We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and coffe, free WiFi” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Brigand

The Brigand
Ranked #4 of 19 Restaurants in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and coffe, free WiFi”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

The Brigand has a nice relaxed atmosphere, chilled background music and a spacious indoor outdoor feeling. Coffees are great, even the decaf long black has a good crema. Food is excellent, I love their panfried calamari and shrimp salad. So worth the taste experience. Biggest plus, there's free fast WiFi, the only one I know of in Golden Bay.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HelllyGottschalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    65
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“duck to die for”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

What an amazing find with such a varied menu. Four of us dined here and had one of the best meals of our 4 week South Island road trip. The duck dish was the best I've had outside of France and the ambience of the restaurant and staff were all perfect. Congratulations Brigand! We'd love to return.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pradoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Arrogant rude owner manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 6, 2014

We had a booking for 25 people the owner manager was constantly making rude comments sadly lot of our party were locals and will not return. Other staff were pleasant food was good but cold. Will not return

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fast food!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2014

Recommended this venue by our B&B hosts and the food was lovely but the service was a bit offhand. I know in NZ nobody eats early but when you ask for a coffee at 9pm and are told the machine has been cleaned then its a bit offputting. Worse still at 9.20 the chairs are being stacked on the tables. I hope we were just unlucky as other reviews seemed good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“what a lovely find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

we stopped over in takaka for a night, drove through town to see where we could dine and came across this delightful place on main road. we sat outdoors and were served well. food was delicious and the setting was lovely. even the tailless cat was entertaining the customers

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kilgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brigand also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Been to The Brigand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing