We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay in the mountains - truly Mi Vista” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mi Vista Mountain Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Jarabacoa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mi Vista Mountain Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Jarabacoa B&B and Inns
Jersey City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay in the mountains - truly Mi Vista”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were 5 friends traveling for a week to DR. we stayed at Mi Vista for 3 nights and had a great time. Its definitely not your luxury resort but if you want to experience nature and rustic Jarabacoa this is the place to be. Everything here works on Island time so coming from big city with super convenience it is a little hard at first but brings out true essence of the place.
The accommodations are simple, but comfortable. Angel's (owner) wife home cooked local food was one of the best meals we had on the trip.Most of the produce is grown on the property itself.
Angel drove us to a few of the waterfalls in the vicinity and also to local grocery store to pick up provisions.
The resort makes is a great experience for those looking for an nature and eco environment.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mitch_Pinto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    7
    1
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
17
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

If you are looking for the mountain version of Punta Cana's resorts, you will very disappointed. If what you're looking for a place with some privacy, very cozy environment, and very fair cost-benefit, this is the place. Had been there twice and loved it. Was looking for something that wouldn't be crowded, and was surprised by the informality atmosphere that the owners try to create, by not having pre established menus but rather, having you telling them what you wish to have (if you happen to being cook, the kitchen would be available for you to show your moves).
Very simple in many aspects but the whole set up was an unexpectedly pleasant surprise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reggie-da-Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

What a disappointment...after choosing it based on tripadvisor's top choice pick...definitely not recommending this hotel. The managers should be more honest and not call it a resort, because it is so far from being a resort. No wonder this place is for sale.
The view of the green area looks nice and great view of the valley, but the blankets and towels are very old. No reception office and once you enter the room and see what they offer, you do not know whether to laugh or cry. (Honestly, they should post in the website photos of inside the bedroom.) The person who received us (Magalis) was very disoriented and the manager (Papo) was very friendly but horrible as a manager with an excuse for everything. This is perfect for people who do not have high expectations and quality standards. Visit other choices in the area....in my opinion this hotel should be used only in case of an extreme emergency. The hotel's road is bad, but if you want to stay, make sure to explore different hotels options and to look for some information about tours and eco-activities available in this area. Good luck!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank acqua m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

We (Wife, Mother/Father in-law) stayed at Mi Vista for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. The accommodations are simple, but comfortable. We had the pleasure to taste the local food and to explore the area. As others had mention, the place is located about 5 minutes from the town's center where we go for supplies and pizza.

The hosts were very accommodating and they went the extra mile to make our stay a comfortable experience. The resort makes it a great experience for those of us looking for an ecological environment, if you're looking for air conditioned rooms, micro waves, you may look for another option. For us, we enjoy nature, home cook meals and nature.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jose P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2013

There are alot of deficiencies with this so-called "resort"....

We booked 8 nights here based on the past reviews and was intrigued by how gracious the husband-wife hosts were. Before we arrived, I emailed Angel on a couple of housekeeping details, e.g., address, cancellation policy, which he never responded to (after the booking, btw). When we arrived after asking locals for directions (since the resort's website didn't have an address), we discovered it nestled in a neighborhood with houses playing loud music and rooting roosters at midday. The wife, Magaly, was in the kitchen and greeted us by giving us the key and telling us where to find our shack, instead of personally showing us where it was. We checked out the shack/room... no hot water, no wifi anywhere onsite (even though the website says there's wifi), no table or chairs. And the best view as at the main building/kitchen/dirty pool, which was perched on the highest point of the place; all the guest rooms were downslope adjacent to, and looking out at, the surrounding neighbors' houses and yards. So after waiting for Angel to stop by and to give various reasons for these deficiencies, we told him we can't stay there and to cancel the 8 nights (we arrived an hour before check-in time) and he appeared to understand our concerns and didn't object. As of writing this review, I've yet to receive a refund of the pre-pay booking for the nights we didn't stay. It's apparent that Angel and Magaly are the only ones running the place.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ABQTriGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

We were very lucky to find Mi Vista while doing some last minute research on the way to Jarabacoa. The place is absolutely beautiful, nestled high in the mountains with a large territory for you to explore, comfortable bungalows, a pool, and a dining area. The food was great and Angel took us on a tour to several waterfalls and into town. I only wish we could have stayed a few extra days to take in the beauty of Jarabacoa.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ilya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge, TN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2012

We stayed here one weekend in April for a little family getaway (we were living in Santiago at the time). Even though we took public transportation, Angel came to get us at the bus stop. It was pouring rain for two days straight, but it was so beautiful up there in the cabins that you didn't need to go anywhere else. The rooms were clean and the food was great--I also now have recipes from Maygali. Only a couple of suggestions: bring bug repellent and a mosquito net with some way to hang it. Not that the bugs are awful, it's just that they are ever present in the DR. On a sunny weekend, this place is great!

Room Tip: The cabin next to the clubhouse is the closest to the food LOL
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilismama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jarabacoa hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
#1 of 5 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
3.6 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
1.5 mi away
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
#2 of 9 in Jarabacoa
5.0 of 5 bubbles 135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 9 in Jarabacoa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
0.9 mi away
Rancho Tierra Alta
Rancho Tierra Alta
#8 of 9 in Jarabacoa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mi Vista Mountain Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mi Vista Mountain Resort

Property: Mi Vista Mountain Resort
Address: Calle La Confluencia, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Jarabacoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing