We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent family resort”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Certificate of Excellence
Croissy-sur-Seine, France
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“excellent family resort”
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Excellent accommodation very close to the slopes & restaurants. Resort caters for all levels of skiers. We were beginners but enjoyed it all immensely. Restaurant choice in Les Eucherts limited but reasonable quality & price for up a mountain. More choice a short walk away along a very scenic path.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Montyincroissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    38
    14
    3
See reviews for
111
21
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We two 60-year olds stayed in Chalet Marmotte in January 2014, Chalet Choucas in 2013 and Chalet Belette in 2012. We had liked the quiet, small town resort feel and the excellent snow. The slopes are not too busy and when the weather is not too windy, the ski to Italy is great fun. The ski to door is fantastic. The chalet staff and the fellow guests were wonderful. The food was great.

This year we paid nearly double what we paid in 2012 (admittedly 2012 was a special offer) - but we had to go on a specific week so, C'est La Vie.

Only problem was drunken youths most nights. The noise died down around 4:30am. If we wanted this, we would have gone to one of the mega resorts - this is not La Rosiere.

Probably next year we will try one of the chalets that are more out of town Perdrix or Kandahar if we can check them out here before hand.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverfox5678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Travelling as a party of 8 (6 adults and 2 Children) we have just returned from a fantastic week away skiing in Les Eucherts staying at Les Balcons de la Rosiere.

We found the accommodation excellent, twin bedded rooms all with en suite facilities a bit on the basic side but perfectly adequate for a week (having your own bathroom with a Jacuzzi was such a bonus!)

The heated boot room and ski lockers are situated at the bottom of each block so not too crowded as not everyone is in there at once. There's just a short walk up to the slope then down to the main 6 man lift (Les Eucherts). Lots of lovely blue runs and a few more challenging red ones. Plus the exciting option of skiing into Italy for the day. Make sure you don't leave your trip to Italy too late in the week as the weather can hinder the connection and you'll be miffed that you missed the opportunity.

We catered for ourselves but there are a couple of restaurants and bars to choose from.
The Les Balcons staff were very obliging, we had a couple of issues the TV didn't pick up any UK channels and the shower drain was blocked. We made a quick call to reception and with in 20 minutes all fixed.

All in all great resort and we had a smashing time. Slightly quieter than most, perfect for families and for those who like a bit of elbow room on the slope. book it you won't regret it :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaterhamCSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 10, 2014

After returning from a weeks stay in Chalet Marmottes I would be happy to recommend to anybody. The chalets themselves are by no means top class, but for what the rooms may have been lacking in size, storage ,space etc, Skiworld make up for these small downfalls by creating a fab experience in other ways. Excellent chalet hosts, who were very friendly, and the chalets provide what you need for the amount of time you actually end up spending in them....which is , if making the best of the slopes...very little time indeed.Depending on how sociable you want to be there are various activities organised by Skiworld(tablequiz), and the chalets create a relaxed atmosphere where, in our experience, was super. Every evening the entire chalet, all (13 guests) for Marmottes, of various agegroups came together for dinner and chatted and laughed about the days events over plenty of wine.This made the week for us. Perhaps we were exceptionally lucky to meeet a great bunch of people :)
We had a room with a balcony....which we didnt really go out on much as it was too cold but it was great for the view over the valley..which was amazing and lovely to open the door, as when getting into ski gear in the mornings the small rooms can get warm and stuffy...not a bad complaint as everything drys fast for the next day.The Jacuzzi bath was small enough but it becomes your best friend in the evenings to help the aches and pains from a day on the slopes.
Myself and my boyfriend really enjoyed the trip...he has been to many chalets on previous ski trips all of different standards, and based on value for money we would choose Les Balcons again for sure.

The food was SUPER...couldn't complain..and was always full after the evening meals. Great breakfasts were had to get the day off to a good start too. I began this trip as a beginner skier, and by the end of the week I managed to make the trip to Italy.If I was to go again, I would try the Italy trip sooner in the week as I would have loved another chance to do it before we left. Make the best of the days where you have the oppotunity to go to La Thuile ,as weather was changeable when we were there and La Thuile was often closed.

A major bonus was being able to ski right back to the boot room in the evenings.. for afternoon tea and treats baked by Hannah our chalet host.. Heaven!!

Room Tip: Choose a balcony room if you want to be able to have a bit of a cool breeze when the room gets too w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LauraKIRL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

We have just returned from Les Balcons in La Rosiere having travelled with 'SkiWorld'. We have had a fantastic time and were well looked after.

The resort is shared with La Thuile in Italy and I suspect that almost all travellers get a pass that covers both areas. La Rosiere has a pleasant village with the usual variety of shops, pubs and restaurants. Not very busy, but there is an ice rink, cinema and bowling alley for some alternative family fun. The resort is not huge and as a result, there is a quieter feel, which we really liked. If you are after a more lively (wild) time, them this is possibly not what you are after. Our daughter is 10 and La Rosiere was perfect for us.

The skiing in La Rosiere is pretty good, with enough variety, but without La Thuile, it would be a bit limited. We had a cold and windy week with some visibility issues at times and as a result, the link between France and Italy was closed for three of the six days. La Thuile has the slightly better skiing, particularly if you are after reds and blacks and as such the weather and the closure of the French / Italy link was a bit of a disappointment. If the weather had been a bit better and the link open more frequently though, then I would say that the resort offers perfect skiing for all abilities. If I was being really picky, then I would say that the snow park was lacking a little and there could be some improvement in the chairlifts, which were not the high speed covered variety. As I say, I am being really picky. There is nothing wrong with the skiing and the huge red and black runs in La Thuile were a dream:-)

The chalet itself was perfect. It is one of a group, with shared (over 16's only) access to a steam room and jacuzzi tub and really well thought out. There was adequate storage for ski's and boots in the locker room and you really could ski to the door! It was a really short walk to the nearest lift and your away. There is about 3 equipment hire shops, a supermarket as well as a few bars and restaurants within a matter of two minutes walk. The chalet we were in was divided into separate units. We stayed in an area that had a kitchen, living area, 6 bedrooms (All en suite) and a separate communal shower room. The layout I believe is pretty standard throughout the whole chalet and was perfect. We had a chalet host (Hannah) that cooked our breakfast, afternoon Tea and evening meal. She was awesome! Our bedroom also had a sofa bed for our daughter. The bedrooms are really small, but they are just enough and as a group, we made use of the living room a fair bit. The chalet also has a lift for convenience and it was clean and tidy throughout.

As for SkiWorld as a company, we were a little dubious. I had never travelled with them before, but they were brilliant. We met some of the other chalet hosts, Lou, Flick, Fergus and George. They are all amazing. Really polite and friendly and Hannah adapted the menu to suit the individual requests of the guests. Everyone commented on the quality of the food.....It was brilliant. We also ski'd in Italy with Joel and David. These guys were so professional. Joel in particular would organise the evening events such as the pub quiz and bum boarding and was really engaging. It was very clear that David had a lot of experience and the entire team seemed to work seamlessly.

We would definitely visit La Rosiere again. I would happily stay at Les Balcons and I would definitely travel with SkiWorld in the future.

If the bedrooms were a bit bigger with a bit more storage capacity and the jacuzzi / steam room been accessible to our 10 year old, I would probably have given 5 stars.

Room Tip: Ask for the room furthest from the kitchen if you have an early rising chalet host.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MicheleandAlun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

This was our second time at Chougas with Skiworld.
The chalet hosts Lou and Seb were fantastic and they served delicious food that was all freshly prepared. They went out of their way to be helpful and even made a birthday cake and iced it for one of our party.
The chalet hosts made our stay a very happy one. However the resort manager (Dave) was absolutely useless, we asked for keys to the chalet everyday and they were finally delivered Friday eve before we left early on Saturday morning, this poses a security risk and needs to be looked at. The chap also had a specific agenda and really was lacking in people skills (actually telling us not to believe Tripadvisor reveiws!!) One of our party was injured and needed medical attention and he did nothing to assist them.
The rooms are adequate for a ski holiday,once again I feel a bit more light in the rooms could help. The kitchen really does need more work surfaces to be adequate for 14/16 guest but this issue needs to be highlighted with the owner by skiworld.
La Rosiere is a pretty resort and has a few things to do like bowling/skating etc.

This year it really was the hosts that made the holiday

Room Tip: rooms 3 & 4 are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

We rented an apartment for 11 booked through Ski Collection UK. The layout was excellent with 5 double rooms, each en suite and set back from the communal areas to give some privacy. There is a fabulous view of the mountains from the main room.
We found the kitchen area adequate, and we ate in most days. The bedrooms and en suites were very good, and were was lots of storage space. The apartment block has good ski storage and an underground car park. We walked to the slope (5 min) and skied back to the door.
There is very slow internet at the reception area - we had to walk outside to get there. This was a disadvantage. Facilities are a bit limited in Les Eucherts and we drove 5 minutues to La Rosiere a couple of times to shop at a larger supermarket. We did go to the local ice rink to watch ice hockey, there is a bowling alley too. The apartment block has a spa with sauna and large jacuzzi, I tried it once and the rooms were not very warm.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicckM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Rosiere
0.3 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
7.9 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence La Marelle et Le Rami
0.1 mi away
Residence CGH les Cimes Blanches - La Rosiere 1850
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
L Accroche Coeur
L Accroche Coeur
#1 of 3 in La Rosiere
94 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Refuge
Le Refuge
#3 of 3 in La Rosiere
34 reviews
2.1 mi away
La ferme d'Angele
La ferme d'Angele
#1 of 7 in Seez
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Balcons de la Rosiere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Balcons de la Rosiere

Property: Les Balcons de la Rosiere
Address: Rue des Balcons | Les Eucherts, 73700 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Phone Number:
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 31 Specialty Lodging in La Rosiere
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Les Balcons de la Rosiere 4*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For a relaxed stay right on the resort, enjoy the subtle mix of traditionnal charm and modern comfort of this 8-chalet apartment complex. These spacious apartments can welcome up to 17 guests. The unique view on the Tarentaise valley is exceptional, along with a great sunshine exposure. Free and direct access to the Eucherts center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Les Balcons de la Rosiere reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Balcons De La Rosiere Hotel La Rosiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing