We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and comfortable hotel”
Review of Hotel Rododendro

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Rododendro
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and comfortable hotel”
Reviewed March 24, 2011

Read previous reviews after booking our holiday and so had some concerns about what to expect. Our concerns were unfounded though
Our room was spacious, clean and comfortable. The food was fine and adequate, as expected of a 3* hotel - and the staff in the dining room were helpful and very friendly.
Location was very handy for the ski bus and for village ameneties
We enjoyed our stay here and in the resort.

Queue at cable car can get very long. Having breakfast a bit earlier and getting to cable car base soon after 8.30 opening will normally save you over an hours wait - Queue builds up soon after 9.00

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keenskiers36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    29
    16
    8
    17
See reviews for
27
33
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
521 reviews
176 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2011

My daughter and I have just had a very good week at The Rododendro, this is a 3 star family ran Italian hotel which offers all you need to enjoy a skiing holiday. The hotel was clean, comfortable and warm. The food was very good with an excellent vegetarian option, portions were large and the waitress could not have been more helpful, when my daughter was unwell she went out of her way to help. The ski bus stops outside but it is only a 5 minute walk to the centre of the town and 10 minutes to the lift. We were made very welcome and have no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norfolk
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

We actually stayed in the Annex (Garni Festil) across the road and found it clean, comfortable and everything you would expect for its star rating, fresh towels when needed, very clean and non smelly, extra pillows when required. Staff were very friendly, we overcame the language barrier with lots of smiles although their english was excellent in comparison to our italian. Food was no different to what you would get in any other country, buffet breakfast 'continental' style with the option of hot chocolate, cappucino amongst other things. Our evening meals (as we were staying on a half board basis) were taken over at the rododendro across the road, a stones throw away, the food was good quality with a good selection each evening. If you were vegetarian the option was limited as Italians don't understand vegetarian but they made the effort.

Our rep, Brenda, was great, very friendly, very cheerful and always available. Have her mobile number with you as you may need it even just for reassurance.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a place to sleep after a days skiing without any fuss, if you want five star pay for it.

Would also recommend getting the bus to Canazei in the mornings as shorter queues for the lift but you will have to learn to push and shove along with the best of them to get on as polite queueing does not exist in most of Europe. You can ski into Canazei at the end of the day, catch the road train and we recommend catching the bus home at the bottom of the gondala as easier to get on. The pick up for buses is outside the door of the hotel and delivery back is almost the same.

Lift system is exceptional, fast, reliable and top class, skiing awesome, totally out of this world, the orange sellaronda circuit is definitely worth trying if you are an average skier or above, and the mountain restaurants totally yummy.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wipeouts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We read reviews after booking this hotel and were horified to read about the unfriendly staff, bad food, smelly towels etc. But we could not change our accomodation at the last minute so went ahead with dread.
We found to our surprise that the hotel is in fact clean and tidy, the food was absolutely adequate and mostly very tasty and good, and all the bad reviews boiled down to petty gripes and unrealistic expectations for what is a budget hotel. (who really paid very much for this place?- we didn't!)
The staff were not always in evidence but approach any one of them with any request and they sorted you out quickly and gladly. We had no problems at all but we did see at least one grumpy guest standing for ever at the empty reception desk fuming at the 'lack of service'- however when we pointed out that he should approach the waitress in the dining room as we had earlier he stomped off disgruntled probably to vent his anger on this site about the poor quality etc! You get what you deserve and give this place a chance and it will reward you with a comfortable welcoming and relaxing stay. PS: get upearly and catch 8.08am bus to col rodella cable to beat the cues and ski cordury slopes on your own- BLISS!!! (wait till after 8.30am and join the hour long cue and frantic scramble just to get into the cable car)
Enjoy your stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank greencandlesticks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

I checked trip advisor before going to this hotel and was shocked to read previous reviews. Upon arrival we were pleasantly suprised. The hotal was warm, the food was fine and plenty of it. The staff were extremely helpful at all times. The rooms could do with a little updating but this is a 3 star hotel and it was clean and tidy. The whole family enjoyed our ski trip with Crystal and would recommend this to others as value for money.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickmcMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2010

This is a very friendly hotel! The staff are so helpful and kind ... my friend had a bad accident and was hospitalised from the first day and the staff looked after me so well and made sure that I had a good time despite my friend's problems. The food was excellent ... salad bar to start is is always a winner! The food was varied, beautifully presented and delicious! Everything about my holiday could have been disastrous but thanks to the hotel staff and the Crystal Rep, Brenda Gill, I managed to enjoy myself! Brenda was brilliant! Her language skills were invaluable when dealing with the medics and she was so kind and supportive, I can't speak highly enough of her ... thank you was barely enough! Val di Fassa is an amazing place to ski and I have never had anything but a great holiday with Crystal. Thank you to all at the hotel and Crystal Ski, especially Brenda.... you deserve all the praise i can give!

  • Stayed January 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank happyjeanDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamts
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here early Feb. 2010 travelled with Crystal. The rep was very chatty and seemed to have her favourites on the coach from airport to hotel. She did not explain any areas to us and although we have skied before . we needed some guidance. None was forthcoming and told us to come to see her at the welcome meeting the following day.( this was a sit down and chat again with her!)
We then spent the 1st day struggling on the slopes as most of the runs are reds and we found out that in Italy reds cover blue-reds, reds, and black reds. Nvertheless that evening she did explain some areas for us to try out. We did have a very good skiing holiday after that.
The Hotel itself is ok. The staff we thought were friendly. The 2 waitresses in the restaurant spoke basic English but always had a smile on their faces. My husband was disapointed in the breakfast and no one told us that we could ask for other things( boiled eggs etc) until we saw another English couple having them on the last morning. The breakfast consisted of the usual "continental " breakfast. - fine for me as I'm not a great eater in the mornings.
The evening meal was also ok. The pasta courses were generally better than the meat course. however i was disapointed not to have any olives with the salad.buffet. and the desert was fresh fruit, fruit salad ( tinned on 1 occasion) or a cake
The room , i agree with others was quite dingy. It definitly could do with better lighting and perhps new carpets. I also had the most lumpiest pillow ever! . It also came as a surprise to us that having paid extra for a balcony that you share this with the next room. This seemed to be a common theme in this area. However the amount of time that you spend in your room is so little that it was ok.( You get what you pay for !)
I also agree that the bar staff were very elusive. The lady behind the bar was always very friendly but often during happy hour of 3.30 to 4.30 there was nobody to serve you! Also the reception area is only where you hand your key up yourself. The only time we saw anyone behind the desk was the night of our arrival. We were also not told of the ski locker's whereaabouts.
We are just about to book another ski holiday next year but not going with Crystal. Inghams are far better. But we would visit the area again but would probably try a different hotel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adele99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Campitello di Fassa hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ladina
Hotel Ladina
#3 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Albergo Garni Defrancesco
Albergo Garni Defrancesco
#21 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
51 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ramon
Hotel Ramon
#16 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
Park Hotel & Club Diamant
#9 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
328 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Cesa Edelweiss
Albergo Cesa Edelweiss
#23 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
70 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Medil Campitello
Hotel Medil Campitello
#1 of 25 in Campitello di Fassa
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rododendro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rododendro

Property: Hotel Rododendro
Address: Strada Dolomites 45, 38031 Campitello di Fassa, Italy
Location: Italy > Trentino-Alto Adige > Province of Trento > Campitello di Fassa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 25 Hotels in Campitello di Fassa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Rododendro 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Rododendro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing