We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple cheap lodging, minimalist, also residential”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
City Residence Bry sur Marne
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We rented a single person and a family apartment on basis of cost and location's convenience on RER for both Paris and Disney. Both seemed well-designed, had kitchenettes and outdoor terraces and were clean and adequately though minimally furnished. On way back from Disney, locals were very shocked that we were disembarking at Bry-sur-Marne and wished us "Bonne chance!". It is only five minutes from the station, and there were five of us, but if I was traveling alone I may prefer a better location. I get the feeling this aparthotel is used for locals too, as temporary lodging (ie for the homeless or those recently discharged from institutions). I may be wrong, but thought you may want a heads-up if you are a cautious person.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HelenB116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 240 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2013

We booked this accommodation based on price and location for 2 adults and 4 children. It was competitively priced, and, as we only wanted to sleep somewhere whilst visiting Paris for the day, we weren't too concerned with facilities such as pools, bars etc.

To summarise:
Good Points:
1. It's an easy walk to the station and quick train ride into Paris (we paid approx. 11 euros for an adult ticket).
2. The accommodation was spacious (we booked the 7 bed accommodation).
3. The linen and towels were well laundered.

Bad Points:
1. On arrival, the outside of the residence was shoddy and unkempt.
2. At the outside of our flat, there were empty beer cans and sweets littering the pathway.
3. On entering the flat, the smell was awful - old cooking fat, curry, cigarettes and damp / sewerage.
4. The mattresses and beds were stained.
5. The dining table had 3 different sets of chairs, including an outside plastic patio chair. The table itself was filthy and hadn't been cleaned.
6. The kitchen was greasy and the fridge stained and dirty.
7. The floor was very dirty, and hadn't been swept properly, if at all, (I doubt it had been washed).
8 The walls in every room had stains on them as if liquids had been thrown against them.
9. The tiles in the downstairs toilet were revolting - I don't want to think about what caused the stains on them.
10. The en-suite to the bedroom downstairs was obviously suffering from a damp problem because the smell almost made it unusable (my matter of fact 7 year old said it smelt of poo).
11. The bed in the downstairs bedroom smelt of stale cigarettes.
12. The only place to sit down in the flat was around the dinner table, as the sofabed was used as a bed.
13. In the reception area, there was one rigid plastic sofa, which had a jagged hole running down all of one side, perfect for a small child to put their hand down....

The flat was very minimally furnished (one table lamp throughout the place, which meant that all the overhead lights had to be on constantly), which didn't bother us too much because we just wanted somewhere to sleep. The only way to have privacy was by putting down the outside steel shutters and closing the metal front door, which meant the flat couldn't be ventilated properly.

My husband did speak with reception, who said that they were fully booked so couldn't move us. We then spent at least an hour trying to find different accommodation, however we had no luck (the Paris marathon was on, amongst other things), so, in true holiday style we found a takeaway pizza place, ate with our fingers and drank out water out of bottles and pretended we were camping.

If the place had been clean, we wouldn't hesitate to go back, but a holiday is supposed to be enjoyable!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank igdm4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

dirty... disorganized... broken doors. My unit was entered by a stanger, but luckily we were in at that time. do not come here!!! . the reception was not around when in need. tried to call the contact number but no answer. towel is very small. no king size beds at all. smelly.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FreidK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We were in Paris for four nights. Well, before going I also read lots of bad reviews about it. For us two this aparthotel was more than ok. We got a studio for 2 people, with the small kitchen and a big bathroom. The kitchen got everything that we needed, fridge, plates, microwave... The room is nothing special but for eating and sleeping was perfect. The great thing about this hotel is the position - is cca 5 minutes walking from the RAR station, witch takes you to the whole Paris and Disneyland; is 5 minutes from the big supermarket, so you can buy everything that you need for breakfast and dinner. The only strange thing is the working time of the reception. You must arrive or after 4 pm, or you must arrange something from home (depends on the flight), because the front doors are closed and you need 2 codes to get in. And the tv is only in french, cabel also! But for me tv is not a problem,! On vacation you don`t need it! ;) To finish, for us was a great experience.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DorisV84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

we were 3 adult and 2 children for a visit to paris , we book city residence for 5 nights ,after reading all the misleading reviews we were very happy with the flat we got , very spacious all wjhat you need abig terrace nice beds and security ,
the place is 5 minutes walk to the RER station ,5 minutes to super market behind the petrol station , and 20 mn by train to city centre , its a value for money ,
please be aware of the opening and closing time of the reception contact them before you arrive at least 2 days ,
the accommodation is also close to disney land 20 mn .
the staff were good and helpful ,
if i go to paris again it will be the place

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank imad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

5 of us stayed here in a 6 person apartment. After reading the reviews I thought o dear! but it was actually a really nice place, we have two bedrooms and a sofa bed and they were all exceptionally clean, we had 3 balconies, a tv, a washing machine and a dishwasher! We were told we couldn't check in until 4pm but arrived at 1pm and they were more than happy to let us park (very secure underground car-park) and to put our bags in the room and have the key so we didnt need to rush back later. The staff were friendly also and the location is perfect, about 200meter walk to the station, and smack bang in the middle of the centre of paris and disneyland! Was brilliant for the cost!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jaydk_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

The 6 of us stayed here. Loved the neighbourhood. 15 mins walk to the train station. Quiet place. Chilled. I love it. We had 3 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms. Complete kitchen. The supermarket is just nearby, 15 mins walk as well. I love love love it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 5himaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bry-sur-Marne
0.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Marne la Vallee Bry sur Marne
1.1 mi away
B&B Hotel Noisy le Grand
B&B Hotel Noisy le Grand
#4 of 6 in Noisy-le-Grand
7 reviews
0.7 mi away
Novotel Marne La Vallee Noisy
Novotel Marne La Vallee Noisy
#2 of 6 in Noisy-le-Grand
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ibis Budget Saint Maurice
Ibis Budget Saint Maurice
#2 of 2 in Saint Maurice
257 reviews
1.8 mi away
Adagio Access Nogent-Sur-Marne
Adagio Access Nogent-Sur-Marne
#2 of 4 in Nogent-sur-Marne
93 reviews
1.6 mi away
Comfort Hotel Champigny sur Marne
Comfort Hotel Champigny sur Marn...
#1 of 2 in Champigny-sur-Marne
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Residence Bry sur Marne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Residence Bry sur Marne

Address: 80 avenue Georges Clemenceau, 94360 Bry-sur-Marne, France
Location: France > Ile-de-France > Val-de-Marne > Bry-sur-Marne
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Bry-sur-Marne
Price Range: $58 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — City Residence Bry sur Marne 2*
Number of rooms: 127
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Residence Bry sur Marne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Residence Bry Sur Marne Hotel Bry-Sur-Marne
City Residence Bry Sur Marne Bry-Sur-Marne, Val-De-Marne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing