We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & fantastic hosts”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Takaka
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Takaka Camping & Cabins
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Takaka
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great location & fantastic hosts”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Wonderful family camp ground, great sites, facilities are clean, and great for the price. The owners were so warm and friendly and welcoming. Wanted to stay longer but had to go home, I will definitely stay again. It is not often you get sincere and genuine people like this couple.

What made our stay even more remarkable was the service we received from Karl, one of the owners. He was very welcoming and friendly when we first arrived. When we started to have trouble with our camper, he couldn't do enough for us. Not only did he find the source of our problem, but he managed to fix it as well - he certainly went well beyond and above any of our expectations. Thank you Marina and Karl , we will certainly be back to this beautiful spot and your amazing service.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bluevain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    3
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
2
7
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

This little spot is a real gem. Gorgeous scenery, walking distance to town, well-equipped kitchens (yep, two of them!), hot showers at no extra charge, a bbq area, and individual toilet & shower units. Depending on the day, you even have a chance to wake up to cows in the next field.

I stayed in one of the cute little cabins near the front of the property. Comfortable bed, decent space and some hooks for hanging things. All you could ask for really.

The hosts are fantastic and have put a lot of time and energy into this property. It really shows. For a great spot at a reasonable price, it can't be beat!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annikakes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cromwell, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2014

Great hosts and staff at this awesome camp ground. Views from tent and caravan sites were really great. We stayed in the cabins near the front of the property where there is a kitchen and individual toilet/shower units and then toward the back of the property was the camping area where there is a second kitchen, and more shower/toilet units, all were kept spotless.
Being situated close to town meant that we could enjoy dinner and drinks out and have a nice short stroll home without the hassle of needing to take our car.
Great value for money. You need to drive past the house at the front, the camp ground is situated just down the driveway.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thames_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2014

A great campground situated on the outskirts of Takaka within walking distance of the shops, cafes and pubs. The hosts Marina and Karl were very friendly and have a very well maintained site. The kitchen area is well equipped with a BBQ area near by with plenty of tables and seating which made for a very social environment. An excellent laundry area, which was handy to everything and reasonably priced. Along with some really groovy Toilet and Shower cubicles which were a dream, being private and clean. It was nice to wake up to the sight of cows grazing over the fence :) We'll be keen to stop off again on our next trip down that way.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trevor_Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Well worth the trip over the Takaka Hill. Marina & Karl are awesome hosts. In all my travels, I have never seen such clean facilities. The camp has everything you need for a glamping holiday with well-equipped kitchens, bbq area, internet access, laundry facilities and the funkiest private toilet & shower units. Location couldn't be any better being a short 300m stroll to local shops. I highly recommend a visit to Takaka, a great bohemian village with fantastic pubs & bars. And staying at the Takaka Camping & Cabins of course!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebLittle62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingandCabins, Owner at Takaka Camping & Cabins, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay, please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 6, 2014

The staff are friendly and the camp ground is well maintained. The initail entry hides the jewel once entering the actual camping area. Office area and 3 cabins are the first you see when entering the grounds, with a kitchen and laundry area, as well as toilet/shower units, rather than blocks. Once one heads down the back, there is an expanse of sites, as well as a well equipped kitchen, with bbq area. A small wifi internet area with 2 machines at a very reaonable rate. More laundry facilities and more toilet/shower units. A nice quiet area for camping where one can wake up to the sounds of the local cattle quielty chewing the grass in the paddocks through the hedge.
A nice short walk to the local shops, cafes and pubs.

A great stay and I will be back to stay again.

Room Tip: All three cabins would be equal in comfort and quietness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuanSlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CampingandCabins, Owner at Takaka Camping & Cabins, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Karl & I are glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
4.2 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
10.2 mi away
Golden Bay Holiday Park
Golden Bay Holiday Park
#11 of 15 in Takaka
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Annie's Nirvana Lodge
Annie's Nirvana Lodge
#3 of 15 in Takaka
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
0.3 mi away
Gazebo Golden Bay Backpackers
0.4 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#1 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Takaka Camping & Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Takaka Camping & Cabins

Property: Takaka Camping & Cabins
Address: 56 Motupipi Street, Takaka 7110, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Campground & Cabins. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Takaka Camping & Cabins Golden Bay, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing