We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb service”
Review of Chalet Chocard

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in La Rosiere
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalet Chocard
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had a great weeks skiing holiday staying at Chalet Chocard with Snow Crazy. The team in the chalet were first class and nothing was too much trouble. The food and wine were the best we have had in a chalet holiday and the chalet was well equipped and clean. The steam room and hot tub were a nice extra to have! We will definitely use Snow Crazy again in the future!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toby B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (12)
There are newer reviews for Chalet Chocard
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 12 reviews

Reviewed November 28, 2012

Put simpy with over 8 years of Alpine biking experiences under our belts in places like Morzine, Verbier, Le Gets, St Foy and now La Rosiere I can safely say that this holiday was by far the best value, accomodation, guiding and food combination that I have seen. To start with Chalet Chocard can easily swallow up ten bikes, ten blokes and ten loads of biking gear. The rooms are excellent and the chalet is a great combination of space and authenticity. The guiding provided at Alpin Sport included in the price was also of an extremely high standard and gave is variation and tuition whilst seeing the area. We were so impressed that we have booked again for next year and they have honoured last years price!! - AWESOME!!

Room Tip: first room downstairs on the right is the coolest in the summer and the biggest for storage.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

After realising we had booked too late with our favourite MTB Company, in the Alps – I made a speculative enquiry with MBS/SnowCrazy to see if they could accommodate us.
Following a few e-mails and the go-ahead from our group confirming they also liked the look of it. We booked a 7 nights stay, with 5 days guided riding in late July 2012.

Turns out… now we have a new Favourite MTB company…. "Mountain Bike Safari"

Our hosts Neil & Charlotte were excellent. They provided great culinary delights through-out the day. A great breakfast, to make sure your fuelled up for the mornings trails. Proper sandwiches made by Charlotte.. ham, cheese, gerkin and mayo (mmM).
Unfortunately, mine were always squashed after being in my Camelbak too long…
In the evening’s simple, satisfying 3 course meals – and a great selection of wine to compliment each meal. Desserts too were excellent.

Our MTB Guide (Roman) was excellent. Professional, skilful, always safety conscious, extremely knowledgeable of the local area, happy to spend time helping you how improve your riding & very personable. During the 5 days of Guided riding we checked out excellent local trails in La Rosiere and went a little further a field to Tignes, Val D'Isere, Les Arcs & our favourite Thuile (and no… not just for the Pizza).

MBS owner, Mike. Was very welcoming and always available to answer our queries - or help to ensure our stay was a great one.

The Chalet was excellent.
We made sure we took advantage of the Sauna & Jacuzzi. All bedrooms were spacious and there was a good communal area to chill and watch TV.
A huge balcony/terrace to lounge in the evening sun with a beer. A good size area for storing bikes and repairing them if necessary.
Wi-Fi was available too making it easy to stay in touch with the UK using Skype etc.

All in all… A great holiday.
Food, Accommodation, Guides, Chalet staff, Location & Price … all get 5 stars

For more information you should go to www.mountainbikesafari.com and check out the photos and video. This will tell you all you need to know.

Thanks to the MBS Team – and here’s to seeing you all again in 2013.

Room Tip: No need to get 'first dibs' - all the rooms are great.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeyPole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

An impulse buy for all our group of 8 mountain bikers for our first oversea's Alps trip as a club!

We spent one week at the Chalet Chocard on an organised MTB trip visiting various resorts within the area mountain biking such as La Rosiere, Tignes, Val D'Isere, Les Arcs & Thuile.

The accommodation, food & hospitality was awesome along with the MTB guides organised by the chalet. There was nothing the hosts wouldn't do for us, we excellent chefs & gave us good advice on the surrounding area etc

The easiest way to explain the chalet would be to visit www.mountainbikesafari.com as the video show's the chalet & it is as good as it looks in the video!

The guides the chalet use were friendly, fun & full of good advice & help when conquering the various black, red & blue trails around the resorts.

Can't wait to book next years trip!

Greig - Halfway Up MTB Club

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greig J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

As a Mountain bike club we booked a week with Mountain Bike Safari at Chalet Chocard. Upon arrival, our hosts Neil and Charlotte were superb. The accommodation was good, beds really comfortable. There were 10 of us all together and that was fine. The hot tub was great after our long rides. Our Bike guides, Roman and John, were simply superb. They catered exactly for our riding abililities, each day progressing. There English was certainly better than our French. We rode so many different trails and without the guides the holiday would not have been such a great experience.The food was excellent , They even catered for the more faddy one in the the group. For a mountain bike holiday a could not think of a better venue. Everything about this holiday was far better than anticipated. Sky TV and IPOD docks were spot on as we could keep up with the Olympics.The added bonus of Wi fi was great for keeping in touch. Our shuttle service was always on time and Christophe was very friendly. I would recommend this chalet and holiday to anyone. It is great value for money. Our group all gave it a 10/10. In short, BRILLIANT!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We spent a fantastic week at Chalet Chocard during our half term week in February 2011. It was very much a last minute booking and Laura at Snowcrazy was efficient and helpful and made sure we got a great deal and that all the arrangements were in place before our arrival, including a free night and dinner in the chalet at the start of our holiday as we arrived a night early and also free transportation to and from Geneva Airport which was a big financial bonus

La Rosiere is a very pretty village looking straight across the valley at Les Arcs. The La Rosiere ski area connects to La Thuile in Italy where the skiing was fantastic. My 12 year old went over there most afternoons for a pizza and icecream. There is a large selection of shops and restaurants up in the village. We were slightly concerned about the proximity of the chalet to the slopes as the kids never like having to haul their boots and skis about and so we usually prefer ski in ski out. However, we need not have worried. Whilst the chalet offers a complimentary minibus up and down at your requested time in the morning and evening, the free local bus runs past the chalet every 15 minutes and the bus stop is literally a 20 step walk up the road from the chalet. The bus drivers spoke excellent English and were always very pleasant. The village was maximum one mile away and was a pleasant walk for anyone with time on their hands. Snowcrazy also offer a lift up and down to the village on the staff’s evening off but we chose to take the bus up and have a leisurely walk back down after a fabulous pizza in Le Petit Danois.

The chalet itself was lovely in a peaceful forested area. There was a huge hottub at the front of the chalet with far-reaching views through the trees across the valley. There was also a steam room though we didn’t use it. There was a large wraparound balcony on the first floor, ideal for catching the sun and enjoying the views. My husband and I had the master bedroom suite on the first floor and it was very quaint with lots of lovely carved pine and hearts, an en suite and a door out onto the balcony, underfloor heating and plenty of storage space. The kids, 12 and 15, had an enormous bedroom on the floor above with en suite shower room. Close enough for comfort but far enough away for a bit of peace! The chalet maid made the beds if requested. There was always abundant hot water for showers.

There was a massive dining table which would easily accommodate 12 people and a lounge area which would be cosy for 12 unless u were all from the same group as is often the case. There was a large selection of dvds and books for guests’ use. There was sky tv also an ipod/iphone docks and free wifi. Breakfast, afternoon tea and dinner were all provided by Jenny and Jamie, a young English couple with Jamie dolng all the cooking. There was a hot option plus divine croissants, cereal, juices etc in the morning and home baked cakes in the afternoon. Canapes were served around 7 and dinner was a very substantial three course affair, followed by coffee and a cheeseboard! Jamie worked hard to produce a great dinner in the evening with a wide range of vegetables accompanying the main course and a highly calorific dessert to follow. They were happy to make menu changes for things which the kids didn’t like. Meals were served with local wines.

The rest of the Snowcrazy team whom we met were Fiona, the very excellent ski guide and chauffeur, and Jason, Ben and Chris who organised the ski hire, lift passes, online check-in on the way home etc. Ski equipment, lift passes etc were all delivered to the chalet. The tech guys were happy to bring other boots for my daughter to try when her feet were in agony after her first day on the slopes. This was great rather than having to go up to one of the numerous ski shops in town.

This was our first Snow Crazy experience and all in all I could thoroughly recommend them and would have no hesitation in coming back to Chalet Chocard again and would be happy to recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dianearmstrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2011

The end of the ski season is upon us and thoughts inevitably turn to planning next years skiing and in doing so I am prompted to comment on this years adventures.

We went to Le Chocard in January, a group of 6 couples , we had the whole chalet to ourselves and it worked very well. On arrival the first thing we noticed is the chalet was spotlessly clean & then it was maintained so all week despite our best efforts to do otherwise. The food was very good, way above average for chalet food both in quality and quantity. The all inclusive wine was what you would expect...........

The building itself was as described on the tin, we loved it. As was the rest of the package, all as described on the Snow Crazy www.

Most importantly the staff were first class. Jamie , ably assisted by his staff of one, Jenny, produced great food, on time all together & with seemingly effortless ease. We found these two along with any other of the Snow Crazy staff we came into contact with had a genuine service ethic.

We thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Whilst there was no fresh snow , the piste’s were well maintained and we enjoyed good piste skiing throughout La Rosiere & La Thuile. However I understand that La Rosiere has excellent off piste opportunity, so we have just booked Le Chocard again with a special request for fresh powder on the mountain & Jamie & Jenny to be our hosts in the chalet.

Room Tip: Ignore the shuttle and walk to piste for warm up
  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happyharry34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these La Rosiere hotels
0.0 mi away
Relais du Petit St Bernard
Relais du Petit St Bernard
#2 of 8 in La Rosiere
78 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
#2 of 31 in La Rosiere
184 reviews
0.0 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
94 reviews
0.0 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#2 of 3 in La Rosiere
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalet Chocard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalet Chocard

Address: La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 31 Specialty Lodging in La Rosiere
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing