We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Eatery On The Rock Restaurant - CLOSED

Eatery On The Rock Restaurant
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: International, European, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Eatery on the Rock is owner operated, Our full al a Carte menu is an international eclectic style, blending inspiration from thirty years traveling the world using local produce.Children's menu available. Bookings are advisable but not always necessary, but if you defiantly want to dine we us please book. Summer seven nights from 5.30 Pm till late
1 review
“Awesome!!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Very good service with prompt seating, ordering and delivery of meals. Beautifully presented with nice fresh local produce.
Will be back! Thanks Pat & Chris

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RikkiBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
See you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    115
    22
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
herndon, va
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Great food & wonderful accomodation :)”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

my husband and i recently were lucky enough to dine at eatery on the rock. we stayed the night at the attached accommodation (the rocks chalets) and thought about grabbing dinner in town, but everything looked closed (since it was 8pm). fortunately, our gracious hosts (chris and pat) offered to keep the restaurant open so we could have dinner. we had the Mediterranean dish (SO yummy) as well as the french onion soup which came with perfectly prepared bread (my mouth is watering as i type this review). we washed that down with some NZ wine and beer and were so pleased with everything... including our chat with chris, who is CHARMING and a hell of a cook! :) pat is wonderful as well and took great care of us as we checked into our chalet, which was adorable and provided us with a superb night of rest.
we feel so lucky that the restaurants in town were closed, which narrowed our selection down to this utterly enjoyable dining experience. :)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cdc2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We are glad they were closed as well Thanks for your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best place to eat in Takaka”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the second time I have been at this establishment. Both times the service has been brilliant, friendly and efficient. The food was superbly cooked and served, with just the right portions, Not over the top pricewise. I would certainly recommend this as the place to eat when visiting Takaka.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emmen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very cozy restaurant and also a nice and interesting owner. The location is fantastic. We ate there two times during our stay in Takaka. (our stay was 4 nights).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DominiqueHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Hope we can provide your accomodation when you next stay in Golden bay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fine Dining at the End of the Known World”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Takaka is an artists' colony and one might expect to find edible food, but not superb food. Wrong! Chris is a top chef from London, and he's transformed this place into a fabulous restaurant. Fresh local fish, and free range beef, pork and chicken. Meal was tremendously flavorful and a complete delight. Go there.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank joeweiss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
We think of ourselves s casual dinning with no compromise on the food rather than fine dinning and thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatery On The Rock Restaurant also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing