We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding at Gran Jimenoa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Melville, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wedding at Gran Jimenoa”
Reviewed March 19, 2014

I just returned from a wedding that was held at Hotel Gran Jimenoa. I stayed for one night at the hotel. The wedding itself was spectacular! The food and service were excellent! The room we stayed in was comfortable, but I found the lighting was very poor. One bulb was out and the wattage in the remaining bulbs seemed inadequate to light the room well enough. They only gave us oone towel for two people and when I asked for another they said they were being dried at would bring another but we never got one. I'm sorry I didn't get a room facing the river. I would recommend spending the extra money and getting the upgrade to a river front room. Breakfast the following morning was very good and plentiful. The restaurant was on the river and it was a beautiful experience eating with the river running just below you. Overall the stay was very pleasant and I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Get a river front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gilma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Gilma,

We appreciate your comments and are so happy you had a great stay at our hotel. We value your comments and are truly sorry for any inconvenience you had with the light and towel at the hotel. Please on your next stay contact the manager directly so we could make it up to you.

We look foward seeing you again.

Thank You,

The Hotel Gran Jimenoa's family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    106
    35
    14
    11
See reviews for
59
96
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014

I stayed in Jarabacoa for two nights, and after staying the first night in the more 'busy' centre (Hotel Brisas del Yaque II), I decided to scale up a bit for 570 pesos more (2250 for one person, one night, room 212, officially not a riverside room, but I could hear/see it :) ). The hotel is fairly big, and I can imagine that when it's fully booked, it looses its main advantage, the nice and tranquil location in a green and lush environment next to the beautiful Jimenoa stream. The garden and the building also looked nice, I had the swimming pool and the river to myself (the jacuzzi was not working) and the staff were really friendly and helpful. One downside was the wifi however, as it was only available in the lobby and at a very low speed. The breakfast was included, which is a pretty good deal as you can choose anything à la carte, from mashed potatoes to pancakes and sandwiches, with coffee/juice, even hot chocolate (nice on a rainy morning). Great spot to get away from it all!

Room Tip: 212 is a cheaper room but looks out over the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fishworkss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Lovaina,

We appreciate your comments and are very happy you decided to come to us. It is such a tranquil and relaxing stay that sometimes not even the internet is necessary, either way we apologize for the inconvinience you had with the wifi, we are taking hands on it to make the reception much better.

We hope to see you soon again and once again thank you for your stay.

Sincerely,

The Hotel Gran Jimenoa family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, great staff good size rooms clean and well secure. Food is ok but should have more variety. Perfect for relaxation. Tv's need upgrade and some better light in the bathroom. Also need to get rid of some of the plastic pillows.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lya809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Lya,

Thank you for providing us with your feedback, we appreciate your comments. Regarding your suggestions, we've been working on refurnishing our rooms with new pillows and new TVs. On your next stay make sure to ask for these rooms, we hope you had a great stay.

Looking forward meeting you again,

Sincerely,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa's family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
108 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

I stayed in the standard room. The basic needs were meet. But we were not very impressed. But nicer rooms are available for an additional price.
The Yaque del Norte River next to the hotel was anice addition.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobedla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We apprecciate you taking the time to write us a comments. We are sorry you were not impressed by our facilities, i hope next time you could stay in a better room. Either way we will into consideration your review.

Hope to see you soon.

Thank you,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

The location of this hotel is absolutely gorgeous. This hotel is built beautifully and skillfully along the river so that it feels "one" with the surroundings. It was so peaceful to sit in the outdoor restaurant and listen to the rushing water.

Constructive criticism is that the common areas in the hotel were well cared for and clean. But our room felt a bit out dated and dirty. Probably still good standards for the DR but a contrast from the beauty of the common areas. The shower in one of our rooms had been updated and modernized but the bathroom in our other room was pretty outdated. Also we did not have hot water. (Probably common in the DR). We had 3 people staying in one of our rooms and only 2 towels had been provided. We walked down to the front desk (the only place with Wifi) and requested more towels. We were told that they would bring some up to our room but none were delivered.

Despite my remarks above we did feel the hotel was a good value in a gorgeous location and would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OutdoorGirlNurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am sorry you received service that was less than satisfactory. Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is. Despise of your great critism we appreciate you had a good time.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Terrenas, Samana, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Went with friends on a 3 day get away. Very impressed with this nature lovers paradise. Opening the bedroom door to the rapid running water was superb. Breakfast is great but I would suggest going some place else for dinner.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Angela,

We apprecciate your stay and leaving us a review. We are happy you had a good time and were able to enjoy the beauty of nature. As of the dinner we are sorry fo any inconvinience you've had, I would like to know what problems you experienced with dinner so we could better assist you next time.

Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago de los Caballeros, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I enjoyed playing pool and table tennis with my family. The pool was very cold, but we still manage to spend some time there. The river is beautiful and love the tree in the middle of the restaurant, which I found original. The breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: The room 201 is very close to the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank morales2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Dear Morales,

Thank you for your stay and leaving us a review. We are happy to know that you had a good time with your family. We hope to see you soon and hopefully during the summer so you could experience a better stay at the pool.

Sincerely,

The family of the Hotel Gran Jimenoa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Jarabacoa
8.6 mi away
El Rey
El Rey
#1 of 2 in La Vega
30 reviews
21.2 mi away
Hotel Platino
Hotel Platino
#4 of 9 in Santiago de los Caballeros
169 reviews
4.0 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#2 of 9 in Jarabacoa
137 reviews
3.9 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
1.9 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 9 in Jarabacoa
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gran Jimenoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Property: Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Address: Av La Confluencia | Los Corralitos, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gran Jimenoa 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only eight minutes away from the town of Jarabacoa, surrounded by a spectacular natural environment with a magic mountain landscape of the river Jimenoa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gran Jimenoa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gran Jimenoa Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing