We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hard to beat!”
Review of Eatery On The Rock Restaurant - CLOSED

Eatery On The Rock Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $31
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eatery on the Rock is owner operated, Our full al a Carte menu is an international eclectic style, blending inspiration from thirty years traveling the world using local produce.Children's menu available. Bookings are advisable but not always necessary, but if you defiantly want to dine we us please book. Summer seven nights from 5.30 Pm till late
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
“Hard to beat!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A dining oasis in Golden Bay! What more could you want .... warmly welcoming hosts, attentive service that makes you feel comfortable and valued, a picturesque setting, all topped off with beautifully presented meals that tasted divine! (we had fish of the day and surf & turf). The only difficulty was making a choice from the extensive menu! (I guess we will just have to go back and work our way through it !!!)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMEdenNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Best you get back soon before we change the menu and you have to start all over again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    22
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
61 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great hosts”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We were recommended this place by our hosts, as we were travelling with 7 family members of various ages. It was a great choice, as they accommodated for the 3 children and us 6 adults very well, serving their food earliest, and having a great garden/park-like venue for them to play in. Both the hosts, Pat & Chris had created amazing gardens for us adults to walk around too, including their very own cave with glow-worms. Definitely the best crème brulees we'd ever had, followed a very delicious main.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank TeresaS812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you hope to see you back soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herts
Level Contributor
102 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Takaka”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

The competition may not be up to much, but we had an excellent meal and loved our host's sense of humour

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Martinscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
You did not laugh much when I gave you the bill !! I am glad you enjoyed your evening
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
76 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable dining experience”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Whenever we are in Takaka we we always visit Eatery on the Rock as we know we will get a great meal with service to match & once again we were not disappointed.Our young waitress (working during the school holidays) was friendly, helpful and unobtrusive. We had the pork which was lovely and tender and I had the chocolate mousse for dessert which was just fabulous,light as air & melted in the mouth. We look forward to returning in the future

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JayannMarlborough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Please stop mentioning how good the staff I will have to pay them more thanks for your comments see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

I took my mum here for her 84th birthday. We had a great choice of food from the menu including gluten free options. Nothing was a problem for our chef come maître de or the wait staff.. I chose from a simple lunch time menu where the chicken was crumbed but as I prefer to be gluten free he offered readily to use polenta instead, so obliging and friendly. We had a lovely glass of bubbles and a relaxed lunch. We decided he had a great sense of humour. How could you not enjoy this place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shearerxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Your mum was a sweetie we enjoyed looking after you all
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatery On The Rock Restaurant also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing