We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Accommodations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tudela
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodations”
Reviewed January 14, 2012

We stayed two nights in the AC Hotel in Tudela during our trip to Spain over the summer. The rooms were very clean and modern. The staff were all very friendly and knowledgable about the city of Tudela. All of the items in the minibar in the room were complimentary which was a shock as at other hotels a water bottle would be 5€. There were also complimentary drinks of many kinds in the lobby lounge area. I would highly recommend this hotel, it is a great choice.

However, their parking lot is very difficult to find but this is not uncommon because of the way these old Spanish cities have been built over the centuries. We drove in circles for 25 minutes before finally finding the hotel. Not really an issue once you find it as you won't forget if you're there for multiple nights.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ebrr13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    75
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
65
2
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I have stayed multiple times in this hotel, after trying lower cost (and yes...lower qualities alternatives in Tudela, Spain)

Tudela is one of the most populous cities between Barcelona and Pamplona in Spain, It sits next to the famous El Ebro river in Northern Spain, in what used to be the Kingdom of Navarra. Navarra was united to other kingdoms in Spain during the reign of Fernando de Aragon and Isabel from Castilla. Navarra is the province where the Basque Country is located. Previous to 1640's it extended in to Southern France, where part of the Basque country still exist.

AC Tudela is part of the AC Hotel chains in Spain. It used to be a convent, and is centrally located next to Tudela's City Hall, in the center of town. The outside of the building belies its medieval origin, although carefully restored by AC Hotels.

The interior of the hotel is modern, while keeping some reference to its medieval roots. Rooms are clean, modern and updated.

The staff is nothing but fantastic. Warm and helpful, in contrast to staff in places like Barcelona and Madrid. It must be the small town attitude, and general friendliness of Navarrans.

The mini bar is free and includes soft drinks (mini European style which is about 1/2 American sized portions), San Miguel beer (alcoholic and alcohol free), water and some flavored water. In The main lobby there is a refrigerator with free beer and sodas, as well as spirits on a shelf that include whiskey, Vodka, Brandy and even Cuban Rum, and selected small finger pastries, all free until 8:00 pm.

I saw some less than disciplined guest, taking advantage of the freebies after 8:00 pm
They were not reprimanded, but your stay in AC Tudela includes tolerance for boorish and inconsiderate guests.

The room service is affordable, fast and available 24 hrs for some items. This is not to be overlooked or minimized. The Spanish eating habits preclude lunch before 2:00 pm, or dinner before 8:00 pm. For those of us used to a different schedule, room service is a godsend. Pasta dishes are about 12 euros, or $16, depending on the exchange rate. Good news is that (unlike most restaurants in Tudela) AC Hotel Tudela, takes American Express in addition to the rest of ordinary credit cards. If you travel on business you know how convenient that is.

Rooms are somewhat small, but remember this used to be a convent in the Middle Ages, but well proportioned and comfy. TV is LED with remote and the bathroom is very modern (as most architectural details in Spain these days) with central AC. A Turkish robe is included in each room (not complimentary) and it is a welcomed luxury after a long day at work, or walking your Gluteus Maximus around town.

The A/C, unlike in US Hotels, is engineered for energy savings. You will have no fan function for sleeping with a soothing hum, and the controls are confusing. Use the CD/radio player in your room, and look for a frequency with static to get your white noise for the night. The power in the room is connected by inserting your room key into a card receptacle next to the entry door. If more than one person is traveling with you, and they stay in the room, it will be convenient to ask for a second key so that they can watch TV and enjoy A/C while you are out. This is a function of all Spain hotels I have been in, and while quirky, it is an efficient means of conserving energy. I do like this system.

The hotel restaurant opens at 7:00 am and serves a nice breakfast buffet of typical Navarran fare. Different cuts of hams, fruits and a variety of breads, and regular eggs/ham/sausage fare to satisfy European and American tastes.

As I had said previously, Spanish people have dinner starting at 8:00 pm. The hotel restaurant opens at 9:00 pm. The good news is that there are dozens of local fare restaurants within short walking distance from the hotel, where you can sample pinchos (small pieces of finger food in different meats and preparations) of all kinds, while sampling "Cañas" or small sized beer.

The hotel location, as the entire town of Tudela, is a safe place. My wife toured the entire town on her own while I was working, and found it friendly and fascinating.

There is a small, but well equipped gym that include sauna and showers with fresh towels. This is a nice room with a luxury feel.

Next to the AC Tudela (Remember...ex-convent) is a Catholic Church founded by St Francis of Assisi on the 14th century.

Yep...lots of history, medieval buildings and corridors next to the AC Tudela, as well as great food (Navarran specialty are local vegetables), midway between Pamplona (and the St Fermin bull runs) 4 hrs away, and Barcelona 4 1/2 hr away.

I really like this place, and recommend it to anyone staying in the central, north area of Spain. It is hours away from most important northern towns in Spain by car, and right next to France. Lourdes is about 5 hours away from Tudela.

The hotel rate is about 90-120 euros per day (depending on the dates) but I recommend not to get the 70 euro place. You get what you pay for, and just the closeness of the AC Tudela to town and the freebies, more than make up the price difference of the competition.

Room Tip: Book early, use company travel discount for extras
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank clirizarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Level Contributor
192 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2010

Lovely old building brought up to date in splendid fashion . Excellent bedrooms with lovely terrace . Excellent service . Ate here and the food was absolutely top notch too

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank horacebull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2008

What a great hotel. We arrived late on a Friday night for a wedding the following day. We were greeted and promptly checked in - no problems at all. We went to our rooms and pretty much went straight to bed. What we did get to check out was all of the free stuff in the room this included every bath amenity under the sun and a free minibar!
Waking the next day we went for breakfast upstairs which was very well prepared (despite the hotel only being 20% full) and there was no shortage of anything, when anything started to get warm in the hot section, it was prompty replaced.
The wedding reception was actually taking place in the hotel, after the ceremony in the local town hall we returned for appetizers and drinks before the main meal.
The meal itself was fantastic, 7 courses freshly prepared by the in-house chef (he has his own michelin starred restaurant in another town nearby) so we could not fault it really! After the dinner, dancing etc. continued in another of the big meeting spaces available in the hotel.
The following day we used the sauna and gym which although small and basic were new and in perfect working order.
All in all a fantastic stay, the building itself is wonderful and has been well preserved, the town of Tudela also is lovely. It is well known as being a migratory stop for Storks which rest majestically in their nests on-top of any building that they can find. They say that storks are a sign of virility so maybe Tudela was a good place for a couple to get married!

  • Liked — the fact that everything seemed to be free, friendly staff
  • Disliked — room service was 'simple', a bit noisy at night (from surrounding streets)
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank rhuk02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed April 4, 2005

I have stayed several times in this hotel and is perfect. Very good rooms, big bathroom, etc.
And have FREE bar!

  • Stayed November 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tudela
0.6 mi away
Hotel Tudela Bardenas
1.7 mi away
Hotel Bed4U Tudela
Hotel Bed4U Tudela
#1 of 6 in Tudela
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Santamaria
Hotel Santamaria
#3 of 6 in Tudela
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delta Tudela
Hotel Delta Tudela
#6 of 6 in Tudela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Torre Monreal
Hotel Torre Monreal
#5 of 6 in Tudela
3.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
4.6 mi away
RuralSuite Hotel - Apartamentos
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela

Property: AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela
Address: Calle Misericordia S/N, 31500 Tudela, Spain
Phone Number:
Location: Spain > Navarra > Tudela
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Tudela
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Marriott, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your AC Hotel Ciudad de Tudela reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ac Hotels Tudela
AC Hotel Ciudad De Tudela Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing