We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun white water rafting!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rancho Baiguate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Rancho Baiguate
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun white water rafting!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

FUN!!!! This was my first white water rafting experience and I Loved it!!! The guide was nice and made the whole experience exciting!
We stayed one night at Rancho Biguate and did the horseback riding in the mountains. Beautiful. Small horses!
I definitely recommend the white water rafting. Don't miss it!!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kimberly_vaca4life
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    34
    16
    3
    0
See reviews for
23
28
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a mixed experience at Rancho Baiguate. Jarabacoa has a wonderful setting, and the hotel grounds are really lovely. The rooms are clean though fairly basic for the price. When we were at the hotel, it rained pretty much 24/7, and the room felt quite damp.

Food was plenty, though nothing special, and service was uneven, with some staff quite friendly and helpful, others less so.

The surrounding area is quite nice to explore, though the hike we booked through the hotel to the two nearby waterfalls was disappointing in that it basically consisted of walking on the side of the Jarabacoa and Constanza.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanan75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiguate, General Manager at Rancho Baiguate, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Thank You very much for your comment. We at Rancho Baiguate take our guests reviews very seriously. You are our most important asset when it comes to improving our services.

We have started a mayor renovation project to take the rooms to higher standards.

Addressing the hike to the waterfalls we always try to develop trails that involve contact with nature. Because the waterfalls have so much visitors the trails leading to them have been converted into roads.

I regret any inconvenience and thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

What a great resort. Beautiful surroundings, wonderful staff and a great location. We came with our two young children and there is tons to do. Pool table, table tennis, playground, fishing, horseback riding, animals, a swimming pool. The grounds are well kept and beautiful. The staff is hear to help with anything. 3 meals a dayareincluded in the room price, an amazing deal. Opt for the bigger, delux rooms as they are worth the extra money. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler00755
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lugano, Switzerland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

What a disappointment after choosing in base of Lonely Planet's top choice pick.
My comments are always based on the price. If I pay little I don't expect the sky.
In Rancho Baiguate unfortunately the price is of a 4 star hotel, when in my opinion 2 stars would be adequate.
Food is mediocre and repetitive. Dessert always the same. The whole place, including the grounds are not well maintained.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gugi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baiguate, General Manager at Rancho Baiguate, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
We are very sorry for your inconveniences, that is not the type of experiences that we want our guest to have here at Rancho Baiguate.

We are happy to announce that in the beginning of 2013 we started a renovation project that includes both dinning and hotel grounds.

Rancho Baiguate takes great interest in what our guest have to say, it is the only way to make sure that the decisions we take are in tune with what our clients really want.

So we ask if you have any recommendations please send an email to omar@ranchobaiguate.com

have a nice day and again we thank you for the feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I had a great time here! They have a range of activities such as trekking, horseback riding and rafting. I was able to do the rafting which was a first for me. Although I was scared I had a great time! Thanks Wilson!! The staff was very friendly and the prices were reasonable. The food was also good too. I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marquia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

ABSOLUTELY Amazing time here!! The property was great and the staff was very friendly and beautiful (literally). They served us breakfast & lunch, and they seemed to have a lot of activity options for all. The options our group chose from were White Water Rafting, Mountain Biking, Hiking, & Horseback Riding. Since we spent the day there we all got to choose 2 options. Everyone agreed on Horseback Riding in the afternoon which left the other 3 for the morning.

I chose to do White Water Rafting, which I HIGHLY recommend. This was my first ever experience with this "Extreme" sport so I was very nervous. The staff/guides were very knowledgeable and kept our safety a priority. Our guide Wilson was THE BEST! Had our raft running like a well oiled machine, like we had been doing it for years! (Okay maybe months)..but nonetheless he kept us safe and entertained.

They do have other activities that we noticed like an obstacle course and what looked like zip-lining. So definitely someting for everybody. We even met someone that was actually lodging there, so that is also an option.

The entire day there was also very cost effective. We got breakfast, lunch, & 2 activities for less than $60. Definitely recommend bringing a little extra to tip your staff. They work hard.

If looking for good team building activities or just a fun adventure definitely plan to visit Rancho Baiguate.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronx, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

My team and I planned a day of activities for the Nomadness Travel Tribe. On a day trip from Santo Domingo, to Jarabacoa, thirteen of us were able to enjoy a mix of mountain biking, trekking, river rafting, and horseback riding to a waterfall. It was AMAZING and intense!! Play attention, listen to your guides, and everything will be great and everyone will be safe. We loved it here! Our guides were attentive, and attractive! Thanks to Wilson fr making sure the river rafting crew was ok.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Evierobbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
2.3 mi away
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
#1 of 5 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
9.9 mi away
El Rey
El Rey
#1 of 2 in La Vega
4.0 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
2.7 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#2 of 9 in Jarabacoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
5.5 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
2.0 mi away
Rancho Tierra Alta
Rancho Tierra Alta
#8 of 9 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rancho Baiguate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rancho Baiguate

Property: Rancho Baiguate
Address: La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Specialty Lodging in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Rancho Baiguate 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rancho Baiguate has 27 rooms to accommodate its visitors, 8 small rooms with two twin beds, 8 standard roooms with two queen beds and 10 masters rooms with two queen beds and balcony. Staying at Rancho Baiguate you are right at the center of the Baiguate Adventure Center from where we start tours such as river rafting, horse back riding, waterfall walks and canyoning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Rancho Baiguate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing