We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to eat in Takaka”
Review of Eatery On The Rock Restaurant - CLOSED

Eatery On The Rock Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eatery on the Rock is owner operated, Our full al a Carte menu is an international eclectic style, blending inspiration from thirty years traveling the world using local produce.Children's menu available. Bookings are advisable but not always necessary, but if you defiantly want to dine we us please book. Summer seven nights from 5.30 Pm till late
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is the second time I have been at this establishment. Both times the service has been brilliant, friendly and efficient. The food was superbly cooked and served, with just the right portions, Not over the top pricewise. I would certainly recommend this as the place to eat when visiting Takaka.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NZConsumer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Thank you see you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 104 of 144 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2013

A very cozy restaurant and also a nice and interesting owner. The location is fantastic. We ate there two times during our stay in Takaka. (our stay was 4 nights).

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank DominiqueHenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2013

Hope we can provide your accomodation when you next stay in Golden bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Takaka is an artists' colony and one might expect to find edible food, but not superb food. Wrong! Chris is a top chef from London, and he's transformed this place into a fabulous restaurant. Fresh local fish, and free range beef, pork and chicken. Meal was tremendously flavorful and a complete delight. Go there.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank joeweiss13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

We think of ourselves s casual dinning with no compromise on the food rather than fine dinning and thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2013

The entire experience, from being welcomed joyously by the staff to the final wiping of the mouth with the napkin, was superb. We ordered the pork chop and the fish of the day. The meal was presented as if we were dining at the Ritz, beautifully. The pork chop was the tenderest and juiciest either of us had ever eaten anywhere, with delicious flavorings and sides of veggies. The fish of the day was melt-in-your mouth tender and succulent, also with a mouth-watering sauce. The owner/chef spent a lot of time talking with us until the place filled up, gave us some history of the fascinating piece of property, told us where to find the cave with the glowworms just a few yards away, and we marveled at the limestone rocks upon which the restaurant sits - they were obviously the edge of the island at one point, weathered as they were by crashing waves over the millenia. Altogether a 10! We'd go back in a heartbeat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2013

Thank you we will be here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Only found this by chance, and what a find! Chalet was fantastic, attention to detail superb and what a view in the morning. Dinner best of our holiday in South Island.
If you visit south Island this location is a must!
Thank you Pat and Chris. will be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank valda f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 2, 2013

We look forwad to your return.
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatery On The Rock Restaurant also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing