We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jarabacoa Mountain Hostel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Pinar Dorado(Jarabacoa)
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
El Rey(La Vega)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Hodelpa Garden Court(Santiago de los Caballeros)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Los Jardines(Santiago de los Caballeros)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
143
18
1
1
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
18
1
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscomfortable bedsdominican republicshared kitchenbig living roomnoisy at nightfree coffeeon tapher husbandbeautiful kitchenperfect baseenjoyed my staybeautiful place to staytaxi ridesuper friendlyroosters crowingamazing hostspico duarte
Filter
Updating list...
127 - 132 of 165 reviews
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Clean and homey place to stay in lovely Jarabacoa. Molly Ann and Rodolfo are charming and helpful. Location is not central, must keep in mind if not driving...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horacio18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

Molly and Rudy made us all feel very welcome. Our family had a wonderful time! The home was very roomy and slept all 9 of us comfortably. My dad was able to make it out in service and to a meeting with the Spanish congregation. The beds were very great and very warm.

Room Tip: Avoid New Years in the Dominican Republic, it gets quite loud and stays loud until about 2am
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsorrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2011

we spent one night at this very nicely decorated hostel. service was fantastic. the mangers very flexible and helpful. spotlessly clean. comfortable beds. it was a delightful experience. we hope to go again and rent the whole house for a group outing. On the direction to find it watch for a road that has high cement columns and metal gates that are open. enjoy! we did.

Room Tip: just tell the owners what you want and they will do everything they can to accomodate you
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mardgh z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2011

I traveled on my own in April 2011 throughout Dominican Republic and the Jarabacoa Hostel was the nicest little hostel I encountered. It is quiet, private and clean, unlike most other places in the DR. It is located a little bit outside of the main street, which is actually a plus. It is secured with two gates and doors, but it never felt unsafe. Rooms are spacious and beds are large, so if you travel solo the bed is all yours. Bathroom is clean with hot water and kitchen is equipped with basic cooking utensils, drinking water and some ground coffee in the freezer and the hostel has two computers with internet connections. Large porch is great for having dinner and chit-chat with possible other guests. There are also bikes in the shed behind the house that can be used for free - very useful if interested in exploring the surroundings. Molly has also a small map with market, grocery store and restaurant addresses prepared for the newcomers. Once you are done with the arrival though, you are completely on your own, although the owners live two houses further and are available for any requests.
To me they were in particularly helpful as I was traveling around without speaking any Spanish and aiming to climb nearby Pico Duarte. Rodolfo drove me to the base early in the morning (as he owns taxi-business too) and stayed to negotiate a reliable guide for me.
I enthusiastically recommend the hostel to anyone traveling to Jarabacoa.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 992Irena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

We totaly agree with the other positive reviews. Honestly, I have been wondering if the word hostel is proper here, but according to the dictionary, it is. It is a house of which you rent a private bedroom, but you share the kitchen, badroom and livingroom.The hostel is a few minutes walking distance from the centre of Jarabacoa. Which brings the benefit of staying in a quit place. Its not to difficult to find. If you ask about the hostel of the Americans, most of the local people will be able to help you out.
Molly and Rodolfo stay 2 houses away from the hostel. They were very helpful and well willing. also the accomodation was ok. the bedrooms were clean and big. There is not always a muscito net, but if you ask for it, they are willing to give it. Also the wash machine is very convienient. the kitchen is not luxury but well equiped. there is a big frige. we could also borrow 2 mountian bikes. That was real fun!
Every room has his own tv and dvd player (and there are good movies available for if you happen to be there during rainseason!!)
Later another family joined us in the hostel. we didn't know them at all. But this was one of the best parts of our 4 week holiday in The Dominican Republic.
Don't expect a hostel to be a luxurius Hotel, because then you are at the wrong place.
We can recommand it to everyone. We never felt unsave there. There is a big fence and good lockers.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Evelien C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews