We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic holiday, you will not be disappointed”
Review of Chalet Montperron

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Montperron
Rhos-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday, you will not be disappointed”
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We are a family of 4, and it was our first family holiday on snow. Lucy and Janis, made us all feel really at home, the food was excellent, wine free flowing and good quality, and nothing was too much trouble for the hosts. The chalet whilst out of resort was spacious, warm and had fantastic views over the valley, and we probably walked less than some people staying in resort. Green-rides were flexible in driving us to the piste and picking us up and we had excellent snow conditions. I could not recommend la ros as a family resort enough, we all skied into the same place at the end of the day which meant that whilst the family had esf lessons I could do my own thing and we could all meet up for lunch etc. The skiing was challenging enough for a week, and the link to la Thule offered more variety and the Bellecombe drag isn't as bad as people make out. Restaurants were reasonable for lunch and good quality/price. We would recommend green rides, Lucy and Janis, an excellent holiday and completely different to mass market tour operators, we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
4
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We travelled to Chalet Montperron in La Rosiere last Easter with Green Rides and having gone the long way round through the Mont Blanc tunnel and then realising the sat nav was trying to put us on a link road that is only open in the summer! we drove back through the tunnel and around a mountain with a detour of about 1 hour 30 mins we arrived at the chalet slightly dejected!!. Our mood was soon changed by the very warm welcome we received from our chalet hosts Martyn and Alesha and the whole feel of the open plan chalet. We were 2 family's with 4 adults and 5 kids and we had more than enough room and the sauna was a nice touch after a good day on the slopes. Having booked this chalet we were slightly apprehensive of the distance to the resort but this was soon put to rest as they have a dedicated mini bus for the chalet and were very flexible with pick up and drop off and we almost felt like we had our own chauffer's. Martyn and Alysha were excellent the food was great, the wine flowed and they were more than happy to fit in with the kids dietary requirements and the kids particularly enjoyed there pizza and dvd night with them while we went out for supper on their night off!

I would highly recommend Green rides and chalet Montperron and I guess they impressed as we are all back this year staying in a different chalet with them only because we are a bigger group and look forward to seeing them all again. hope it snows!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

It's coming up to a year since we went to Montperron, and ho mama I miss it!!
We had such a great time, the chalet was perfect with comfy beds, great open plan lounge dining area and SAUNA!!!
Don't let the distance from town put you off - if you have hosts as fantastic as Martyn and Alysha then you will always be able to get in and out for the slopes and apres.
Martyn and Alysha are awesome hosts, perfect cooking everytime, beautifully plated and they are always happy smiley and friendly. Even when we were too pooped to go out! We felt at home with them straight away. We were a group of mid-20 yr olds, but shared the chalet with two older couples and had a great time all together. Hopefully we will stay with Martyn and Alysha in their new Chalet Jeode soon, when we have money and I'm sick of the Aussie sunshine :) If you're still playing the accordion Martyn I'll bring my trumpet and we will crash the bandeoke...!
How could I forget the other workers at Green Rides??!! Everyone was super friendly and fun - even lent us their prized retro unisuits to ride round in all week (see photo...!).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esther R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this chalet, owned by Green Rides at new year 2012. I found the chalet via a trip advisor advert but it hadn't yet been reviewed. I found myself speaking to Conor, the owner, very soon after as he returned my email query in lightening speed.
We had been to La Rosiere before and knew it was a great family resort - we'd been with Esprit and had a great time, but didn't want to pay esprit prices, particularly as our children had outgrown their ski school and we were ready to ski as a family. We have done a lot of skiing and stayed in anything from self catered apartments to full board swanky hotels, so we are a fairly sophisticated audience.
So Chalet Montperron presented itself and worked well for our mixed group of 2 families of 4 and 3 couples as there were 2 family rooms with 4 beds in and 3 twin/double rooms, all ensuite. *NB I believe this season there are only 4 rooms so check this before booking.
We thought the price was good - especially as it was new year -and after a couple of telephone conversations we paid our deposit. The price we paid covered accommodation, transfers from selected airports/train stations (if needed), breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meals with wine (chalet staff have one night off but there was still breakfast available that day), so a fairly standard operation.
There were very clear instructions on where the ski company (Green Rides) would transfer us from and at what time we needed to be there, but due to it being a peak week and a limited availability of flights we opted to self drive. There was plenty of parking at the chalet and we didn't touch the cars all week as we had our own chauffeur service which was as good as Conor had promised.
The chalet is a 15 minute drive from the resort centre and this was our only concern when we booked, but it really didn't matter. I had always considered myself a ski-in ski-out snob but my mind has been changed since this holiday!
There was a minor problem on the first day with ski passes as they had been issued for the wrong day, and the free ski pass for our 4 year old hadn't been correctly issued, but Conor was around (as we got stuck in the left q) and sorted it out for us, a minor problem but easily rectified and we didn't have to leave the q for it as he was there.
The website showed what turned out to be very accurate photos, and we were very comfortable in terms of room size. The loft room had a low ceiling but our friends in this room didn't make a fuss- perhaps others did as this room is the one taken out of service now.
My only niggles with the chalet was the small amount of seating in the lounge - not enough for all of us - and the lumpy mattress we had. It was so bad my husband slept on the floor some nights!! Otherwise it was warm, in good decorative order, clean and tidy and there was no shortage of hot water - ever. There was a sauna but I didn't use it. I understand it was fine.
Our hosts were great. Martyn and Alysha were welcoming, sociable and likeable. I am never sure what to expect on catered chalet holidays as we've had some poor experiences in the past with food quality and quantity. However there were NO complaints here. We had plenty of delicious food, the menu was varied and they looked after our fussy mates very well. Nothing was too much trouble and they produced great food all week. There was plenty to drink and they cooked separate meals for our children, who were usually so tired they didn't eat much but this was no reflection on the food!
All in all a great chalet, we'd go back there. Green rides seem to have a knack of picking out good people, our chalet hosts and other reps, Anna and Mike were all great, driving us about, taking us out for drinks, to the restaurant on their night off and joining us for a few après drinks. Most importantly they seemed to genuinely enjoy our company (now this is a great skill!) and wanted to ski with us even when they weren't guiding.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 425Kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Chalet Montperron is a five-bedroom chalet close to the resort of La Rosiere. Two of the rooms can accommodate two adults and two children, while the other three rooms are double/twin rooms. It is run by Green Rides – a ski holiday company. The chalet includes shuttle buses to/from the slopes and other destination and includes chalet hosts. Ours were Martyn and Alysha. The owners, Connor and Faye also live in the property, but are tucked away on the top floor.

We visited Chalet Montperron over the new year 2012/13. Our group of 14 people included four children and one pregnant wife (mine).

Getting there and away
You can get the train to Bourg St Maurice and it’s a short drive away. There are airports at Geneva, Lyon, Grenoble and Chambery. We drove from Essex, UK, taking the Eurotunnel and staying overnight in Reims. From Reims, it’s about 7.5 hours with a lunch stop.

Communication
Our friend had booked with Green Rides and we were very impressed with the look of the place. The web site described it in detail and turned out to be accurate. My wife had a number of questions, which she emailed to the email address on the web site but were never answered. In the end she phoned in the days leading up to our trip. This was the only slight glitch in communications and didn’t affect our stay in any way, in fact Green Rides accommodated her extra needs superbly.

There was an issue on a guided ski to La Thuile in Italy where the owner of Green Rides could have communicated more effectively. It involved a lunch being booked without our knowledge and an easy route going unmentioned when a couple of our group were not comfortable with the red/black runs we were using. Pressure to arrive for a lunch booking we didn’t know about until we set off took the edge off an otherwise excellent day. In the end some of the group split off and took an easier route with a few of the Green Rides team, while others continued on the tough stuff. Some tempers were frayed, but it all blew over quickly. If you’re going on the guided ski with Green Rides, clarify the agenda first and be sure to request a route that matches your skill level.

Food
Martyn and Alysha, our hosts, were outstanding. While quite young, the food they prepared was always of an excellent standard. The effort they put into accommodating a number of food dislikes and allergies was nothing short of astonishing. On one night they invented three different takes on a mackerel mousse as well as cooking a brilliant kids’ menu. The wine, which is included during dinner, was always pleasant and we never felt any pressure to stop drinking or slow down, not that we were a particularly over-zealous group! The breakfasts were always varied and nice. Fresh croissants, eggs, cereal, toast, pain au chocolat, cheese, ham, porridge, yoghurt and juices meant that even the fussiest eater could head for the slopes properly fuelled. The hosts also baked a series of cakes and presented a lovely cheese board every other day. We’re a fairly fussy bunch when it comes to food, with some picky dislikes, but the food blew us away.

Accommodation & Location
The rooms were comfortable, thought the mattresses were a little tired (we had to swap ours round as the head end was so flat we felt like we were on a hill with our heads at the bottom). The bathrooms were good and the showers hot and powerful. Room 5, on the top floor, was a little small, but our friends didn’t seem to mind. Some of the rooms have a balcony with a remarkable view across Bourg St Maurice and beyond. There is parking for a few cars. The upstairs is accessed by a spiral staircase. The sauna is great for loosening up the muscles after a day skiing.

There’s a separate building with heated ski boot storage and ski racks. It’s very convenient.

The ski slopes are a 15-20 minute drive away and each day we were whisked there at a time of our choosing by our hosts, plus the brilliant Mike and Anna. If you ever get car sick, ask them to slow down a little. Those mountain-folk like to get up the hill quickly. The chalet is close enough to the resort that it isn’t an inconvenience, but make sure you take everything you need with you! As an aside, La Rosiere is a small resort but has enough bars, banks, ski shops and restaurants to provide for most tastes. It isn’t for party weeks, though I imagine the ski hosts could arrange a raucous night out…

Staff
The staff were brilliant. Martyn H and Alysha F made us all feel very welcome and apart from one hangover (it was new years’ day, come on!) when Alysha was left to do breakfast on her own, they were both there to attend to our every need. Their hours were unclear but suffice to say that there was never a time when we wanted for anything. They seemed to be in the right place at the right time, all the time. The management seem to be quite exacting – my wife had to endure one of them huffing and puffing about some paper bags used for kindling being folded wrongly. In Martyn and Alysha, they simply won’t find better. I hope that they understand what a brilliant couple they having running the chalet. Guests don’t want to know if the management want kindling bags folded better, especially when the people in question have been so incredibly good. Martyn and Alysha made our holiday.

Outside of he chalet there are other Green Rides staff buzzing about. Mike and Anna often drove us around. They’re a great couple (I assume they’re a couple – if not, then they ought to be) and like the other Green Rides team members, always wanted to help. Any Green Rides staff we encountered were helpful, friendly and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buster1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Was there at the beginning of the ski season, we had the slopes almost to ourselves and only minutes to get up the chair or drag lifts without wasting time queueing and waiting around. The skiing was awesome.

Accommodation wise, highly recommend Green Rides (http://www.green-rides.com/price-availability/). They provide all round service from chalet rental, ski equipment hire, ski pass, transportation to & fro chalet and also airport and half board meal from 300£. They have a few chalets and we stayed at Chalet Mont Perron, 20 mins away from La Rosiere. The room were spacious with a balcony overlooking Bourg St. Maurice, indeed an awesome view on a clear day/night. The rooms are kept warm and must emphasis on the impeccable service and great food. They also manage other chalets that are only 5 minutes away from La Rosiere so plenty of options to choose from.

Breakfast is a selection of cereal, toasts, juices with hot food that changes daily - eggs cooked the way you like it, pancakes, etc. A good start to a packed day of skiing. We always look forward to dinner - a 3-course restaurant style meal and menu changes everyday! Each meal comes with a drink - wine, beer or juice. For additional just pay as you consume. Ours come up to only 12€ for the many wine and beer consumed for the week (not heavy drinkers though).

The owner and all service staff are very friendly, helpful and attentive. They can also help you ring for a masseuses after a long day on the slopes to ease off all the pain and sprains. A bit costly, then it's expected at 76€ for 1-hour massage.

Room Tip: Book early during Xmas period as each chalet only has a few rooms and gets booked up way in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_buzzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rosiere hotels
0.0 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
0.0 mi away
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
#2 of 31 in La Rosiere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#3 of 3 in La Rosiere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
0.0 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Montperron? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Montperron

Property: Chalet Montperron
Address: Montperron, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 Specialty Lodging in La Rosiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A truly savoie experience awaits you at our flagship chalet, located 12 minutes drive from La Rosiere, surrounded by woodland, and perched on the cliff edge looking out over the Tarantaise valley with 180 degree views. The chalet is over 150 years old and covers over 350m2 of living space.There is a large lounge area with an orange and brown suede banana sofa, large flat screen TV. with U.K satellite and a separate bar area with stools. The main dining area encompasses a large antique savoie dining table for up to 10 – 12 people. Professional framed photos adjoin the walls from local photographers displaying their work, and the whole area looks south west with 3 sets of screened doors to enjoy the view. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing