We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best three days of our honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best three days of our honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2010

If you're looking for a place to unwind, either as part of an active New Zealand adventure or just by itself, this is the place to be. Private cottages with full kitchens, lovely bathrooms and views of the ocean -- 50 feet in front of your deck. Gordon and Bess are wonderful hosts -- and they also respect the privacy of their guests. Breakfast (delivered to your door in the evening) is terrific, as is the sense of tranquility of this place. Sure, you can access Abel Tasman for some great hiking, or some kayaking, but you may prefer never to leave the grounds. And that might not be the worst thing.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank socalscribe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

Adrift is spectacular in every way. Located on their own lovely beach, the cottages have every amenity and perfect privacy. The breakfast baskets are first quality: New Zealand bacon, farm eggs, home made muesli and yogurts. The kitchens have first rate equipment for those of us who like a simple evening meal at home. Other than the Mussel Inn (an experience), there is not much available for dinner nearby. The hosts are most helpful with local advice. This is a great honeymoon spot!!

Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank vagrants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael
Level Contributor
150 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2010

The word 'cabins' does not do the accommodation justice because the 'cabins' are luxuriously equipped with every modern convenience and they are spotless. The garden, beachfront setting is pretty and very quiet. Adrift is ideal for a romantic stay. Breakfast ingredients are delivered the evening before so you can breakfast when you want to and in the privacy of your own cabin. It should be noted - however - that you pay for this luxury. This was one of the most expensive places that we stayed in NZ.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2010

We were so lucky that they had a cancellation when we phoned, but unfortunately just for one night. However it was well worth the windy drive across to Golden Bay.We stayed in Cottage 3 which had direct access to the beach, a lovely patio, huge spa bath, fully equiped kitchen and great breakfast hamper. The free use of washing machines & drier was an added bonus after 2 weeks on the road. Could have stayed for a week!! Certainly one of our more memorable B&Bs. Not cheap (NZ$390) but well worth it especially for Valentines Day. Tip: book well in advance as its very popular; stock up with food & wine in Motueka or Takaka en route so that you can dine on the patio and enjoy the beautiful view over a candle-lit dinner; wake up early to watch sunrise from your bed!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xxxasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2010

This was the best place we stayed at In New Zealand. A wonderfully relaxing place. We
could walk on to the beach from our cottage and into the sea
The accommodation was of the highest standard with excellent facilities
The daily breakfast hamper contained lots of homegrown fruit ,homemade bread and jams
Use of free washing and drying facilities and Kayaks if wanted
Each cottage had its own BBQ
Gordon and Bess were most helpful,with advice and booking trips for us.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArchieStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
devon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2010

one of those very rare places where expectations are exceeded in every respect, thank you gordon & bess and assorted family and staff for creating the most perfect studio room with fantastic attention to detail, a most beautiful garden, and thanks to nature for golden bay, a truly memorable part of our trip.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank postiemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2010

We loved Adrift! It is a little piece of paradise that we were very fortunate to experience. We stayed in the studio room, which had everything we could want and more. We loved the little touches like the iPod dock and of course the frosted beer mugs in the fridge. We had use of a barbecue so we were able to cook our own meals. Gordon and Bess are such wonderful and warm people. You would be very lucky to experience their great hospitality.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snout117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
11.7 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
19.9 mi away
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
Peppers Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Adrift In Golden Bay Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing