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tosh44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear tosh44

Many thanks and we would of course be delighted to have you back but more than that we want you back, it’s guests like you and all those that enjoy themselves that makes this such a rewarding job. Please have a very Happy and Prosperous New Year from us all on Barra; take care and see you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Our second visit, just for dinner this time, enjoyed the superb views from both the bar and the restaurant, August is nice, you get to see a sunset without having to wait up until late. Restaurant service was friendly and professional even though it was busy, and the food, for us all seafood (well except for dessert) was top class, the Scallops melt in your mouth delicious. We very much like the friendly, family atmosphere of this hotel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank islandhoppers100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Dear islandhoppers100

Thank you islandhoppers100 for this lovely review, we are delighted that you returned again for dinner. It is no surprise to hear that Barra’s scallops melt in your mouth, they are hand-dived and picked by a local diver and are truly delicious; hopefully we will see you back again in the near future? In the meantime may we wish you a very Happy and Prosperous New Year from us all on Barra; take care

Thanks also goes to the people at TripAdvisor for helping sort out my original mix-up with my Owner’s responses – thank you and a Happy New Year to all of you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel had the most amazing views from the public rooms and from the bedroom we stayed in. The beach nearby is soooooo beautiful and we were there in a storm which was a magnificent spectacle. We loved it! The restaurant service was excellent, nothing was too much trouble and the food fantastic. The owners were extremely helpful on reception and also gave useful advice about where to see the wonderful local wildlife. The decor in the rooms was very clever, following a nautical theme, indeed it felt rather like sleeping in a yacht, (without the rocking motion!!) Thank you all for making our stay so enjoyable.

Room Tip: Choose a room on the first floor, the views are magnificent! If you are elderly or disabled, ask the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Gillian B

Well thank you very much Gillian for your wonderful review, it’s always great to read that a guest enjoyed their stay with us. It is very interesting to read your comment on the decor in the rooms being akin to staying on a yacht; with the hotel being practically on the beach we have been working towards both yachting and beach themes that are now really coming together – so thank you for your valuable input.
We are now closed for the winter until May 2014 and wish you a very Happy and Prosperous New Year from us all on Barra; take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hello from london. I had a few days off from work. I just needed a break from hectic london. Booked a few days on the beautiful isle of barra. It was all a wee bit last minute. Got my flights and hotel sorted, an off I went. Great choice of location and hotel. When I arrived I was warmly welcomed by staff. Absolutely amazing location. Joan greeted me at reception with a smile and a hello. She was absolutely brillant helping me with local info and car hire, really helpful. Shes brillant. I had a couple of great days on barra. Every evening the food in the restaurant was five star, the staff know how to look after you. I found the rooms really comfortable I slept like a baby up there. I had a great stay. I really recommend it. There lovely people in the hotel. Il be back. :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westcaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear Westcaley

Many thanks for your kind review, Joan remembers you well and sends both her thanks for your friendly comments and that she was delighted that you so enjoyed your stay with us. It’s now the New Year and we are looking forward to doing the opposite to you and coming down to London to get our city fix. As you rightly say, it’s absolutely brilliant up here but so is hectic London.
A very Happy and Prosperous New Year to you from us all on Barra; take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The position of the hotel on a beautiful beach is amazing. A modern design but very much in keeping with the sea and beach. Our beach front room gave spectacular views across the bay. (I liked the painted blocks ~ see a previous review). Hotel was clean and all staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast offers a wide variety of choice. Evening meals are offered in the bar and restaurant. Restaurant meals were excellent specialising mainly in fish. If I return to Barra it will be my first choice of accomodation.

Room Tip: Seafront definitely and 1st floor probably gives the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Diane F
Thank you for your kind and very helpful review and yes, we like our walls too but as is clear from the review you refer to, there are a few guests that don’t agree with you and us. That said we firmly believe that even as negative a review/comment as made by the reviewer concerned, it does have its positive side. Hopefully it will help potential guests that enjoy conventional plaster-board walls avoid disappointment and conceivably find something more conventional that appeals to their tastes. So, Diane F if/when you return to Barra, we would be delighted to have you back, thank you for your wow review and do take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed in several hotels during our tour of the Hebrides and the Barra Beach was one of the best. We had a very good night's sleep as the bed was comfortable and there was very little noise other than the relaxing sound of the sea. There was controllable heating in the room.....a pleasant change from some hotels where we stayed.....and the room was clean with a fabulous view of the beach and the sea.
The meals were excellent and the staff went out of their way to source something my husband particularly wanted for breakfast. The views from the restaurant and lounge area were spectacular and there was a good selection of books in the lounge area.
The architecture of the hotel is amazing and must have been way ahead of its time when first built. It seems the breeze block painted walls aren't to everyone's taste but to us they were just a quirky part of the design....they were clean and white....and who wants to look at a wall when there is the most fabulous view ever from your bedroom window.
We found the hotel owner pleasant and helpful. He was very knowledgeable on what to see and do on Barra. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: We went for a room on the top floor facing the beach and would recommend
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kazjam67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldgreymatter, Owner at Isle of Barra Beach Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Dear Kazjam67

Many thanks Kazjam67 for your lovely review, as we’ve said many times before and hopefully will say many times in the future, we always welcome hearing from our guests, particularly those that have so enjoyed themselves as it gives us the opportunity to say thank you back – so a very big thank you for staying with us. May I also add a personal word of thanks for your supportive comments, they are much appreciated as it is nigh impossible to be all things to all men. Take care
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Barra
10.4 mi away
Polochar Inn
Polochar Inn
#1 of 2 in Lochboisdale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
80.5 mi away
The Colonsay
The Colonsay
#1 of 1 in Isle of Colonsay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tiree Lodge Hotel
Tiree Lodge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Isle of Tiree
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
323.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
71.1 mi away
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
Amhuinnsuidhe Castle
#8 of 11 in Isle of Harris
4.5 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Isle of Barra Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Isle of Barra Beach Hotel

Property: Isle of Barra Beach Hotel
Address: Tangasdale Beach, HS9 5XW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Isle of Barra
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Isle of Barra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the beach with wonderful views of the Atlantic ocean. Restaurant with locally sourced ingredients, fish and meat. The hotel has an extensive wine and malt whisky lists. Guests enjoy a free cinema with over 2000 different films, bicycles, canoes and other extras. Car and electric bicycle hire is also available to guests ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Isle Of Barra Beach Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing