We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant, relaxing, Paradise Indeed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adrift in Golden Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Brilliant, relaxing, Paradise Indeed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2011

Only had 2 days at this divine place and it just flew by. Walking virtually alone on the beach early morning was a delight. It truly is a bit of paradise on earth, well worth the trip over the 'hill' for!. Everything was just superb in the cottage, the bathroom being to die for! Immaculate in every way. Just loved the area too, We did not allow enough time in our trip for this area, would have loved more. hard to judge from the uk how long to allow in each place.
It is expensive, I don't think we paid more on our five week trip but it was a lovely treat for ourselves! Splash out if you can.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elaine191255
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
143
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

You’ll need to ‘push the boat out’ to stay here but it’s worth it, you won’t be disappointed. Adrift has the ‘wow’ factor! Gordon and Bess and their family will give you a warm welcome and their lovely individual cottages, which are very well appointed, are located in a secluded spot within yards of the beach and have wonderful views of the Tasman Sea – you feel as if you have your own private beach. Very romantic and suitable for all ages. The very popular evening venue – Mussel Inn, is highly recommended. Farewell Spit is a relatively short drive away and there are many beautiful bays and beaches in the area with Wharariki probably top of the list – worth the walk. This was probably our favourite stay during our month long tour of both Islands.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TruckyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
101 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2011

We were a little taken aback when we turned off the main road to Collingwood towards Adrift to see a sign for a campground as we thought we were booked into a remote beachside bungalow within acres of ground. UNFOUNDED worries.

As soon as you enter the drive at Adrift you know you have arrived at a special place. Gordon & Bess Hampson have created a special place and if, like us, you book into one of the two beach fronted bungalows then your breath will be taken away!

Full width bi-fold doors in the lounge and bi-fold windows in the bedroom open up onto the large deck which overlooks a quiet lawn which borders the ocean - you can't be any closer to the sea. The gardens are lovely and a credit to the hosts.

Great breakfast provisions are delivered to your bungalow the prior evening so as not to disturb you in the morning which is a nice touch. Full kitchen facilities enable you to eat in and take advantage of the great location. On site there is also excellent laundry facilities which enables you to catch up on your washing.

Gordon can advise and will book activities for you, there is lots to do and see in this lovely part of the North Island

Takaka is a great town and only a 15 minute drive, lots of places to eat and a big supermarket for provisions.

Two MUST DO's that we recommend are:
The Farewell Spit Eco Tour, although this is a 6.5hr trip it is well worth the money and packs lots in www.FarewellSpit.com its the ONLY way that enables you to see and drive to the end of the spit
Drive into Abel Tasman National Park at the Western Entrance to Totaranui and take a water taxi to a remote white sand beach and take advantage of one of the many walking trails. We took the 10.45am to Mutton Cove and walked back (2.5hrs) along the beaches and through the rainforest to Totaranui easy lovely walk if you are not able to do one of the longer treks. www.aquataxi.co.nz

You won't want to leave Adrift!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KeithM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2011

A repeat visit for 9 nights to this excellent beachfront property consisting of very high standard cottages -private locations within 40 metres of the beach.The cottages are furnished to a very high standard and are self contained -excellent breakfast of home grown/local produce delivered to each cottage .Very knowledgable and friendly hosts/owners who welcome you and have a detailed knowledge of the region .Agreat base to explore the Golden Bay region or just to relax.

G & Q McNally

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ralph01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We spent christmas here and had a wonderful time. the attention to detail is amazing, even down to beach towels already packed in a basket. Gordon and Bess are very helpful but also unobtrusive, and we really enjoyed the well equipped cottage and beautiful sorroundings. The laundry facilities are so convenient . The only (very slight) reservation we had is that the bed settee which my daughter slept on wasn't terribly comfortable. Over all we loved Adrift and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindamary33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2011

We stayed for one night in December. Our hosts were very welcoming! It was raining when we arrived so we were disappointed that we couldn't walk on the beach. They loaned us a movie and we were quite comfortable staying in this beautiful cottage right on the beach. The bathroom was amazing with the spa bath. Breakfast provisions were nice as well. My only suggestion: stay more than one night as all of the actitvities take half a day to complete. We drove the entire south island and didn't allow enough time to really enjoy the beauty of this place. I can't wait to come back to the south island and we will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karlie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
112 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2010

Adrift in Golden Bay is awesome. If you can afford it and have time, stay 3 nights at minimum. The cabin is beautiful, contemporary and with a deluxe spa bathroom. Request the cabin with the best ocean views. The kitchen is complete in case you are tired of eating out or want to cook an English breakfast (all the ingredients are provided to you). The private beach is just steps away. Gordon, who owns Adrift with his wife, is a tremendous source of information and advice and is charming and genuine. Hikes both short and long begin nearby, including hikes in Abel Tasman national park and several other short hikes that are interesting because there is a destination, e.g., an old gold mine. Whether you are on a long or short trip, do not miss a stay at Adrift. Would be a great honeymoon place ! or a place to regroup during an extended stay in NZ.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandstoneSprings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Takaka
11.7 mi away
Ratanui Lodge
Ratanui Lodge
#1 of 3 in Pohara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
19.9 mi away
Awaroa Lodge
Awaroa Lodge
#2 of 2 in Abel Tasman National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
10.7 mi away
The Rocks Chalets
The Rocks Chalets
#3 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Mohua Motels
Mohua Motels
#2 of 4 in Takaka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
11.7 mi away
Pohara Beach Top 10 Holiday Park
4.1 mi away
Zatori Retreat
Zatori Retreat
#1 of 6 in Collingwood
5.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adrift in Golden Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adrift in Golden Bay

Property: Adrift in Golden Bay
Address: 52 Tukurua Road, Takaka 7182, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Location: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Golden Bay > Takaka
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Takaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Adrift in Golden Bay 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5-Star, self-contained accommodation situated on a quiet, sandy and sheltered private beach. The 5 cottages and a studio are spread over 1 Ha of landscaped gardens to ensure guest privacy and a peaceful, relaxed and romantic atmosphere. All accommodations have king-size beds with breathtaking views over Golden Bay. The stylish, modern interiors feature warm timbers. Cottages all have luxury double spa baths. Centrally located between Abel Tasman, and Kahurangi National Parks and Farewell Spit Nature Reserve. This beautiful area is well known for artisans, interesting cafes and varied day walks ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adrift in Golden Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adrift In Golden Bay Hotel Takaka
Adrift In Golden Bay Nelson
Adrift In Golden Bay Takaka, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing