We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2012

From the moment we arrived Molly and Rodolfo took good care of us. They even brought over a few toys that our three year old could play with. The house was very clean, well decorated, and has really good wifi. Since the house is about a 5 min drive from town, you will need a taxi most time, but that only costs about $3 US. Jarabacoa is great town. Mountain views, good restaurants, nice facilities for kids. but the accommodations really helped to make this trip for us.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank worldwidework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 148 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Molly and Rodolfo's 'hostel' is so much more than the name implies. It is really a very secure four-bedroom, two-bathroom house set on a quiet side road with a mountain view. There are only five houses within eyesight - the rest is serene nature. Your hosts live two doors down, but they give you all the space you desire.

The house has a full kitchen, a large dining area and a large living room. Fresh water and coffee greet you on arrival. Outside the front door is a large lounging area and another dining set, all covered from rain. We spent several nights hanging out there.

Molly is American-born, and fluent in English and Spanish, and her desire to keep the guests happy knows no bounds - beginning with her lists of 'local interests' and 'important numbers' in each room. Rodolfo is Dominican, and he more than makes up for his lack of English with his quick smile and interest in making your stay as pleasant as possible. If possible, he will pick you up at the bus station - to get you oriented immediately.

The house is about 1.5 mi (2.4 km) east of the core of the town - small bars, restaurants, supermercados, clothing stores, separate meat/fish and vegetable markets, Dominican fast food, a small gym, a modern spinning gym, a tree-lined square, etc. I enjoyed the walk once or twice a day, but you can always taxi for RD$100 (US$2.50 / E$2.00), or for half that amount on a moto concho (a small motorcycle taxi which is not for the feint of heart). Half that trip is dirt road, which was messy during the rain, but I still had no issue walking it every day.

You can walk around the center of Jarabacoa in 20-30 minutes (about 8 square blocks), making you feel at home immediately. The people are amazing, friendly and a bit shy overall. Since you are far from the beach, there are no pirates, prostitutes or vendors. Except for the sweet shoe-shine kids (show your coins first - RD$10-15 is plenty), you will never be solicited for money. You are never more than a 5-10 minute walk to a taxi stand, you can flag a moto concho every 2 minutes, or you can make the scenic 20-minute walk back to your home away from home.

On the weekend nights you can frequent one of the little bars around town. As with many DR towns and cities, Sunday night is often an enmass party around the square and the two Colmados (convenience/alcohol stores) facing it, complete with booming Merengue Tipico music reminiscent of the Creole and Cajun sounds of Louisiana and Acadian Nova Scotia. Dancing on the streets is not uncommon. Dress to impress.

I loved Jarabacoa, and the best hosts I've encountered in 30 countries. I will be back to this lovely town and to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel. This time I want to see all the sites - including climbing the waterfalls, paragliding the local mountain, white water rafting, and eating at the amazing Monestary 6 km away (Monasterio Santa Maria del Evangelio).

Room Tip: The house is complete with ceiling and portable fans. No A/C is required in the mountain air of Jar...
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EmmersonD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

Great place, highly recommended! We were a large group of 7 friends, and Molly and Rodolfo helped us have a great stay. Quiet, comfortable and clean. The only hiccup was that the water ran out for a few hours but the family quickly came to the rescue, allowing us to bathe in their home after a muddy hike. Great place and such a great value!

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josephine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Clean and homey place to stay in lovely Jarabacoa. Molly Ann and Rodolfo are charming and helpful. Location is not central, must keep in mind if not driving...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horacio18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Molly and Rudy made us all feel very welcome. Our family had a wonderful time! The home was very roomy and slept all 9 of us comfortably. My dad was able to make it out in service and to a meeting with the Spanish congregation. The beds were very great and very warm.

Room Tip: Avoid New Years in the Dominican Republic, it gets quite loud and stays loud until about 2am
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

we spent one night at this very nicely decorated hostel. service was fantastic. the mangers very flexible and helpful. spotlessly clean. comfortable beds. it was a delightful experience. we hope to go again and rent the whole house for a group outing. On the direction to find it watch for a road that has high cement columns and metal gates that are open. enjoy! we did.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you want and they will do everything they can to accomodate you
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardgh z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I traveled on my own in April 2011 throughout Dominican Republic and the Jarabacoa Hostel was the nicest little hostel I encountered. It is quiet, private and clean, unlike most other places in the DR. It is located a little bit outside of the main street, which is actually a plus. It is secured with two gates and doors, but it never felt unsafe. Rooms are spacious and beds are large, so if you travel solo the bed is all yours. Bathroom is clean with hot water and kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, drinking water and some ground coffee in the freezer and the hostel has two computers with internet connections. Large porch is great for having dinner and chit-chat with possible other guests. There are also bikes in the shed behind the house that can be used for free - very useful if interested in exploring the surroundings. Molly has also a small map with market, grocery store and restaurant addresses prepared for the newcomers. Once you are done with the arrival though, you are completely on your own, although the owners live two houses further and are available for any requests.
To me they were in particularly helpful as I was traveling around without speaking any Spanish and aiming to climb nearby Pico Duarte. Rodolfo drove me to the base early in the morning (as he owns taxi-business too) and stayed to negotiate a reliable guide for me.
I enthusiastically recommend the hostel to anyone traveling to Jarabacoa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 992Irena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Jarabacoa hotels
1.2 mi away
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
Hotel Gran Jimenoa
#1 of 5 in Jarabacoa
258 reviews
3.3 mi away
Jarabacoa River Club & Resort
0.7 mi away
Rancho Baiguate
Rancho Baiguate
#3 of 11 in Jarabacoa
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Rancho Tierra Alta
Rancho Tierra Alta
#6 of 11 in Jarabacoa
9 reviews
4.9 mi away
Rancho Olivier Bed & Breakfast
0.8 mi away
Parador El Cachimbo De Mama
Parador El Cachimbo De Mama
#4 of 11 in Jarabacoa
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel

Address: Calle de Los Pintores #1, #2 & #4 | La Joya, Jarabacoa, Dominican Republic
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > Dominican Republic > La Vega Province > Jarabacoa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Specialty Lodging in Jarabacoa
Price Range: $34 - $51 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surprisingly comfortable rooms characterize the hostel, ranging from private king with en suite spa bath to budget dorm, elegant furnishings, and almost endless free amenities such as Wifi, kitchen facilities, hot locally harvested coffee, laundry facilities, maps, BBQ, and rooftop terrace to mention just a few. An ideal location to make your base camp for mountain climbing and camping, river-rafting, hiking, horse-back riding, paragliding, canyoning, or other more serious pursuits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing