We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best way to travel to Takaka”
Review of Golden Bay Air

Golden Bay Air
Ranked #1 of 19 things to do in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Let us introduce you to the magic of Golden Bay! Take a stunning scenic flight over the great sand-dunes of Farewell Spit, the golden beaches of Abel Tasman, the ancient mountains of Kahurangi National Park or the wild West Coast. Or simply enjoy a direct scheduled flight between Wellington and Takaka and wrap your transport and scenic flight all in one! We also offer flight and shuttle packages to the Heaphy Track and Abel Tasman for both walkers and bikers. Rental Cars available in Golden Bay.
Reviewed April 18, 2014

I flew with Golden Bay Air from Wellington to Takaka in January of this year. The start of the flight was a little bumpy due to weather conditions but the pilot was very reassuring and professional. I enjoyed the scenic views of Golden Bay and the commentary provided by the pilot during the flight. A great experience and the best way to travel to Takaka in my opinion

1  Thank 1980Ale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"marlborough sounds"
in 16 reviews
"scenic flight"
in 33 reviews
"heaphy track"
in 56 reviews
"great service"
in 18 reviews
"golden bay"
in 52 reviews
"great flight"
in 15 reviews
"friendly pilot"
in 6 reviews
"the west coast"
in 12 reviews
"these guys"
in 10 reviews
"personal service"
in 5 reviews
"icing on the cake"
in 3 reviews
"phone call"
in 3 reviews
"bad weather"
in 6 reviews
"farewell spit"
in 9 reviews
"en route"
in 3 reviews
"booking process"
in 3 reviews
"weather conditions"
in 3 reviews
Filter

185 - 189 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

I recently flew on Golden Bay Air and right from departure lounge in Wellington Sven, the pilot, was so helpful and informative. I also had a picture to transport but Sven was very caring about it not getting damaged and assisted with its transit. We had very calm conditions so were lucky enough to see literally hundreds of dolphins. Sven was very knowledgable about the land, waterways and history of the region. It was very much a scenic flight rather than a means of transport to the Bay. Thank you so much Sven and Golden Bay Air. I will definitely fly again!

1  Thank Sunshine2134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2014

Thanks for sharing your experience with us Sunshine 2134 - and how wonderful that you got to see the pod of dolphins! Sven is great at spotting the marine life. When the whales are on the move we usually let DoC know as we are noticing more and more in the Golden Bay and Tasman area at certain times of the year - if we spot them before they end up at Farewell Spit then DoC can sometimes herd them back out again...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I have flown with Golden Bay Air on numerous occasions and they run a very professional service between Wellington and Takaka. The flight is so scenic! A wonderful way to visit one of the best kept secrets of New Zealand,

1  Thank Kiwis64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

Thanks for the lovely comments Kiwis64, - I agree every flight is special, no matter how often you fly. See you next time...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

It was a perfect clear day for my flight from Takaka to Wellington and I was the only passenger! The pilot was very friendly and gave a lot of interesting information about the area. Views were incredible and I will certainly be taking this flight again in the future. Thanks GB air

1  Thank Ginkg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

You are very welcome - we are all about personal service Ginkg! See you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 15, 2014

We picked a fine day and took a scenic flight over Farewell Spit and Able Tasman National Park. Our pilot Sven was very knowledgeable and made the commentary interesting. It was the highlight of our South Island trip and would thoroughly recommend Golden Bay Air.

1  Thank naga1996
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoldenBayAir, Owner at Golden Bay Air, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed yourself and that your experience with us was the highlight of your South Island trip! Our pilots love showing people why Golden Bay is so special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Bay Air also viewed

 

Been to Golden Bay Air? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing