We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great spot, fantastically peaceful.”
other traveler has booked this property
Outdoor enclosed deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Outdoor enclosed deck
Rocky Ridge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Outdoor enclosed deck
Rocky Ridge
View of Kahurangi National Park
Enjoy an outdoor bath
Hill view
Enjoy a wine at the breakfast bar
View from lounge
BBQ,Breakfast Bar,Fire
View from carport
Carport
Sea view
Great cloud formation
Amazing sunset from cottage
View of the sea from the cottage
Morepork
Tui
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Takaka, Golden Bay, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great spot, fantastically peaceful.”
Reviewed January 12, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

A great place to stay. Quiet, clean, fantastic views, well equipped and very private. The outdoor bath is particularly great. We have stayed here twice now and loved it in rain and sun. Only downside we would mention is that there is a $30 per night charge for under twos as an additional person, which we felt was unusual and excessive - may just be a personal impression. Otherwise as good as anywhere you could find in golden bay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 13, 2018
Thanks for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
teamkingf...
cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful Accommodation!”
Reviewed November 14, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This cottage is amazing! Absolutely beautiful! The kitchen has everything you could possibly need. We have never stayed in a cottage so well stocked. The cottage is immaculate, and beautifully decorated. The outdoor tub is fabulous! It is in a lovely setting, very private, serene and romantic. Listening to all the bird sounds is magical. This has been a highlight of our trip to New Zealand. We are truly grateful we were able to experience this wonderful accommodation. We stayed three nights and could easily stayed longer! Just absolutely Lovely!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 15, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and your review.
It was lovely to meet you.
Hopefully we will see you again sometime.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiesc33
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
“Relaxing under the stars”
Reviewed September 15, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived to a warm fire on a cold early spring day and enjoyed colourful sunsets and starlit skies soaking in the outdoor tub. The place is tucked away in the hills with views of the surrounding bush and grazing sheep. It is a quick drive to town and local beaches and easy access to two national parks. Explore golden bay by day and return each night to relax in a gorgeous setting. I highly recommend a stay at Jean's place!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 16, 2017
Thank you for your review.We are pleased you enjoyed you stay in Golden Bay and hope to see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
char10tte...
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Peaceful & relaxing - Perfect!”
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Beautifully presented cottage with everything you need, including an amazing outdoor bath which is a must :) Stunning outlook and location is close to many of the outdoor activities and locations Golden Bay has on offer. Loved staying here, its private and so nice and cozy with fire too. Hope to come back again one day soon!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 28, 2017
Thank you for staying with us and we are happy you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carisbroo...
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Beautiful cottage,, excellent quiet location with beautiful views. Property immaculately maintained and we had a very enjoyable stay. The welcome pack of food in the fridge was unexpected and thoughtful..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
Thank you for staying with us..I enjoyed meeting you all and hopefully we will see you here again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TJ&JLS
Pittsford, NY
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Perfect”
Reviewed March 11, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed here for 7 nights at the end of February - IT IS JUST PERFECT. The location of the cottage gives you a wealth of magnificent views over the countryside, whilst the town (Takaka) is only a 10-15 minutes away. The facilities and fittings at the cottage are all "top of the line", and it is the ideal place to relax and unwind in luxury. Jean was a joy to work with - friendly and helpful at all times, and we cannot wait to return at the next possible opportunity.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 12, 2017
It was a pleasure to meet you both..We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again.Thank you for choosing to stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke H
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sets a new standard for NZ accomodations”
Reviewed March 2, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

My partner and I recently toured the full stretch of the south island staying at 13 different accomodations. All of these places had an exceptional rating on trip advisor. Unfortunately very few of them met our expectations. Perhaps the other visitors were too distracted by the beautiful country to leave an objective review of their accomodation. This is a shame because owners require honest feedback in order to make improvements.

With that mind, it is without hesitation that I give this place 5 stars. My single criticism would be to put a warmer lightbulb in the corner lamp. Seriously though, this place nails it.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 9, 2017
Thank you for your review.It was a pleasure having you stay and we look forward to you both coming to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing