We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Nearby Hotels
$78
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Celeste Estate(Jarabacoa)(Great Value!)
$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel(Jarabacoa)(Great Value!)
$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rancho Tierra Alta(Jarabacoa)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Rancho Ruisenor(Jarabacoa)
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
84
120
47
15
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
84
120
47
15
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riverbeautiful locationnice pooldominican republicrushing waterhotel locationhot watera pool view roombreakfast was includedcity lifehotel is greata great place to relaxromantic getawayjimenoasoundrapidsdr
Filter
Updating list...
112 - 117 of 279 reviews
Reviewed December 11, 2012

very clean, very private place, nice to be with a love one. Our room view was excellent. I could see and hear the river running behind the hotel...the food was good. Breakfast was not that wowing, but was ok. I went on thangsgiving 2012 and there were some renovations going on, but overall, I like it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luciano T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Luciano

On behalf of our hotel we will like to thank you for your feedback and we are happy for your romantic stay. We apologize for not fulfilling your expectations with breakfast. We are currently working on expanding our variety of food during the buffet.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We encourage you to visit again and give us some new thoughts of it since it has changed a lot since then.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

It is near the city, but surrounding places are no the very cool. Service could be better. But it is a nice Hotel. The type of building it is not the most ideal. Place is so quiet and near the Jarabacoa city and has a river in it´s facilities.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonardo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Leonardo

Thank you for your feedback. We apologize for any inconvenient you could have had with our staff; we try our best to keep our services to the highest standards. We will definitely take into consideration your review.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

We encourage you to visit us once again since all of our buildings have been updated.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I just stayed a night while on business in Jarabacoa. The surroundings, right on the river, were beautiful and pleasant, especially for eating on the restaurant terrace. The room was comfortable. Mine faced the river and I found the ever present sound of the river soothing, while others might be bothered by it (think sound of AC fan in background all the time). A few flaws, though, like unfinished sconce lighting in the room leaving bare wires sticking out of the wall. Simple, clean accomodations. Nice bathroom.
Biggest shortcoming was the delay in opening the restaurant for breakfast, not an uncommon occurrence I was told by others that had stayed there before. Nominally ready to seve at 7:30, it was more like 8:30. Good thing we had time before our morning meeting.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
Thank Tom_and_Consuelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Guests

We appreciate your time to write this review and we truly apologize for the inconveniences occurred. We try to keep our housekeeping to the highest standards, so we are not sure why this happened. Rooms are daily checked and are supposed to be reported. We have worked since then, in fact today there was another person assigned to check every room and detailed every flaw they had.

On behalf of the delay of the opening for breakfast we are truly sorry and will definitely take consideration into it.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
We hope you will return to receive the best attentions.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

It is a great place to stay on a budget. Rooms were average, not recommended to stay in them, but comfortable enough to sleep well. TV are old sets but manageable, food is ok. I would recommended only to sleep and enjoy nature, as a peaceful environment. If you are visiting the town unless you have transportation to it, it won't work, since its is set in the suburban area.

Room Tip: The ones with views to the river so you get to enjoy waking up and contemplate nature and the sound of it, or relax at the balcony at night...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kya S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Kya

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding our hotel. I am disappointed that your stay was not all that it could have been.

I am sorry to hear that our rooms did not complete your expectations. We are currently working to upgrade all of our rooms and regarding your comments on our TV settings some of our guests rooms have plasmas. Certainly our plan is to get plasmas on all of them in the shortest period of time.

We apologize for not being able to respond your comments earlier. We were facing some problems within this area but it has been fixed. We now count with qualified personnel to respond your reviews immediately.

Hopefully if you return to us, you will be able to have a more comfortable stay.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2012

im mostly a budget traveler who prefers staying in hostels..or guest houses..rather than expensive hotels or resorts..and i enjoy being in areas less frequented by tourist ..i decided to check out the mountain region after spending kind of a stressfull week in cabartete..i found this hotel in lonely planet..and i can not say enough good about it! was incredibly beautiful,right on a magnificent river! the smell of tropical flowers everywhere! very good service..very freindly.and great breakfast!!.located outside of town,its a very peacefull and relaxing place to get away.and if traveling either by yourself or with a companion,well worth spending a little extra cash for the experince..jarabacoa is by far my favorite place i visited on my month long travel in the D.R.!! people are so freindly and kind! many amazing things to see and do.. hiking,a trip to the falls..try monchy adventure guides..(monchyadventureguide.com)...u will not find a cooler guide..!!

Room Tip: ask for a room with a veiw of the river,if avaiable..but all the rooms are nice..looking out at the gardens or pool area..but if you stay here u probably wont want to stay in your room,too many beautiful things to see outside!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GRANJIMENOA, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Gran Jimenoa, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Dear Izzy

Thank you for taking a time to review our hotel. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our goal is to exceed all of our guests’ expectations. We appreciate your positive comments; they are always the motor of our improvements.

We are sorry for the delay of our responses but we certainly took care of all your reviews and apply them to the respective areas. Even though it’s a late response we appreciate your time to make the review valuable for us. Currently we had a person hired to respond to all of our guests on time.
Hopefully you could visit us again.

Best regards,
Hotel Gran Jimenoa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews