We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lot of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Torreon

Torreon
Ranked #3 of 99 Restaurants in Gava
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Lier, Belgium
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“a lot of expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

a lot of expectations which have not been filled in
no vegetables near my fish....but i payed enough!!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Anneke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    201
    320
    122
    45
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
52 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A real dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Well designed restaurant with ample seating indoors and outside on the terrace.Run by Eduardo Iborra from a family with over 60 years experience.
There is an amazing choice of fresh local produce on offer,prices fit all types of pockets.
We started with some fresh grilled squids, a great tuna and tomato salad,flavoursome bread with home made garlic mayonnaise.As a main course the Paella was a good choice with peeled prawns it meant no messy fingers,rice was cooked to perfection.To round off the lunch, a small cheese board with Moscatel wine.
Good value for money with food and wine,the atmosphere was good over 130 dinners enjoying the experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A real find!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

Because our local hotel did not offer dinner service, we happened upon El Torreon on our first night in town. What luck! Indoor and outdoor dining offered, with excellent decor, extensive menu including some of the best seafood we had in Barcelona, and some of the nicest waitstaff we encountered. I recommend the spinach and goat cheese salad, the grilled veg, mussels and calamari. For meats, veal steak, fillet and medallions were all excellent and perfectly cooked to order. Even loved dessert! For the record, since it was so good, we ate there twice.

Helpful?
Thank MAP1216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, UK
Level Contributor
83 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Another 3 nights in Gava Mar, another 6 visits to El Torreon”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012 via mobile

3 superb dinners, 2 breakfast / brunch and 1 lunch. Well done to Florine and colleagues for such warm service and thanks to the chefs.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank leeandhen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Jeckle & Hyde”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

Went twice to this restaurant whist in Gava and feelings were mixed as the food was great but the staff and service was abysmal and thats putting it kindly.

Orders that never arrived, being charged for food we never saw and sporadic service at best was our experience when dining at El Torreon.

It seems that if avoiding customers and eye contact were an Olympic sport then El Torreon would win Gold every time ..probably silver and Bronze too come to think of it.Constantly has to remind staff we were there or for our bill or silly little things like condiments which when you are paying those prices you dont expect...not even from fast food restaurants has the service been so bad.

I thought that maybe the 'pace' and style of service was a cultural thing but observing the staff with other 'local' customers we noticed that it was just us which is a shame as we both speak fairly good spanish and made constant attempts to speak in spanish.

So maybe we were just unlucky and went on two bad nights as others have rated this place well so i will summarise the review by saying this...

FOOD= 5 out of 5
SERVICE= 0 OUT OF 5

would never go to this place again and give this overrated pretentious place any more of my money on the plus side its an ideal place to dine and dash as they probably wouldn't even notice you had left :0p

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank djb181084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Torreon also viewed

Gava, Province of Barcelona
Castelldefels, Province of Barcelona
 
Gava, Province of Barcelona
Gava, Province of Barcelona
 
Castelldefels, Province of Barcelona
 

Been to Torreon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing