We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many downsides”
Review of Tenuta San Vito

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tenuta San Vito
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Many downsides”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We tried to make most of our trip to Tenuto, but its remote location, mosqiuto infestation, and out of date facilities made it quite hard to enjoy ourselves. We had hoped to be able to walk to a village which was too far away, and we had to walk quite far to reach the swimming pool, which was rather quiet and too deep for our (very) young child.

Finally, our house was not up to date at all. No AC, quite a crappy shower, and an ageold kitchen made our stay a little under average.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SlingerJansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    13
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
21
15
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Clermont,Florida (West of Orlando)
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2012

Loved the experience at San Vito. The separate buildings are located on a beautiful vineyard with spectacular views. The accommodations were clean and charming. It was a welcome, peaceful break from a world wind tour through Italy. Don't miss having a fabulous meal at the Restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMC130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
1 review
Reviewed October 19, 2011

Don't plan to stay at San-Vito unless you have a car or don't mind losing your deposit. We booked San-Vito for two weeks based on info listed on their website and verified through e-mails. That info led us to believe we could easily access the train station at Montelupo. After arriving at the farmhouse by way of an expensive (40 euros) taxi ride, we realized that not to be true. Our plan had been to walk or bike to the station having been told it was 3-4 km away. Not so - it is 9 km and the farmhouse is at the top of a very steep hill which meant walking or biking was out of the question. We decided staying there wasn't going to work for us. We did stay two nights while making other arrangements. At the time of booking, we put down a generous deposit (30%). They have refused to just charge us for the two nights and refund the remainder of the deposit. WE CANNOT RECOMMEND SAN VITO!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventurerAlaska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AgriSanVito, Proprietario at Tenuta San Vito, responded to this review, November 18, 2011
One of the main characteristic of the farms in Tuscany is the location on the hills of Chianti, and we are set on the Chianti Florentine hills, 18 km from Florence. However as in the mail we sent on the 4/8/11 we suggested to rent a car, or to arrive at the train station in Lastra a Signa (5 km far). If you follow our suggestion you could book a taxi for 30,00.
To access to Florence is really easy, it takes 30 minutes max by car or 16 minutes by train (Lastra a Signa) avoiding the problem of parking on Florence downtown and in the nearest village, Malmantile, 1.8 km far, there are busses for Florence.
Then the estate is clearly very accessibile, it is set near Florence and at the same time you can enjoy a nice quiet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
257 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2011

A 'green' winery, one of the first in Italy. Their Colle delle Mandorle, Tuscan Red was excellent.
Very clean rooms.
Just a bit far to the restaurant for breakfast and dinner, which is fine if the weather is good.
Great friendly staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizbetLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2011

When I think of Italy, I think of visiting the Tuscan Region, so when my husband and I decided to do a trip, I had to find a vineyard to stay on. We met a gentleman from Italy doing a wine tasting NYC were we live. We got to talking and he recommended we look into Tenuta San Vito Vineyards about 15 miles outside of Florence. I first looked up on Trip Advisor, found a handful of great reviews, and the found the website. It was exactly what I was looking for. I reached out to the facility and they responded right away in a friendly manor. There rates were very resonable, but they did require a min 3 night stay. I worked with Sara, and she gave me our options as to rates and apartment we would be staying in. We were given La Rosa, right next to the pool and restuarant.
When we arrived in Montelupo from Pisa we called the owner Neri who came and got us from the train station. He then suggested we get supplies so we stopped at a small supply store and picked milk, yogurt, cold cuts, bread and water.
He brought us to the estate and I was blown away, speachless and just couldn't get over how beautiful and peaceful everything seemed to be. We got to our apartment that had a kitchen area, bedroom, and bathroom...perfect for 2 people maybe for a for person family. The bedroom had a great view of the vineyard. It was nice to wake up to the view, the sun shining and the bird chirping. It was quite hot while we were there, so we didn't do much hiking or biking like we wanted, but we did explore the land a bit. We took advantage of the pool, and the restaurant every night. The restaurant isn't a busy place, but has a unique and fresh handwritten menu that changes every night.
Also, Neri gave us mini wine tour of how they make the wine and how to taste and enjoy properly. You can buy wines and oil and have them shipped to your home; which was great! He also helped us get transportation to and from the train station when we wanted to go into Florence (2 train stops), and when we needed to get a train to Milan. Which you have to take the train into Florence and then hop a train to Milan (about 1hr 1/2 ride). This was one of the most memorable places we stayed and went to in Italy. I promise we will return.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojorose81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergamo, Italy
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2009

the price was right for this appartment. We had Lilla which sleeps 6. It had a nice kitchen and big bedroom. Small TV and extra small and need of work bathroom. If it wasn't for the bathroom, everything else as very good quality for the price. No chest of drawers in the bedroom or anywhere for that matter. Very rustic ambiance with a wably pic-nic table outside, lots of gree and a few steps from a fantastic pool overlooking Tuscan hills. Too bad only one bottle of wine was complementary but no olive oil! Breakfast was very boring (same thing everyday) but the setting was amazing. Payment was requested in advance (I refused) but the came to request it the day before our departure and that was fine. Very peaceful and nothing but relax. Very difficult location to reach especially if you suffer from carsickness so stop over at a grocery store Iper Coop in the nearest town for any emergency supplies (swim goggles, any food or drink). Close to Florence and not too far from San Gimignano. About an hour from major sights. But once you reach this little gem, it's hard to feel like travelling too much just to enjoy the nature. Definitely not the Hilton but overall good quality price ratio, especially for Tuscany which is generally over-rated.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marecompania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soest, Netherlands
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2007

In the beautiful Tuscan hills, just 15 kms outside of Firenze lies this great estate, where the owners are proud producers of organic wine and olive oil.

Beside the "cantina" (=the factory/winery) there are 4 farms that have been changed into appartment buildings. The accommodations are typical Tuscan, usually consisting of a kitchen/living room, bathroom and bedroom(s). The ground floor appartments have terraces with seats and tables.

There is a small restaurant with a simple but very elegant menu, supplemented by daily suggestions from the chef. Once a week there is a cooking class, including lunch to eat the dishes cooked in class. The 130 ha estate also offers hiking paths with signs to guide you across the vineyards, olive groves and the woods.

The produce from the estate is on sale in the shop.

We enjoyed the Tuscan climate sitting poolside, looking across the lovely country side. The pool is well maintained and clean, and is shared with the occupants of the appartments.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. They arranged a reservation for the famous Galeria degli Uffizi museum in Firenze very efficiently, and are more than willing to assist with other queries.

  • Liked — Landscape, originality, staff friendliness,
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tge_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Montelupo Fiorentino
2.3 mi away
Country Hotel Borgo Sant'Ippolito
Country Hotel Borgo Sant'Ippolit...
#1 of 1 in Ginestra Fiorentina
210 reviews
1.7 mi away
Agriturismo Il Cavallone
Agriturismo Il Cavallone
#7 of 7 in Montelupo Fiorentino
87 reviews
6.1 mi away
Borgo Divino
Borgo Divino
#1 of 15 in Montespertoli
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Agriturismo Tenuta Cantagallo
Agriturismo Tenuta Cantagallo
#1 of 4 in Capraia e Limite
41 reviews
2.6 mi away
Casa Montecuccoli
Casa Montecuccoli
#1 of 2 in Montelupo Fiorentino
8 reviews
1.2 mi away
Agriturismo Ai Mandrioli
Agriturismo Ai Mandrioli
#3 of 12 in Lastra a Signa
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tenuta San Vito? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tenuta San Vito

Property: Tenuta San Vito
Address: Via San Vito 59, 50056, Montelupo Fiorentino, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Florence > Montelupo Fiorentino
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Montelupo Fiorentino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tenuta San Vito 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tenuta San Vito reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tenuta San Vito Italy/Montelupo Fiorentino, Tuscany

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing