We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remote and fabulous.”

Awaroa Lodge and Cafe
Ranked #15 of 19 Restaurants in Takaka
Restaurant details
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Remote and fabulous.”
Reviewed January 29, 2014

What a brilliant wee spot to end up after a two hour walk. All the food has to be brought in it's so remote and is topped up by their rather fabulous veggie garden. You can forego the walk and just water taxi there if you really want.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    16
    5
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Chipped crockery and no response from management”
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We were tired and hungry upon arriving at the cafe. Very excited to receive the lovely iced chocolates and coffees. The kids tucked into hot chips. Then we noticed every single plate we had been served had one or more large chips in it and or cracks! I photographed these and sent an e-mail to alert the management. This was a week ago. No response?! Surely a hotel with such a good reputation is worthy of at least a reply and apology from management. This is not good customer service. We were disappointed.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NSL1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Nelson, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Customer service?”
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We were on an Able Tasman walk and chose the dine and stride option which consists of being dropped off at Awaroa to have lunch at the Lodge or bring a packed lunch, then head out for a walk through the park. I wish I had brought a packed lunch! We thought we would treat ourselves and have lunch at the cafe in the lodge. The problem is they don't open the kitchen before 12pm, which is a problem when the boat lands at their doorstep at 11:15 daily, and you have a 2 hour hike ahead of you to catch the boat at 2:50. By the time you get to order your lunch (along with everyone else waiting to ordering at 12) wait for the back log to be cleared and you get your food, you have just wasted at least 1 1/2 hours, we now have 2 hours to get to the boat...hmmm, that's cutting it fine. Forget the scenery or taking a swim in the clear blue water on the golden sand beaches, we need to race to catch our boat! Maybe some-one should let them know they have a boat load of tourist turn up EVERYDAY at 11:15 and they should open at 11am to help them handle the service better?!

There is nothing to say about the food either. Nothing. Sorry. Okay our 3 year old liked his kids spaghetti and meatballs. Then the service... they need some lessons on hospitality and cleanliness.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tami M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
Reviewed January 9, 2014

It was a very busy time when we went. There was an hour wait for meals and coffee was even longer. The meals when they came were lovely, the staff were very good. They just need more staff for busy holiday times.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank hazel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanmer Springs
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Luxury on the Abel Tasman Walk”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

A group of us recently walked the Abel Tasman and spent a night in Awaroa. We had a lovely dinner at Awaroa Lodge and coffee and cake the next morning. The service and the meal was great. I have been to Awaroa Lodge before and found the staff this trip to be excellent. A special experience was talking to the staff while they were harvesting the organic garden. Special thanks to Leo (Reception) and Theo (Restaurant).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inglisma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Awaroa Lodge and Cafe also viewed

 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Awaroa Lodge and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing