We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisas Del Yaque II = Good value”

Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brisas Del Yaque II = Good value”
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Brisas Del Yaque TWO. It totally met our needs and was conveniently located, had free wi-fi, and had clean rooms. I wish they had provided shampoo (I lost mine), but if that's the only thing I didn't like, that's not bad at all.

Room Tip: Ask for the parking lot side--it's less noisy than the mountain view side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank erinehaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    5
    2
    3
See reviews for
4
14
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa II in January 2012 for one night. We had not intended to stay in the town at all and had only gone to the town for the late afternoon, but there was a bus accident and lots of traffic on the road going to the town so as it was already late, looked for a place to stay and found this hotel. The place is well made, perfectly maintained and clean. We had a shower only, double bed, fridge, TV, a basic hotel. There were traffic sounds and loud music coming from somewhere initially but later in the evening we heard only soft music. There was a funny buzzing noise coming from, I think, the outside lights above each room window which I could hear from inside the room. There is wifi in the hotel lobby. After we went to bed, there were loud sirens and honking and voices on the streets for some reason that went on for about 1/2 hour. No fault of the hotel, but perhaps it is located near some bar? We left very very early in the morning and wanted to use the sitting area in the lobby to check the accident situation on our laptop, but the night staff person was sleeping in there with a blanket and the lights off, so we stood up in order to use our laptop by the door instead. At check-in we were asked if we wanted to pay for breakfast and have that included in the price, and said yes, which was at the restaurant next door, but when we went there for dinner and happened to mention it, the waitress said they were not open for breakfast the next morning, so we got our money back at the hotel. The hotel was not in an attractive part of town, but it was clean, and the price was right. So all in all, we were pleased.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MardipleuToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

we stayed for a few nights in this hotel (no 1 I suppose - the one near from bus station/stop) and used it as a base to explore the area. the hotel was not too expensive.
The hotel staff spoke English and were able to help a local that we used as a tour guide for the next days and hiking Pico Duarte (beware of those walking up to you in a street and offering themselves as guides). The last morning though we needed to leave ~5-6am for a bus and were told that there would be somebody to let us out. Instead, no one at the reception, entrance door closed, and we were running like mad all around the hotel to find either a staff member or a fire exit that we can use. Managed to find the guy asleep in basement and woke him up :)).
The rooms are good, clean, the fridge was a plus (we used to buy the delicious and fresh fruits in the market for breakfast- and managed to find a shop selling knives).
We could not access the wi-fi though (in the town little park there were free wi-fi signs as well but we could not connect either).
The most disturbing factor was though the... rooster next door. We chose the room with a mountain view and a balcony and thus got a live alarm that went on starting from ~5am, with an interval of ~30 mins. When we complained to the hotel staff, they said that the guests staying on the other (street) side were complaining about the chihuahua-like dog next door :)). IMO, the one night we spent in a room with street view was more quiet.

Nonetheless, I am giving 4 stars, as the hotel is in a great base for exploring Jarabacoa, and visiting towns like Jarabocoa, you just have to be prepared for adventures and have an open mind and positive attitude. We had a great time there; the market with fruits was great, the people in town were friendly, less hawkers than in pure touristic areas. When a shoe broke, we found a shoemaker and they fixed the shoe in 5 minutes not taking any money (- which was a great surprise, as generally in DR they are keen on getting your money in whatever way). Visiting the coffee factory was cool. Hiking Pico Duarte and visiting the waterfalls was great. Jarabacoa raises a smile on my face when I remember the time there.

Room Tip: choose between rooster on mountain side and dog in the street side :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilse_celo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york, new york
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

First of all, there are TWO Hotel Brisas Del Yaques in Jarabacoa... I stayed in Number One. Not sure how Number Two is. Number One did NOT have Wifi. It was also across the street from a place where they slaughtered pigs. Their tortured squeals were disturbing to say the least. That said, the room was nice and not too expensive. The staff didn't speak any English at all so make sure your Spanish is up to the task.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drewturnman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2011

Brisas del Yaque
This city center hotel is clean, efficient, great internet, and has a very friendly helpful Reception staff. Hotel offers free delicious coffee in the lobby although it does not offer breakfast but there is a small café across the street which was fine. We had a kingbed room, quiet, and were very comfortable for our two nights there. The lighting in the room is not that great . Also located within a short distance from the Caribe Tours Bus depot. The town is very noisy and chaotic but we had moved here after a bad experience at the Rancho Olivier

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristinaSarasota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2010

My wife and I stayed here (actually, it was the Brisas Del Yaque 2, which is a couple of blocks away from the original) for two nights as part of our “backpacking honeymoon”, after spending a week with family and friends at a Punta Cana resort. We had reserved 3 nights at the Hotel Gran Jimenoa but checked out after one night because we found it boring, expensive, and isoloated (almost nobody else was staying there…it was dead). The Brisas Del Yaque on the other hand is right in the centre of town and is cheap, clean, and comfortable. The staff were nice about answering a couple of questions and reserving taxis for us. I don't think they spoke any English, but thats not a big deal even if you don't speak any Spanish. We were very pleased with our decision to move there.

If you’re in Jarabacoa on the weekend (including Sunday night) definitely spend at least one evening hanging and drinking with the locals by the centre square. Oh, and it’s a good idea to come to Jarabacoa with enough cash…we had some trouble with the local ATMs and ended up having to cash in some of the US currency we had.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Daveyboy613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port-au-Prince
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2009

Stayed at this hotel two nights. The staff was very friendly and helpful. My friend speaks Spanish so I'm not sure whether staff speaks English or not. Good shower and water pressure. Nice to have a fridge in the room. The is not restaurant/kitchen in the place, so when we bought some mangos we were unsuccessful in finding a knife.

The last reviewer wrote of mice. We think there were bats - when sitting outside on the balcony at night we saw lots of bats and we did see droppings on the balcony the next morning. Nothing inside.

It really is very clean and I didn't detect a rodent problem otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TiMarieHaiti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
#2 of 5 in Jarabacoa
253 reviews
10.0 mi away
El Rey
El Rey
#1 of 2 in La Vega
30 reviews
2.6 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#1 of 9 in Jarabacoa
147 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 9 in Jarabacoa
117 reviews
1.3 mi away
Rancho Tierra Alta
Rancho Tierra Alta
#6 of 9 in Jarabacoa
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa

Property: Hotel Brisas Del Yaque Jarabacoa
Address: Ave. Luperon | Jarabacoa, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Number of rooms: 49

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing