We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Brigand

The Brigand
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Takaka
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand, European, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice dinner spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2013

Intersting menu, nice local wines, staff were attentive and the service professional. Good value for money dinner.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JaneB713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    66
    20
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Standards Maintained”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

This is probably my sixth visit over seven or eight years. The standard is high for Golden Bay. One can dine inside or al fresco and there is a good selection of meat dishes, fish and seafood and veggies. I had pan fried gurnard with new potatoes, vegetables and a salad accompanied by a bottle of Old Coach Road sauvignon blanc - delicious as was the cheese cake for pudding though I overestimated my appetite!
Recommended for couples as wek
ll as families.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tony F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A lovely setting,food average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

We celebrated my husbands birthday here last week. The outdoor setting was lovely and great for sitting outside on a warm night. We started with Chilli prawns to share that weren't great. They certainly were not fresh and tasted tough and dry. However our main meals were very nice and well presented. Service was good but felt we got the hurry up to finish our wine as they were wanting to close early as the restaurant was quiet.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gisborne, NZ
Level Contributor
95 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Brigand Cafe, Takaka”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

This secluded cafe is at the NE end of Takaka. They have an excellent selection of wine and draught beers. Their entrees were varied and interesting, and the mains were also wide ranging in selections, more than one might expect in a small cafe.

Even the desserts were memorable. Highly recommended! Dinner & drinks for 4 ran $260 NZ

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murchison
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't be fooled into thinking the Thai beef will stimulate your taste buds.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

Three of us had lunch at this cafe last weekend. Lovely setting, music, furniture etc. Dishes for the girls were fine, which is why this place gets a three overall but my dish would get a one - as would the subsequent service.
I politely pointed out that my Thai beef salad seemed to be missing the dressing. It came out again with what seemed to be some sesame oil on it, which I ate as it was too late to send it back again - and it would have been embarrassing.
The waitress did not appear to ask if it was better this time - or even when she cleared the dishes - presumably my half-eaten salad still left on my plate gave her a hint. It was not 'zesty' or 'zingy' at all - there was no particular taste to the beef neither was there even a hint of tamarind, chiili or lime as described.
When you pick a place because even when reading the description of the dish titillates the taste buds it is very disappointing to not even get a hint of that which is promised but to get a tasteless heap of beef and salad leaves.
I can understand getting it wrong once - but not to check whether the customer is satisfied after pointing that out is unprofessional - and plain rude. If there is a complaint, there should be a considerable effort to placate the customer - not to ignore them!
We run two tourism businesses and we would be mortified to allow that to happen - and we will not be recommending this place to our guests to go and visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Merve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Brigand also viewed

 
Takaka, Golden Bay
Takaka, Golden Bay
 

Been to The Brigand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing