We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More superlatives - it lives up to all the reviews”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More superlatives - it lives up to all the reviews”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

It's hard to heap more praise on Adrift than has already been said. Sometimes you get to a place to find it somehow doesn't quite live up to the Tripadvisor, that it's been over hyped, or things have changed. Not so with Adrift, all the superlatives used in the reviews are true, but words alone can't do the reality of the place justice - its better than that. You just have to go to experience it for yourself.

All I would add is that Gordon and Bess are lovely lovely people. Bess asked us what they could do to improve, as they were always striving to, but we really can't think of anything major (maybe take away the TV, tell the sand flies to leave NZ, and guarantee perfect weather). Highlights: the cottage, furnishings, big fold-back doors to the deck, scrumptious breakfasts, BBQ, sea view, beautiful grounds, the beach at sunset, the list goes on. It just left us with such a feeling of peace and tranquility, and we will be sure to come back.

Room Tip: Thanks to excellent planning from Gordon, you can still see the beach from the rear cottages. Take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VivienneH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind and encouraging comments - it made me blush!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

About a 3 1/2 hour drive from the interislander ferry, you come to Shangra la.
Adrift is in a peaceful large plot, beautifully maintained, exceptionally fitted out, with hosts that
bend over backwards to help. l made a school girl error in booking, and they worked with me to
get us there, l can't say thank you enough. There are plenty of good places to eat, and easy to find provisions if you want to cook yourself (there is even a BBQ). There are great places close at hand to visit, as well as peeking at the blue penguin chicks on the property.
lf l ever go back to NZ, this will be the first place l book. lt was like being at home, with friends,
but with privacy.
Thank you Gordon and Beth. Your bit of heaven was one of the highlights of our vacation.
l am thankful l found you.

Room Tip: We were at a second line cabin, and were really happy with our situation. l don't think there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Always_b_Natural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks so much for your generous review! It's so good to know that staying here was such a highlight of your vacation in NZ.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Adrift was the most peaceful place I have ever visited. The clean, comfortable accommodations were complimented by the lush gardens and beautiful surroundings. You can walk for miles on the very private beach or simply listen to the waves as the tide changes. Bess and Gordon are respectful, quiet hosts who know the surrounding area well if you need some sightseeing tips. I hope to make it back to this paradise someday soon.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks so much for expressing your appreciation of the atmosphere here - sounds like it was good for your soul!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
187 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

great start of our south island 12 day vacation. our beach front cottage is well designed and maintained. we enjoyed the beach, the view, the lawn, and the sky. thanks Gordon for the advise and chat. be aware of the sandflies though.
度假小屋非常不错,海景,海滩,星空,日出,友善的店东。 适合度假

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinzhikangchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gordon H, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
We really appreciate you taking the time to write a review Adrift in English and in Chinese. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip in New Zealand's beautiful South Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We can warmly recommend this accomodation, it is luxurious and still very warm and homelike. We enjoyed our cottage very close to the beach and the wonderful spa as well as our chat with the friendly hosts Gordon and Bess. Hopefully we can come back one day!

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Sipe62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for your recommendation and we're glad that you felt so much at home. This has always been our dream that our guests would experience a luxurious and relaxed holiday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
De Haan, Belgium
Level Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

From the warm welcome, to the sad farewell: this was enjoying every minute.
The location on a quiet beach, the perfectly equipped cottage, always friendly host, Golden Bay ... everything gave us some great days.
Definitely to be recommended;
Golden Bay is a discovery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMIELANDMARLEEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Thanks for your great comments - we love Golden Bay too!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundford, Norfolk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Wow! So glad we booked to stay here for the last 3 nights of our tour of NZ South Island. After 3 weeks of adventure, Adrift was just what we needed to relax and chill out before our long journey home. The cottage was perfect.....so comfortable and Bess & Gordon's attention to detail ensured our stay was much more than we could have wished for. Just wish we lived a bit nearer so we could visit again.....thank you.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DebbieC63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bess_Hampson, Owner at Adrift in Golden Bay, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
You are most welcome! We're glad that you were able to rest and relax before your long trip home and thanks for your encouraging review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
11.7 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
261 reviews
10.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
148 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
107 reviews
11.4 mi away
Pohara Beachfront Motel
6.3 mi away
Summerspring Luxury Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Adrift In Golden Bay Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing