We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic host in Jordan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Les Chalets du Kandahar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Chalets du Kandahar
leeds
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic host in Jordan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

Accomodation is quite basic but warm and enough for us. A bit short of sufficient pillows. What really made this chalet for us was the excellent hosting by Jordan. He was top notch, supplying fab food and being very accommodating of our requests. Due to unfortunate circumstances he was working largely on his own and without a functioning dishwasher but he never lost his cool.
Sad it ended with a terrifying taxi journey down to Bourg St Maurice!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desfac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    16
    3
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Woken up by chalet hosts on their night out. Far too many chalet host buzzing around the chalet, you could have 5 at one time and they just seem to mess about a lot. As for the hosts Steve was really good but Kat wasn't great. Food was ropey. Beds small, room tiny. There wasn't enough room for everyone to sit down. 2 red sofas can get 5 people on the others use stools or the bench you sit on when eating.

The area is really nice and the snowboarding was superb. The chalet just wasn't that good.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2012

Just back from a 7 night stay- had a wonderful holiday! We hired the whole chalet, as we were a party of 12 and it worked brilliantly! The chalet host was most attentive and cooked some delicious meals! The freshly baked cakes each afternoon were a real treat! A lot of Crystal reps seemed to be popping in and out, which seemed strange to begin with. The chalet is next door to the 'Narnia' path, a particularly picturesque footpath into La Rosiere (about a 10 min walk). The chalet was always warm, no need for hot water bottles or fluffy slippers!!The ski slopes are at the bottom of the hill- the only downside, walking back up the hill after along day at ski school with young children. We hired sledges to help ferry boots and poles which helped a little! The kit we hired was first class- no need to take anything. Ski School with ESF was great, tutors were really helpful and encouraging, speaking fabulous English! All in all a fantastic resort, no complaints!! (Apart from the current state of the euro maybe.....!)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Ruthie93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
120 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2010

just got back from chalet stelvio part of the 4 chalets that make up this complex-lovely room and bathroom with fantastic view! very clean chalet with great host emily,who cooked us lovely food all week! hot tub and sauna were nice after long day skiing.
snow was so good we could skii in/out of chalet, otherwise it would have been 5 min walk downhill to lift. woodland walk to la rosiere passes outside and takes about 10 mins-really pretty walk through the trees. very friendly resort with no queueing at lifts or in ski shops! a real change from the bigger resorts, but just as much skiing! not as expensive as some of the larger reasorts and was great to be able to ski to la thuile in italy for lunch!
a great chalet in a great resort-would def recommend!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

Stayed in Le Hahnenkamm next door to Le KItz.. Great chalet,friendly and helpfull staff, nothing to much bother for them.. Chalet only 5 mins walk to chair lift, ski hire,shops and bars in Les Eucherts area and only 10 to 15 mins walk to La Rosiere...Les Eucherts quite quiet but has evrything you need. La Rosiere more lively with bars and shops....Chalet staff are very friendly, with plenty of home cooking, wine,coffee and tea..great value for money..Rooms are quite basic but clean and very warm..Room 4 is a nightmare, it is split level with a very steep ladder, not for the faint hearted. Apart from that everything else was spot on.. Deffinatly go back.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BevFife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2010

Was a lovely chalet and hosts Katy & Tash were great. Brochure says 5 minutes walk to the ski lift - in fact it takes 10 minutes with your ski boots on, carrying your skis and that is downhill! Bit of a trek back but we did find our way to ski through the woods at the back of the chalet because we had plenty of snow! La Rosiere is a 10-15 walk through the forest track which is pisted daily and there is a great bar with live music called Le Petit Boison - think the spelling is right. Chalet very warm, beds hard, plenty of hot water. Only storage is your wardrobe - but didn't bother us. They do need an extra sofa in the living area when the chalet is full. We had 11 guests and it was a tight squeeze round the dining table and we couldn't all relax on the sofas at the same time. We were a party of 4, there was a party of 5 and another couple - had a great laugh and it's a nice way to meet fellow skiers. Outside hot-tub was nice - jsut be careful no-one locks the door on the way back in as there is no outside handle! There is also a sauna which is nice for your aching muscles.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevieCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2009

We stayed at Chalet Kitz as on a TUI (Thomson, Crystal) package ski holiday. The chalet was clean, warm and comfortable with plenty of communal seating. Admittedly when all 12 of the guests were around, it was a little cramped around the dinner table, but in general there was plenty of space for the 3, 4, 5 or 6 people loafing around at any time.

It probably helped that there were 5 separate groups in the chalet (rather than one large group plus us) which meant that no-one felt that they "owned" the place. It also helped that everyone seemed to get on just fine.

We were staying in Room 6 (upstairs double with a bath and balcony) and in general the upstairs rooms are a little larger and had much more light. Our room was large, had very high ceilings (which enhanced the feeling of spaciousness) and the bathroom was large, clean and comfortable. Realistically, we couldn't ask for anything more.

Our chalet host (Philip) was excellent, organised, efficient and friendly. Every day he produced a fine breakfast (cereal, croissants, bread and up to 3 components of a "full English" - Wednesday was omlette day, the highlight of the breakfast week), afternoon tea and then a well executed and filling three course meal (though usually due to over-indulging on the main course, I couldn't make room for dessert). Everyone wanted Phil's recipe for bread and butter pudding. He even managed to produce delicious food for a vegetarian guest (we know because we got to try it too).

We forgot that the place had a sauna and hot-tub so forgot our swimming costumes, the other guests loved it.

The only possible complaint was that it was a 5 minute walk to the lifts (downhill) but we could have taken the bus. If you don't mind a little wanter through the trees you can (snow permitting) ski to within 10 feet of the boot room door.

Just outside the chalet is the woodland path that takes you to la Rosiere, it's pisted every night. The resort itself is quiet but has a couple of excellent restaurants we tried (Genepi, the Grange), a small ice skating rink (filled in an afternoon when it was too snowy to truly enjoy skiing) and a small but god selection of shops.

Overall:
- Excellent chalet
- Great resort
- Outstanding chalet host

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Don_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near La Rosiere
17.8 mi away
Chalet Matsuzaka Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Edelweiss
Hotel Edelweiss
#1 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Ancolies Hotel
Les Ancolies Hotel
#16 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Les Flocons
Les Flocons
#40 of 55 in Courchevel
4.0 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Courchevel Olympic Madame Vacances
0.8 mi away
Le Chabichou
Le Chabichou
#3 of 55 in Courchevel
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Chalets du Kandahar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Chalets du Kandahar

Property: Les Chalets du Kandahar
Address: Hameau des Proveres, 73120 La Rosiere, Montvalezan, France
Location: France > Auvergne-Rhone-Alpes > Savoie > Montvalezan > La Rosiere
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 Specialty Lodging in La Rosiere
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Les Chalets du Kandahar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chalet Le Kitz Hotel La Rosiere

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing