We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mountain Bike through the Heaphy Track”
Review of Golden Bay Air

Golden Bay Air
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Let us introduce you to the magic of Golden Bay! Take a stunning scenic flight over the great sand-dunes of Farewell Spit, the golden beaches of Abel Tasman, the ancient mountains of Kahurangi National Park or the wild West Coast. Or simply enjoy a direct scheduled flight between Wellington and Takaka and wrap your transport and scenic flight all in one! We also offer flight and shuttle packages to the Heaphy Track and Abel Tasman for both walkers and bikers. Rental Cars available in Golden Bay.
New Plymouth, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mountain Bike through the Heaphy Track”
Reviewed June 16, 2014

GBA were great for transporting us (group of 6) by van and purpose built trailer to the start of the Heaphy and then by air back out of Karamea afterwards. Cliff was patient and explained the history and a little geology on the way. was an amazing experience flying out of Karamea over the hills back and see how rugged the national park is.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Boydsta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi Boydsta - thanks for your comments, really glad you enjoyed our service - yes we agree the best way to really appreciate the unique geology of Kahurangi National Park is from the air
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    8
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great air shuttle service”
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This is the smallest airport I've ever been to and also the smallest plane I ever been on yet one the the best flying experiences I ever had. GBA offers the perfect mix of high standard safety and Kiwi relaxedness. All I wish for is that international airports could adopt this enjoyable mix.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelllyGottschalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Manager at Golden Bay Air, responded to this review, September 1, 2014
Hi HellyGottsChalk - we loved your feedback because your experience is exactly what we strive to achieve for all our passengers - enjoy your future travels...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came to our help when the weather closed the Heaphy track”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Richard and the team at Golden Bay Air deserve a thank you for being able to adjust flights when our trip to walk the Heaphy track was unstuck by the storm in April this year. Definitely will recommend them to anyone needing to get to/from Golden Bay.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bohszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“fantastic way to get to and from the Heaphy track”
Reviewed May 3, 2014

Well I should say firstly that we did not exactly fly with Golden Bay Air, but did a lot of talking about flying...as the Heaphy track closed the day before we arrived, our flight out of Karamea was not needed. However we had a great time in Golden Bay, and write this review to say that the service in arranging our travels and managing the changes to our plans was first class. Highly recommended if you are planning a trip to the Heaphy track. And we will take that flight at a later date.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best way to travel to Takaka”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I flew with Golden Bay Air from Wellington to Takaka in January of this year. The start of the flight was a little bumpy due to weather conditions but the pilot was very reassuring and professional. I enjoyed the scenic views of Golden Bay and the commentary provided by the pilot during the flight. A great experience and the best way to travel to Takaka in my opinion

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank 1980Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bay Air also viewed

 
Abel Tasman National Park, Nelson-Tasman Region
 

Been to Golden Bay Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing