We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (37)
Filter reviews
37 results
Traveler rating
29
6
1
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
29
6
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outdoor bath full kitchen abel tasman golden bay stayed for nights new zealand great hosts eco composting kiwi house tide greenary track accommodation toilets nz
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 37 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2018 via mobile

The best kept hideaway! We stayed for a night at The Little Greeny, Golden Bay Hideaway and what a gem it was. Hidden in the most beautiful spot. Quiet and relaxing the perfect getaway. Great way to get back to nature and enjoy the simple things. The outdoor bath was a favorite!

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in little greenie. This very cute room/appartment is fully open with its wide windows. And the view is the most astonishing thing there is. The bay is pure and untouched. The landscape changes with the tide. Some funny and cute chicken looking bird may come visit you at times.
It’s quiet, peaceful, and pure, away from the world.
The only thing we had a hard time coping with was the dry ecological toilets. But it is really a tiny detail compared with the rest.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Elie951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2018

We stayed in the little Greenie a wonderfully architected ‘teenie’ house. This place offers true seclusion in idilic setting. There are floor to ceiling doors on all sides, an outdoor bath tub, full kitchen and beautiful wood paneling all around. If this is not enough, you have a magical view of the Wainui Bay and can walk to a very secluded beach. The hosts were really nice, we loved every minute of our stay and I consider this a must stay if you are in the area,

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandernet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2017 via mobile

We stayed in cottage 'Little Greenie'. Splendid location with great views over the bay. The house is comfy with underfloor heating. You need to keep the oursids woodburner going yourself to guarantee hot water and heating. It's an eco house, temperature control is minimal and slow. A cold bedroom is almost impossible as the house itself is heated up.
Good location if you do your own cooking, there are no restaurants nearby (that we have seen).

Date of stay: July 2017
Thank Voyage669885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2017

I pre-paid $270 for two nights stay (16-17th November) in the house truck back in November. After the earthquake on the 14th November, I immediately messaged Kylie and Lawrence saying that it was looking unlikely that we would be able to make our booking as our ferry had been due to sail on the 15th November. When it was then cancelled, we let them know immediately and did everything we could to get booked on another sailing. Unlike all our other accomodation hosts on the South Island who were extremely understanding given the circumstances (and who all issued us with full and immediate refunds) Kylie and Lawrence insisted that we had chosen not to come. Demanding that we book flights straight to Takaka in order to honour our booking at the goldenbay hideaway was simply not an option - not only were they hugely expensive, but all onward routes to the Kaikoura/Christchurch area were severely impacted at that time, so we would have had no means of continuing our travel.

I was honestly extremely shocked by their cold and unsympathetic response - I understand the need for strict cancellation policies with a small business but their rude refusal to refund even part of the $270 seems very indicative of the kind of people running this business.

Stay away!

Date of stay: November 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank anna p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Bay Hide... A, Owner at Golden Bay Hideaway, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2017

A very interesting customer. We exercised our cancellation policy with her knowledge "I would be very grateful if you could refund us the money we paid for the booking but I understand if it's too last minute.". There are always two sides to every story and clearly we did not do as we were told.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews