We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant”
Review of Eatery On The Rock Restaurant - CLOSED

Eatery On The Rock Restaurant
Price range: $12 - $29
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Eatery on the Rock is owner operated, Our full al a Carte menu is an international eclectic style, blending inspiration from thirty years traveling the world using local produce.Children's menu available. Bookings are advisable but not always necessary, but if you defiantly want to dine we us please book. Summer seven nights from 5.30 Pm till late
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Relaxing place for dinner. Low key surrounds and great country service.The veal main course was superb, the pork was tasty if not slightly dry. Not a huge range of desserts but very tasty. Good selection of wines by the glass, especially the Neudorf chardonay. Happily go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PhillipM55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Thank you for your comments we do have a least six home made desserts on a black-bored menu that change regularly, and to everyone please if you have even the smallish problems let us know we can fix it.
Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (144)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 123 of 144 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2012

As a traveler, I eat at a variety of different restaurants. Coming into Takaka you would almost miss this wonderful restaurant hidden on the hill. Chris and Pat the proprietors were so hospitable and the food was absolutely amazing. If you are ever in this area this is a must and I will definitely be back next time I visit this this lovely location.

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johnny K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

Glad you did not miss us ( the road less traveled )
Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This place is wonderful after a wander up the spit! Astounding views up to Farewell Spit. We loved the Tuis playing in the Harakeke bushes. A lovely cup of tea!

Thank Deb_Vernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2012

We had our wedding here and the meals and the staff were just amazing anyone going to golden bay needs to try this place it won't let you down will be coming back for a meal when we are back in new Zealand next :)

Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2012

It was nice to be part of your big day

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Pat & Chris opened specially so that nine of us could celebrate our dear friend's birthday with a lunch. Cold and raining outside it may have been, but we were cosy and cossetted - full and varied menu choice, served and cooked to perfection - we couldn't have picked a better restaurant in the area for our celebration and our friend had an awesome time. See you next birthday!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisGoldenbay, Owner at Eatery On The Rock Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2012

Thanks
We enjoyed the special day as much as you did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Eatery On The Rock Restaurant also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing