We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adrift is the bees knees!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Adrift is the bees knees!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2007

What a truly wonderful find. We stayed here at the beginning of December 2006 and the only slightly disappointing thing was that the weather was a bit cool! The accommodation was superb and spotlessly clean - the kitchen was very well equipped and it was so wonderful to eat outside on the decking with the sea almost at your feet. The gardens are kept so neat and how wonderful to walk straight off your lawn on to the beach. It is a family business and that certainly shines through with the level of care for the property and the service and friendliness you receive. We actually never ate out as we found Adrift to be the perfect peaceful place, and believe me, coming from the UK we crave peace and quiet and love to escape from the rat race at every opportunity. Bess's breakfast basket was so appetising and we loved to guess which home made preserve would be in the basket today - we had home made bread, home made granola, poached plums, beautiful yoghurt - we were truly spoilt! Bess and Gordon were the perfect hosts - there when you needed them but at a discreet distance if you did not. Gordon was a mine of information on all the activities in the area and has a wealth of knowledge. They have both worked incredibly hard to make this a success and we would have no qualms in recommending this place to anyone. We would say, however, to be warned about Takaka Hill which is the only way in and out of Golden Bay - it is long, high and very twisty but it is worth every bend! We did the eco-trip from Collingwood to Farewell Spit - a must do experience - most interesting. In summary we had a glorious 5 days here and we will go back in the near future and would highly recommend it to anyone who wants to totally chill out - wonderful place for the romantically inclined!!

  • Liked — The location and the quality accommodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Breconian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2006

We stayed here for three nights in October 2006 and it was fabulous. The cottages are even nicer than they look on the website and of a really high spec. They deck is fantastic and it made a real treat to enjoy the delicious breakfast hamper outside whilst taking in the view.

The bed was extremely comfortable and the shower and spa bath brilliant. The hosts were friendly and helpful but left us alone to enjoy our time.

I thought it was good value for money and would definately recommend.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kiwireviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness Scotland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

The moment we saw Adrift we were lost - it's absolutely wonderful. It's situated in a lovely garden that leads (between two palm trees) down to a perfect, empty golden beach. From that moment I wished we were staying longer even though we were there for 5 nights. Bess and Gordon, our host and hostess, made us so welcome and couldn't do enough for us the whole time we stayed there. Our accommodation (attached to their home ) with stylish ensuite bathroom, had a bed specially made high so that we could lie in bed and watch the glorious sunrise each morning. A delicious breakfast was brought to us on the terrace overlooking the garden, bliss. Just down the road there's the quirky Mussel Inn which serves great dinners or snacks.
Adrift is tucked away down a lane (absolute peace) between Takaka and Collingwood and there's so much to see and do - however I can't think of anything nicer than spending time sitting on the terrace , looking at the view and then going for a walk on the beach and watching the sun go down. It's paradise.
Bess and Gordon also have high-quality cottages tucked away each with access to the beach. I really hope we can stay there again before too long.

Helpful?
8 Thank Nonna Hugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2005

We feel very fortunate to have found the Beachfront Bed and Breakfast, which is actually about 12K north of Takaka, and about 2 hours from Nelson, and right on Golden Bay. In order to get there you must traverse a mountain that is quite challenging, and unfortunately we were driving into the sunlight (it was getting close to sunset), so a bit scary. However, the stay was quite worth it. Although not a fancy place, it is a very comfortable room, with an excellent bed and high-quality bedding. We enjoyed the large, open shower and found the bathroom to be a comfortable size, with lots of small shelves to put our bathroom items. Coffee/tea making materials were provided, as well as a small refrigerator (which was stocked with fresh water with lemon in it, as well as milk). They also provided fresh fruit from their gardens (apples and feijoa). Breakfast was provided whenever we wished (we told the hosts the evening before), and dined outside on the patio throughout our trip (when the weather is bad breakfast is provided in the room). Breakfast consisted of granola, homemade yogurt, fresh fruit, toast, homemade muffins, fresh juice, tea or coffee, and if desired eggs and/or other hot items. Breakfasts were always filling and very delicious! The views from the B&B were stunning, especially at sunrise and sunset. We enjoyed using the kayaks provided, and on several mornings got up to go running on the beach. It is a very relaxing and peaceful place, with extremely kind and gentle hosts who were extremely helpful and friendly, yet respectful of our privacy (we were on our honeymoon). From the B&B there is easy access to the northern part (less traveled) of Abel Tasman park, as well as Farewell Spit, west-coast beaches (I highly recommend Wharariki beach), springs, waterfalls, and walking tracks. It is a wonderful place to get away, and have some peace and quiet. We were able to find some nice places to eat in the area, and there also seem to be a lot of artists living in this part of the South Island. Just a caution that if you are interested in seeing the southern part of Abel Tasman park, including doing kayaking, it is easier to do so from Nelson and Motueka - in order to do so from Golden Bay you need to cross the mountain, so it is a long journey. Overall we really enjoyed our stay, and it was definitely one of the highlights of our trip. Our only complaint is that Bess promised to e-mail us a copy of her granola recipe and she has not yet done so! :)

  • Stayed May 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank hliss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
11.7 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Summerspring Luxury Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Adrift In Golden Bay Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing